Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA BAC Calculator | DUI Forums Drink Driving in the UK Drink Driving in the UK
Cheap SR22 Insurance Quotes ENTER ZIP:
FREE LAWYER CONSULTATIONSR22 INSURANCE | DUI LAWYERS | DUI LAWS

Dont Drink and Drive!!

Breathalyzers for Sale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Maine OUI OWI DUI Laws

Maine OUI DUI Lawyers - Drunk Driving Attorneys

Maine
Maine

Maine OUI DUI Forum | SR22 Insurance Requirements

The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in Maine is 0.08% per se
(effective from Aug 4th 1988)

Cheap SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes for High Risk Drivers in Maine

Maine drunk driving cases are referred to as OUI (operating under the influence), OWI (operating while intoxicated), or DUI (driving under the influence).

Maine DUI Laws & BAC Limits | Maine DUI Penalties

Maine DUI SR22 Insurance

Maine Drunk Driving Statistics

Useful Maine DUI Links | Latest Maine DUI News


DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in other States


Maine Drunk Driving Laws

(If you’ve been charged with Maine OUI, the law allows only 10 days for your Maine OUI Lawyer to make a request with the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles for a hearing to save your driving license)

Maine is a member of the Interstate Drivers License Compact
An agreement between participating states to share information regarding certain types of convictions including DUI - DWI and related Drunk Driving offenses. If a resident of one state gets convicted of a drunk driving offense in another state, the driver's home state will be notified. The type of action that the driver's home state will take will vary from state to state.

Maine OUI Laws and BAC limits

ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
In the State of Maine it is crime for ANY driver to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.08% and above.

COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
It is a crime for commercial vehicle operators to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.04% or above.

MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.00% - ZERO TOLERANCE
It is a crime for persons under 21 years of age to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.00% - ZERO TOLERANCE.

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Maine and implied consent laws are enforced.

!! CAUTION - Driving Ability Impaired !!

You can be prosecuted in Maine without driving while you are over the legal prescribed bac limit.

Under Maine law, it is unlawful to drive with a BAC limit above the per se laws OR to drive while impaired under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.

Under this law the prosecution must show that the driver was IMPAIRED by alcohol and/or drugs. The level of impairment is usually based on observations and evidence of driving ability (or rather inability), physical appearance, field sobriety tests and any other relevant evidence which can help prove a persons driving ability was indeed impaired. Different amounts of alcohol can affect people in different ways, what may impair one persons driving ability and make them feel drunk, might not necessarily impair another persons driving ability.

Observations from a law enforcement officer that may lead to being stopped and arrested include:

  • Making a turn too widely or narrowly
  • Using two lanes, straddling the center line
  • Almost hitting someone or something
  • Weaving or drifting from one side of the road to another
  • Driving too slowly and being overly cautious
  • Driving too close to vehicle in front
  • Driving ON the center lines
  • Erratic braking
  • Swerving to correct course of vehicle

You can be charged with an offence regardless of your BAC level, as long as impairment can be proved to the legal extent necessary.

A skilled drunk driving attorney can help you defend any charges against you

Maine BAC Calculator

BLOOD ALCOHOL CONTENT CALCULATOR
Calculate your BAC using our calculator, know your legal drunk driving limits and stay safe!!
BAC - Blood Alcohol Content Calculator

Top of page

 

Penalties for OUI - Drunk Driving in Maine

Maine is a state with a ten-year ‘washout period’ also known as a 'look back period'.

ENHANCED PENALTIES: Aggravating Factors

Under Maine state law, certain factors are classed as aggravating the OUI offense, making it all the more serious and increasing penalties. These include:

1) Committing OUI with a BAC of 0.15 or more
2) Committing OUI while exceeding the speed limit by 30mph or more
3) Committing OUI with a passenger under the age of 21 (additional 275 days will be added to any suspension period)
4) Eluding or attempting to elude a police officer


First OUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Class D Crime

The penalty for a first OUI - drunk driving conviction in Maine:

  • Fine: not less than $500 fine
  • Jail: not less than 48 hours IF aggravating factors apply
  • License Suspension: 90 days drivers license suspension (restricted license may be available after first 60 days suspension)
  • possible attendance at alcohol/drug/substance abuse treatment program
  • possible forfeiture and/or impoundment of motor vehicle
  • Maine SR22 insurance requirement

Second OUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Class D Crime

The penalty for a second OUI - drunk driving conviction in Maine:

