Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA BAC Calculator | DUI Forums Drink Driving in the UK Drink Driving in the UK
Cheap SR22 Insurance Quotes ENTER ZIP:
FREE LAWYER CONSULTATIONSR22 INSURANCE | DUI LAWYERS | DUI LAWS

Dont Drink and Drive!!

Breathalyzers for Sale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Arizona DUI Laws

Arizona DUI Lawyers - DUI lawyers directory

Arizona
Arizona

Arizona DUI Forum | SR22 Insurance Requirements


The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in Arizona is 0.08% per se
(effective from Aug 31 2001)

Cheap SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes for High Risk Drivers in Arizona

Arizona DUI Laws & BAC Limits | Arizona DUI Penalties

Arizona DUI SR22 Insurance

Arizona Drunk Driving Statistics

Useful Arizona DUI Links | Latest Arizona DUI News


DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in other States


Arizona Drunk Driving Laws

(If you’ve been charged with Arizona DUI, the law allows only 15 days for you and/or your Arizona DUI Lawyer to make a request with the Arizona Department of Transportation (MVD) for a hearing to save your driving license)

Arizona is a member of the Interstate Drivers License Compact
An agreement between participating states to share information regarding certain types of convictions including DUI - DWI and related Drunk Driving offenses. If a resident of one state gets convicted of a drunk driving offense in another state, the driver's home state will be notified. The type of action that the driver's home state will take will vary from state to state.

ARIZONA DUI Laws and BAC limits

ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
In the State of Arizona it is crime for ANY driver to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.08% and above.

COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
It is a crime for commercial vehicle operators to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.04% or above.

MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.00% - ZERO TOLERANCE
It is a crime for persons under 21 years of age to drive with after consuming ANY alcohol, therefore driving with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.01% or above is a crime.

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Arizona and implied consent laws are enforced.

 

!! CAUTION - Driving Ability Impaired !!

You can be prosecuted in Arizona without driving while you are over the legal prescribed bac limit.

Under Arizona law, it is unlawful to drive with a BAC limit above the per se laws OR to drive while impaired under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.

Under this law the prosecution must show that the driver was IMPAIRED by alcohol and/or drugs. The level of impairment is usually based on observations and evidence of driving ability (or rather inability), physical appearance, field sobriety tests and any other relevant evidence which can help prove a persons driving ability was indeed impaired. Different amounts of alcohol can affect people in different ways, what may impair one persons driving ability and make them feel drunk, might not necessarily impair another persons driving ability.

Observations from a law enforcement officer that may lead to being stopped and arrested include:

  • Making a turn too widely or narrowly
  • Using two lanes, straddling the center line
  • Almost hitting someone or something
  • Weaving or drifting from one side of the road to another
  • Driving too slowly and being overly cautious
  • Driving too close to vehicle in front
  • Driving ON the center lines
  • Erratic braking
  • Swerving to correct course of vehicle

You can be charged with an offence regardless of your BAC level, as long as impairment can be proved to the legal extent necessary.

A skilled drunk driving attorney can help you defend any charges against you

Arizona BAC Calculator

BLOOD ALCOHOL CONTENT CALCULATOR
Calculate your BAC using our calculator, know your legal drunk driving limits and stay safe!!
BAC - Blood Alcohol Content Calculator

Top of page

 

Penalties for DUI - Drunk Driving in ARizona

Arizona is a state with a seven year (84 months) ‘washout period’, also known as a 'look back period'.

NOTE: OUT OF STATE CONVICTIONS
Under Arizona state law any acts or convictions that were committed in other jurisdictions or states, that if committed in Arizona would constitute a violation of Arizona's DUI laws can be counted as prior convictions.

