Hawaii DUI / OVUII Laws & Drunk Driving Penalties


Overview of the penalties upon conviction of DUI in Hawaii

Driving under the influence (DUI) in Hawaii is also know as operating a vehicle under the influence of and intoxicant (OVUII)

Hawaii DUI Laws, BAC limits, fines, jail times, IID requirements, suspension/revocation periods and SR22 insurance requirements for first time and repeat offenders with multiple DUI's.

If you've been charged with DUI in Hawaii, the law allows only 14 days for a Hawaii DUI Lawyer to make a request with the Administrative Drivers License Revocation Office (ADLRO) for a hearing to help save your drivers license.

What are the penalties for DUI in Hawaii?

The penalties for driving under the influence in Hawaii will depend upon the exact circumstances of each particular case and the number of previous offenses (if any) a person has.

HI OVUII / DUI Penalties

Hawaii is a state with a 5 year 'washout period' also known as a 'look back period'

1st DUI / OVUII Conviction - Misdemeanor

The penalty upon conviction of a first OVUII / DUI offense in Hawaii:

Top of Page

2nd DUI / OVUII Conviction - Misdemeanor

The penalty upon conviction of a second DUI offense in Hawaii:

Top of Page

3rd DUI / OVUII Conviction - Misdemeanor

The penalty upon conviction of a third DUI offense in Hawaii:

Top of Page

4th DUI / OVUII Conviction - Felony

The penalty upon conviction of a fourth DUI offense in Hawaii:

Top of Page


Implied Consent (Chemical Testing) Laws

Hawaii Chemical Testing Laws

In Hawaii it is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test that will result in a loss of driving privileges.

Chemical Test Refusal Penalties - Hawaii

First Chemical Test Refusal

Second Chemical Test Refusal

Third Chemical Test Refusal

Top of Page


What is the legal alcohol limit in Hawaii

The maximum legal BAC (blood alcohol content) limits in Hawaii for driving are as follows:

ADULT DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
In the State of Hawaii it is an offense for adult drivers to drive any regular motor vehicle with 0.08% or more, by weight, of alcohol in his/her blood.

DRIVERS UNDER 21 - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
In the State of Hawaii it is an offense for drivers under the age of 21 (minors) to drive any motor vehicle with 0.02% or more, by weight, of alcohol in his/her blood.

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Hawaii and implied consent laws are enforced.

Cities in Hawaii

Hilo, Honolulu, Kahului, Kailua, Kailua Kona, Kamuela, Kaneohe, Kapaa, Kihei, Lihue, Wailuku.


Counties in Hawaii

Hawaii, Honolulu, Kauai, Maui.


DUI Laws - Drinkdriving.org

DrinkDriving.org
Your DUI Law Information Resource
LOOKING FOR CHEAP SR22 INSURANCE? - Compare Rates Today



Breathalyzers for Sale
States/Abbreviations AK
AL
AR
AZ
CA
CO
CT
DE
FL
GA
HI
IA
ID
IL
IN
KS
KY
Alaska
Alabama
Arkansas
Arizona
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Iowa
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Kansas
Kentucky
LA
MA
MD
ME
MI
MN
MO
MS
MT
NC
ND
NE
NH
NJ
NM
NV
NY
Louisiana
Massachusetts
Maryland
Maine
Michigan
Minnesota
Missouri
Mississippi
Montana
North Carolina
North Dakota
Nebraska
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
Nevada
New York
OH
OK
OR
PA
RI
SC
SD
TN
TX
UT
VT
VA
WA
WI
WV
WY
DC
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington State
Wisconsin
West Virginia
Wyoming
Washington DC