  • Fine: not less than $700
  • Jail: not less than 7 days jail
  • License Suspension: 3 years drivers license suspension (license may be re-instated after first 9 months if ignition interlock is installed for a period of 2 years)
  • wont be able to register a motor vehicle
  • possible attendance at alcohol/drug/substance abuse treatment program
  • possible forfeiture and/or impoundment of motor vehicle
  • Maine SR22 insurance requirement

Third OUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - CLASS C CRIME

The penalty for a third OUI - drunk driving conviction in Maine:

  • Fine: not less than $1,100 fine
  • Jail: not less than 30 days jail
  • License Suspension: 6 years drivers license suspension (license may be re-instated after first 3 years suspension if ignition interlock is installed for a period of 3 years)
  • wont be able to register a motor vehicle
  • possible attendance at alcohol/drug/substance abuse treatment program
  • possible forfeiture and/or impoundment of motor vehicle
  • Maine SR22 insurance requirement

Fourth (and subsequent) OUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - CLASS C CRIME

The penalty for a fourth OUI - drunk driving conviction in Maine:

  • Fine: not less than $2,100 fine
  • Jail: not less than 6 months jail
  • License Suspension: 6 years drivers license suspension
  • Ignition Interlock: must install ignition interlock for a period of 4 years at the end of suspension period
  • wont be able to register a motor vehicle
  • possible attendance at alcohol/drug/substance abuse treatment program
  • possible forfeiture and/or impoundment of motor vehicle
  • SR22 insurance requirement

Top of page

 

Implied consent LAWS

Implied Consent Chemical Testing

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Maine and implied consent laws are enforced.

Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in Maine

In Maine, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license will be suspended/revoked.

First chemical test refusal

  • Fine: not less than $600
  • Jail: not less than 96 hours jail
  • License Suspension: 275 days drivers license suspension (restricted license may be available after first 180 days suspension)
  • possible attendance at alcohol/drug/substance abuse treatment program
  • possible forfeiture and/or impoundment of motor vehicle
  • Maine SR22 insurance requirement

Second chemical test refusal

  • Fine: not less than $900
  • Jail: not less than 12 days
  • License Suspension: 18 months drivers license suspension
  • possible attendance at alcohol/drug/substance abuse treatment program
  • possible forfeiture and/or impoundment of motor vehicle
  • Maine SR22 insurance requirement

Third chemical test refusal

  • Fine: not less than $1,400
  • Jail: not less than 40 days
  • License Suspension: 4 years drivers license suspension
  • possible attendance at alcohol/drug/substance abuse treatment program
  • possible forfeiture and/or impoundment of motor vehicle
  • Maine SR22 insurance requirement

Fourth (and subsequent) Chemical Test Refusal

  • Fine: not less than $2,500
  • Jail: not less than 6 months and 20 days
  • License Suspension: 6 years drivers license suspension
  • Ignition Interlock: must install ignition interlock for a period of 4 years at the end of suspension period
  • possible attendance at alcohol/drug/substance abuse treatment program
  • possible forfeiture and/or impoundment of motor vehicle
  • Maine SR22 insurance requirement

Top of page

 

 

Maine SR22 insurance (High Risk auto Insurance)

Compare Maine SR22 Auto Insurance Rates and Save $$$'s
Maine SR22 Insurance



Maine SR22 Insurance Quote Line - Toll Free


list of auto insurance companies we search to find you the best rate

Maine SR-22 auto insurance is usually required for a period of 3 years after a OUI - DUI - drunk driving - alcohol related driving conviction and can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider. Some insurance companies will not even do an SR22 insurance filing. Get a FREE DUI auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for Maine auto insurance in a matter of minutes.

Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of Maine

The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of Maine for private passenger vehicles is (50/100/25). This equates to the following liability coverage:

  • $50,000 bodily injury liability (BIL) per person
  • $100,000 for two or more people in one accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability (PDL) coverage

What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?

(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.

What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?

(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.

Top of page



Disclaimer: While every effort is made to keep all information up to date, the Maine drunk driving laws change frequently and the information provided on this web site should not be construed as legal advice, nor is it necessarily complete. Drinkdriving.org shall not be held responsible for any actions a person may take as a result of information gathered from this web site. Consultation with a local Maine DUI lawyer is recommended in all cases.