AGGRAVATED DUI: Fines, surcharges, fees, jail time and ignition interlock orders will be increased for aggravated DUI's. The following are classed as aggravated DUI's:

1) A DUI when a persons driving license or privilege to drive is suspended, revoked or while a restriction is placed on their drivers license
2) A third or subsequent DUI conviction within a period of 7 years (84 months)
3) When a minor under the age of 15 is in the vehicle at the time of the DUI offense
4) Having a BAC (blood alcohol content) of 0.15% or more - EXTREME DUI

 

First Dui - Drunk Driving Conviction - Class 1 MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a first DUI - drunk driving conviction in Arizona:

FIRST OFFENSE - BAC 0.08% or more
  • Fine & Charges: $250 (base fine) +
    $210 (84% surcharge) +
    $20 (probation surcharge) +
    $500 (prison construction assessment) +
    $500 (public safety equipment fee) =
    TOTAL: $1480.00
  • Jail Time: minimum 10 consecutive days in jail (1 day jail time is mandatory, the rest may be suspended if alcohol screening, education or treatment is completed )
  • Drivers License Suspension: not less than 90 days drivers license suspension (special ignition interlock restricted driving license available immediately)
  • Ignition Interlock Device: ignition interlock restriction (upon re-instatement of driving privileges the court may order an IID for a minimum period of 12 months - may be reduced to 6 months if certain requirements are met)
  • up to 5 years probation
  • mandatory alcohol screening/education/treatment
  • possible vehicle forfeiture
  • possible community restitution
  • 8 points assessed against your permanent driving record
  • Arizona SR22 insurance requirement

FIRST OFFENSE - BAC between 0.15% and less than 0.20% - EXTREME DUI

EXTREME DUI

Blood Alcohol Content between 0.15% and less than 0.20%

  • Fine & Charges: $250 (base fine) +
    $210 (84% surcharge) +
    $20 (probation surcharge) +
    $1000 (prison construction assessment) +
    $1000 (public safety equipment fee) +
    $250 (DUI abatement fee) =
    TOTAL: $2730.00
  • Jail Time: minimum 30 consecutive days in jail (all but 9 days may be suspended if an ignition interlock is used for a period of 12 months)
  • Drivers License Revocation: minimum 1 year drivers license revocation (may be able to apply for a special ignition interlock restricted driving license after 45 days)
  • Ignition Interlock Device: ignition interlock restriction (upon re-instatement of driving privileges the court may order an IID for a minimum period of 12 months)
  • up to 5 years probation
  • mandatory alcohol screening/education/treatment
  • possible vehicle forfeiture
  • possible community restitution
  • 8 points assessed against your permanent driving record
  • Arizona SR22 insurance requirement

FIRST OFFENSE - BAC 0.20% or more - EXTREME DUI

Extreme DUI

Blood Alcohol Content 0.20% or more

  • Fine & Charges: $500 (base fine) +
    $420 (84% surcharge) +
    $20 (probation surcharge) +
    $1000 (prison construction assessment) +
    $1000 (public safety equipment fee) +
    $250 (DUI abatement fee) =
    TOTAL: $3190.00
  • Jail Time: minimum 45 consecutive days in jail (all but 14 days may be suspended if an ignition interlock is used for a period of 12 months)
  • Drivers License Revocation: minimum 1 year drivers license revocation (may be able to apply for a special ignition interlock restricted driving license after 45 days)
  • Ignition Interlock Device: ignition interlock restriction (upon re-instatement of driving privileges the court may order an IID for a minimum period of 18 months)
  • up to 5 years probation
  • mandatory alcohol screening/education/treatment
  • possible vehicle forfeiture
  • possible community restitution
  • 8 points assessed against your permanent driving record
  • Arizona SR22 insurance requirement

 

Second DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Class 1 MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a second DUI - drunk driving conviction in Arizona:

SECOND OFFENSE - BAC 0.08% or more
  • Fine & Charges: $500 (base fine) +
    $420 (84% surcharge) +
    $20 (probation surcharge) +
    $1250 (prison construction assessment) +
    $1250 (public safety equipment fee) =
    TOTAL: $3440.00
  • Jail Time: minimum 90 days in jail (30 days consecutive days are mandatory, the remaining may be suspended if alcohol screening, education or treatment is completed)
  • Drivers License Revocation: minimum 1 year drivers license revocation (may be able to apply for a special ignition interlock restricted driving license after 45 days)
  • Ignition Interlock Device: ignition interlock restriction (upon re-instatement of driving privileges the court will order an IID for a minimum period of 12 months)
  • up to 5 years probation
  • mandatory alcohol screening/education/treatment
  • possible vehicle forfeiture
  • mandatory minimum 30 hours community restitution
  • 8 points assessed against your permanent driving record
  • Arizona SR22 insurance requirement

