|YOU ARE HERE: Home > DUI Laws > Kentucky DUI Laws|
The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in Kentucky is 0.08% per se
Kentucky Drunk Driving Laws
(If you’ve been charged with Kentucky DUI, the law allows only 10 days for your Kentucky DUI Lawyer to make a request with the Kentucky DMV (Division of Motor Vehicles) for a hearing to save your driving license)
ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
It is a crime to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Kentucky and implied consent laws are enforced.
Kentucky BAC Calculator
Kentucky is a state with a ten year ‘washout period’ also known as a 'look back period'.
NOTE: OUT OF STATE CONVICTIONS
ENHANCED PENALTIES: AGGRAVATING CIRCUMSTANCES
First Dui - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR
The penalty for a first DUI - drunk driving conviction in Kentucky:
Second DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR
The penalty for a second DUI - drunk driving conviction in Kentucky:
Third DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Misdemeanor
The penalty for a third DUI - drunk driving conviction in Kentucky:
Fourth (and subsequent) DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - FELONY
The penalty for a fourth (and subsequent) DUI - drunk driving conviction in Kentucky:
Underage DUI Penalties (Under 21 years of age)
Persons under 21 years of age with a BAC between 0.02 or less than 0.08 will be guilty of an offense and will suffer penalties outlined below:
Underage Dui - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR
The penalty for a underage DUI - drunk driving conviction in Kentucky:
UNERAGE DUI WITH HIGH BAC
It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Kentucky and implied consent laws are enforced.
Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in Kentucky
In Kentucky, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license will be suspended/revoked.
First chemical test refusal
Second chemical test refusal
Third Chemical test refusal
Fourth (and subsequent) Chemical test refusal
Although SR22 insurance is not required in the state of Kentucky after an alcohol related driving conviction, it will save you money to shop around for auto insurance after a DWI DUI - drunk driving conviction regardless. Auto insurance can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider. Get a FREE auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for Kentucky auto insurance in a matter of minutes. Although SR22 insurance is not required in the state of Kentucky after an alcohol related driving offense, if you have an SR22 insurance requirement and you move to the state of Kentucky, you will still need to meet the SR22 insurance requirements in the state where the offense was committed.
Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of Kentucky
The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of Kentucky for private passenger vehicles is (25/50/10). This equates to the following liability coverage:
What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?
(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.
What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?
(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.
This RSS feed URL is deprecated
Fri, 15 Dec 2017 04:10:07 GMT
Tue, 21 Nov 2017 11:14:32 GMT
Fri, 08 Dec 2017 20:44:24 GMT
Sat, 16 Dec 2017 04:46:00 GMT
USA DUI Home | DUI Forums | DUI Laws by State |
Worldwide BAC Limits | Drunk Driving Blog