 

Useful Maine OUI Links:

DUI - OUI - Drunk Driving Laws in Maine

Maine Drivers Manual

Maine SR22 Insurance Requirement

Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Maine Department of Transportation

Maine State Courts (Judicial Branch)

Maine Department of Insurance

Maine OUI - DUI Lawyers

Maine OUI - DUI discussion forum

Top of page

 

Latest Maine DUI, OUI News

This RSS feed URL is deprecated
This RSS feed URL is deprecated, please update. New URLs can be found in the footers at https://news.google.com/news
Wed, 26 Sep 2018 09:32:02 GMT

Underage St. Agatha man charged with OUI after crossing border - fiddleheadfocus.com


fiddleheadfocus.com

Underage St. Agatha man charged with OUI after crossing border
fiddleheadfocus.com
MADAWASKA, Maine ? Police charged a St. Agatha man with operating under influence on Sept. 21 after he crossed the border back into the United States at the Madawaska Port of Entry, according to officials. Early Friday morning, when Zachery Corriveau, ...


Tue, 25 Sep 2018 18:03:27 GMT

Maine on-duty hospital paramedic arrested for OUI - EMS1.com


WMTW Portland

Maine on-duty hospital paramedic arrested for OUI
EMS1.com
BATH, Maine ? A paramedic with the Bath Fire Department was arrested for operating under the influence Thursday night after responding to the scene of a possible drowning while working a second job as a paramedic for Mid Coast Hospital. James W.
Paramedic responding to reported drowning charged with drunken drivingWMTW Portland

all 4 news articles »

Tue, 11 Sep 2018 13:50:25 GMT

Maine man charged in deadly crash reaches plea deal - WMTW Portland


WMTW Portland

Maine man charged in deadly crash reaches plea deal
WMTW Portland
An Etna man accused of causing a deadly crash while driving high reached plea deal with prosecutors. Richard Lupo II pleaded no contest to manslaughter and criminal OUI on Tuesday. Police said Lupo was speeding when he hit a car driven by Debra ...
Plea deal reached for man charged with causing fatal crashWABI

all 4 news articles »

Tue, 25 Sep 2018 21:26:22 GMT

Athens man charged with OUI 10 hours after being charged in another accident - Lewiston Sun Journal


Lewiston Sun Journal

Athens man charged with OUI 10 hours after being charged in another accident
Lewiston Sun Journal
KINGFIELD ? After three run-ins with police in 10 hours, an Athens man was being held at the Franklin County Detention Center on Wednesday on charges of drunken driving, criminal mischief and failure to report an accident. The series of events ...


Wed, 19 Sep 2018 19:17:12 GMT

Top of page

Maine Cities
Auburn
Augusta
Bangor
Bar Harbor
Bath
Belfast
Biddeford
Blue Hill
Boothbay Harbor
Brewer
Brunswick
Calais
Camden
Cape Elizabeth
Caribou
Damariscotta
Dover Foxcroft
Ellsworth
Farmington
Freeport
Fryeburg
Gardiner
Gorham
Gray
Hallowell
Hampden
Houlton
Kennebunk
Kittery
Lewiston
Machias
Norway
Old Orchard Beach
Orono
Portland
Presque Isle
Readfield
Rockland
Rockport
Saco
Sanford
Scarborough
Skowhegan
South Paris
South Portland
Springvale
Topsham
Waldoboro
Waterville
Wells
Westbrook
Windham
Winthrop
Wiscasset
Yarmouth
York
Maine Counties
Androscoggin
Aroostook
Cumberland
Franklin
Hancock
Kennebec
Knox
Lincoln
Oxford
Penobscot
Piscataquis
Sagadahoc
Somerset
Waldo
Washington
York

Top of page

States/Abbreviations
AK Alaska LA Louisiana OH Ohio
AL Alabama MA Massachusetts OK Oklahoma
AR Arkansas MD Maryland OR Oregon
AZ Arizona ME Maine PA Pennsylvania
CA California MI Michigan RI Rhode Island
CO Colorado MN Minnesota SC South Carolina
CT Connecticut MO Missouri SD South Dakota
DE Delaware MS Mississippi TN Tennessee
FL Florida MT Montana TX Texas
GA Georgia NC North Carolina UT Utah
HI Hawaii ND North Dakota VT Vermont
IA Iowa NE Nebraska VA Virginia
ID Idaho NH New Hampshire WA Washington State
IL Illinois NJ New Jersey WI Wisconsin
IN Indiana NM New Mexico WV West Virginia
KS Kansas NV Nevada WY Wyoming
KY Kentucky NY New York DC Washington DC

USA DUI Home | DUI Forums | DUI Laws by State | Worldwide BAC Limits | Alcohol Breathalyzers
DUI SR22 Insurance | DUI Lawyers | DUI Drunk Driving in the News | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

©2018 Drinkdriving.org