SECOND OFFENSE - BAC between 0.15% and less than 0.20% - EXTREME DUI

EXTREME DUI

Blood Alcohol Content between 0.15% and less than 0.20%

  • Fine & Charges: $500 (base fine) +
    $420 (84% surcharge) +
    $20 (probation surcharge) +
    $1250 (prison construction assessment) +
    $1250 (public safety equipment fee) +
    $250 (DUI abatement fee) =
    TOTAL: $3690.00
  • Jail Time: minimum 120 days in jail (60 days must be consecutive, none can be suspended)
  • Drivers License Revocation: minimum 1 year drivers license revocation (may apply for a special ignition interlock restricted driving license after 45 days)
  • Ignition Interlock Device: ignition interlock restriction (upon re-instatement of driving privileges the court will order an IID for a minimum period of 12 months)
  • up to 5 years probation
  • mandatory alcohol screening/education/treatment
  • possible vehicle forfeiture
  • mandatory minimum 30 hours community restitution
  • 8 points assessed against your permanent driving record
  • Arizona SR22 insurance requirement

SECOND OFFENSE - BAC 0.20% or more - EXTREME DUI

Extreme DUI

Blood Alcohol Content 0.20% or more

  • Fine & Charges: $1000 (base fine) +
    $840 (84% surcharge) +
    $20 (probation surcharge) +
    $1250 (prison construction assessment) +
    $1250 (public safety equipment fee) +
    $250 (DUI abatement fee) =
    TOTAL: $4610.00
  • Jail Time: minimum 180 days in jail (90 days must be consecutive, none can be suspended)
  • Drivers License Revocation: minimum 1 year drivers license revocation (may be able to apply for a special ignition interlock restricted driving license after 45 days)
  • Ignition Interlock Device: ignition interlock restriction (upon re-instatement of driving privileges the court will order an IID for a minimum period of 24 months)
  • up to 5 years probation
  • mandatory alcohol screening/education/treatment
  • possible vehicle forfeiture
  • mandatory minimum 30 hours community restitution
  • 8 points assessed against your permanent driving record
  • Arizona SR22 insurance requirement

NOTE: A third or subsequent DUI within 7 years of previous DUI's is a felony and classed as an "aggravated DUI".

Third DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - AGGRAVATED DUI - CLASS 4 FELONY

Aggravated DUI

The penalty for a third DUI - drunk driving conviction in Arizona:

  • Fine & Charges: $750 (base fine) +
    $630 (84% surcharge) +
    $20 (probation surcharge) +
    $1500 (prison construction assessment) +
    $1500 (public safety equipment fee) +
    $250 (DUI abatement fee) =
    TOTAL: $4650.00
  • Jail Time: minimum 4 months in jail (all 4 months must be consecutive, none can be suspended)
  • Drivers License Revocation: 3 years revocation of drivers license
  • Ignition Interlock Device: ignition interlock restriction (upon re-instatement of driving privileges the court will order an IID for a minimum period of 24 months)
  • possible vehicle forfeiture
  • up to 5 years probation
  • mandatory alcohol screening/treatment program
  • possible vehicle forfeiture
  • 8 points assessed against your permanent driving record
  • Arizona SR22 insurance requirement

Top of page

 

Implied consent LAWS

Implied Consent Chemical Testing

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Arizona and implied consent laws are enforced.

Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in arizona

In Arizona, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license will be suspended.

A chemical test refusal in Arizona is a separate offense and can be used as admissible evidence in a court of law to help secure a conviction for DUI.

First chemical test refusal

  • Drivers License Suspension: 1 year (12 months) drivers license suspension (may apply for a special ignition interlock restricted drivers license after 90 consecutive days)
  • Mandatory alcohol and/or drug screening required to regain driving privilege after suspension
  • Arizona SR22 insurance requirement

Second (and subsequent) chemical test refusals

  • Drivers License Suspension: 2 years drivers license suspension (not eligible for a special ignition interlock restricted drivers license)
  • Mandatory alcohol and/or drug screening required to regain driving privilege after suspension
  • Arizona SR22 insurance requirement

Top of page

 

Arizona SR22 insurance (High Risk auto insurance)

Compare Arizona SR22 Auto Insurance Rates and Save $$$'s
Arizona SR22 Insurance



Arizona SR22 Insurance Quote Line - Toll Free


list of auto insurance companies we search to find you the best rate

Arizona SR-22 auto insurance is usually required for a period of 3 years after a DUI - drunk driving - alcohol related driving conviction and can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider. Some insurance companies will not even do an SR22 insurance filing. Get a FREE DUI SR22 auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for Arizona auto insurance in a matter of minutes.

Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of Arizona

The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of Arizona for private passenger vehicles is (15/30/10). This equates to the following liability coverage:

  • $15,000 bodily injury liability (BIL) per person
  • $30,000 for two or more people in one accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) coverage

What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?

(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.

What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?

(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.

Top of page



 

 

Useful Arizona DUI Links:

DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in Arizona

Arizona Drivers Manual

Arizona SR22 Insurance Requirement

Arizona Department of Public Safety

Arizona Department of Administration

Arizona Department of Transportation (MVD)

Arizona Judicial Branch

Arizona Department of Insurance

Arizona DUI Lawyers

Arizona DUI discussion forum

Top of page

 

Latest Arizona DUI News

Arizona man jailed in Montour County for drunken driving - Sunbury Daily Item


Arizona man jailed in Montour County for drunken driving
Sunbury Daily Item
More about Drunken Driving. ARTICLE: DUi case started with dark headlight. Print. Posted in Montour county on Thursday, October 9, 2014 12:49 am. | Tags: Arizona, Dui, Drunken Driving, Sentencing, Jail ...

and more »

Thu, 09 Oct 2014 05:01:39 GMT

Top of page

Arizona Cities
Apache Junction
Avondale
Bisbee
Bullhead City
Carefree
Casa Grande
Chandler
Cottonwood
Flagstaff
Florence
Fountain Hills
Gilbert
Glendale
Globe
Holbrook
Kingman
Lake Havasu City
Mesa
Nogales
Paradise Valley
Parker
Payson
Peoria
Phoenix
Pinetop
Prescott
Safford
Scottsdale
Sedona
Show Low
Sierra Vista
Sun City
Sun City West
Surprise
Tempe
Tucson
Wickenburg
Window Rock
Yuma
Arizona Counties
Apache
Cochise
Coconino
Gila
Graham
Greenlee
La Paz
Maricopa
Mohave
Navajo
Pima
Pinal
Santa Cruz
Yavapai
Yuma

Top of page

States/Abbreviations
AK Alaska LA Louisiana OH Ohio
AL Alabama MA Massachusetts OK Oklahoma
AR Arkansas MD Maryland OR Oregon
AZ Arizona ME Maine PA Pennsylvania
CA California MI Michigan RI Rhode Island
CO Colorado MN Minnesota SC South Carolina
CT Connecticut MO Missouri SD South Dakota
DE Delaware MS Mississippi TN Tennessee
FL Florida MT Montana TX Texas
GA Georgia NC North Carolina UT Utah
HI Hawaii ND North Dakota VT Vermont
IA Iowa NE Nebraska VA Virginia
ID Idaho NH New Hampshire WA Washington State
IL Illinois NJ New Jersey WI Wisconsin
IN Indiana NM New Mexico WV West Virginia
KS Kansas NV Nevada WY Wyoming
KY Kentucky NY New York DC Washington DC

USA DUI Home | DUI Forums | DUI Laws by State | Worldwide BAC Limits | Drunk Driving Blog
Alcohol Breathalyzers | DUI SR22 Insurance | DUI Lawyers | DUI Drunk Driving in the News | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

©2014 Drinkdriving.org