Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA BAC Calculator | DUI Forums Drink Driving in the UK Drink Driving in the UK
Cheap SR22 Insurance Quotes ENTER ZIP:
FREE LAWYER CONSULTATIONSR22 INSURANCE | DUI LAWYERS | DUI LAWS

Dont Drink and Drive!!

Breathalyzers for Sale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Maryland DWI DUI Laws

Maryland DUI Lawyers - Drunk Driving Attorneys

Maryland
Maryland

Maryland DUI Forum | SR22 Insurance Requirements

The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in Maryland is 0.08% per se
(effective from Sep 3rd 2001)

Cheap SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes for High Risk Drivers in Maryland

Maryland DUI Laws & BAC Limits | Maryland DUI Penalties

Maryland DUI SR22 Insurance

Maryland Drunk Driving Statistics

Useful Maryland DUI Links | Latest Maryland DUI News


DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in other States


Maryland Drunk Driving Laws

(If you’ve been charged with Maryland DUI DWI, the law allows only 10 days for your Maryland DUI Lawyer to make a request with the Maryland Office of Administrative Hearings for a hearing to save your driving license)

Maryland is a member of the Interstate Drivers License Compact
An agreement between participating states to share information regarding certain types of convictions including DUI - DWI and related Drunk Driving offenses. If a resident of one state gets convicted of a drunk driving offense in another state, the driver's home state will be notified. The type of action that the driver's home state will take will vary from state to state.

Maryland DUI Laws and BAC limits

ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
In the State of Maryland it is crime for ANY driver to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.08% and above.

COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
It is a crime for commercial vehicle operators to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.04% or above.

MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
It is a crime for persons under 21 years of age to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.02% or above.

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Maryland and implied consent laws are enforced.

BLOOD ALCOHOL CONTENT CALCULATOR
Calculate your BAC using our calculator, know your legal drunk driving limits and stay safe!!
BAC - Blood Alcohol Content Calculator

Top of page

 

Penalties for DUI - DWI - Drunk Driving in Maryland

Maryland is a state with a ten-year ‘washout period’ also known as a 'look back period'.

NOTE: OUT OF STATE CONVICTIONS
Under Maryland state law a conviction for a drunk driving crime committed in another state or federal jurisdiction that, if committed in Maryland would constitute a violation of Maryland's drunk driving laws will be classed as a prior conviction.


First DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a first DUI - drunk driving conviction in Maryland:


Second DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a second DUI - drunk driving conviction in Maryland:

  • Fine: up to $2,000 fine
  • Jail: up to 2 years in jail
  • License Suspension: minimum 1 year drivers license suspension (ignition interlock restricted license may be available after first 45 days of suspension)
  • Ignition Interlock: ignition interlock required for a period of 3 months to 1 year after suspension ends
  • 12 points on driving record
  • Maryland SR22 insurance requirement

Third (and subsequent) DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a third (and subsequent) DUI - drunk driving conviction in Maryland:

  • Fine: up to $3,000 fine
  • Jail: up to 3 years in jail
  • License Suspension: minimum 1 year drivers license suspension (ignition interlock restricted license may be available after first 45 days of suspension)
  • Ignition Interlock: ignition interlock required for a period of 3 months to 1 year after suspension ends
  • 12 points on driving record
  • Maryland SR22 insurance requirement

Top of page

 

Implied consent LAWS

Implied Consent Chemical Testing

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Maryland and implied consent laws are enforced.

Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in Maryland

In Maryland, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license will be suspended/revoked.

First chemical test refusal

Second (And subsequent) chemical test refusal

Top of page

 

Maryland SR22 insurance (High Risk auto Insurance)

Compare Maryland SR22 Auto Insurance Rates and Save $$$'s
Maryland SR22 Insurance



Maryland SR22 Insurance Quote Line - Toll Free


list of auto insurance companies we search to find you the best rate

Maryland SR-22 auto insurance is usually required for a period of 3 years after a DUI -DWI - drunk driving - alcohol related driving conviction and can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider.  Some insurance companies will not even do an SR22 insurance filing. Get a FREE DUI auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for Maryland auto insurance in a matter of minutes.

Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of Maryland

The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of Maryland for private passenger vehicles is (20/40/15). This equates to the following liability coverage:

  • $20,000 bodily injury liability (BIL) per person
  • $40,000 for two or more people in one accident
  • $15,000 property damage liability (PDL) coverage

You must also have:

  • Uninsured motorist coverage, for the same amounts found above. This will cover you in case an uninsured person hits you.
  • $2,500 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP), for medical expenses related to an accident for your passengers.

What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?

(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.

What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?

(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.

Top of page



Disclaimer: While every effort is made to keep all information up to date, the Maryland drunk driving laws change frequently and the information provided on this web site should not be construed as legal advice, nor is it necessarily complete. Drinkdriving.org shall not be held responsible for any actions a person may take as a result of information gathered from this web site. Consultation with a local Maryland DUI lawyer is recommended in all cases.

 

Useful Maryland DUI Links:

DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in Maryland

Maryland Drivers Manual

Maryland SR22 Insurance Requirement

Maryland Office of Administrative Hearings

Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration

Maryland Department of Transportation

Maryland State Courts

Maryland Department of Insurance

Maryland DUI Lawyers

Maryland DUI discussion forum

Top of page

 

Latest Maryland DUI News

This RSS feed URL is deprecated
This RSS feed URL is deprecated, please update. New URLs can be found in the footers at https://news.google.com/news
Mon, 25 Jun 2018 07:37:50 GMT

DUI conviction rate: Worcester County has state's highest - Delmarva Daily Times


Delmarva Daily Times

DUI conviction rate: Worcester County has state's highest
Delmarva Daily Times
Worcester County was honored recently for having the highest conviction rate for driving under the influence charges, prosecutors said. On June 18, prosecutors came together at the Clarion Hotel in Ocean City for the annual Maryland State's Attorney's ...
Worcester County Tops In State For DUI ConvictionsThe Dispatch

all 2 news articles »

Mon, 18 Jun 2018 18:26:00 GMT

Howard County Register of Wills has DUI record - MarylandReporter.com


MarylandReporter.com

Howard County Register of Wills has DUI record
MarylandReporter.com
On Sept. 17, 2015, Macfarlane pled guilty to one count of driving under the influence of alcohol per se, a misdemeanor. Other remaining charges have been put on hold, according to a ?stet? noted in the Maryland case search, which is a legal term for ...


Thu, 14 Jun 2018 11:09:25 GMT

Ex-Lansdowne pol paroled in DUI case | News | delconewsnetwork ... - Delco News Network


Delco News Network

Ex-Lansdowne pol paroled in DUI case | News | delconewsnetwork ...
Delco News Network
The former Democratic Lansdowne councilman who was convicted on his third DUI in February has been paroled.
Ex-Lansdowne pol paroled in DUI caseThe Delaware County Daily Times

all 2 news articles »

Sun, 24 Jun 2018 23:35:41 GMT

DUI: Families of victims demand stricter Pa. laws for repeat offenders - York Daily Record/Sunday News


York Daily Record/Sunday News

DUI: Families of victims demand stricter Pa. laws for repeat offenders
York Daily Record/Sunday News
'We have people on their fourth, fifth DUI and it's still a misdemeanor. That's not OK. It's frustrating, and it's preventable.' -- Sen. Scott Martin.
Families of those killed by repeat DUI drivers demand strict laws ...witf.org

all 2 news articles »

Sun, 24 Jun 2018 22:39:02 GMT

Top of page

Maryland Cities
Annapolis
Baltimore
Bel Air
Beltsville
Bethesda
Bowie
Burtonsville
Cambridge
Catonsville
Chestertown
Chevy Chase
Cockeysville
College Park
Columbia
Crofton
Crownsville
Cumberland
Denton
Derwood
Dundalk
Easton
Elkton
Ellicott City
Essex
Fort Washington
Frederick
Gaithersburg
Germantown
Glen Burnie
Greenbelt
Hagerstown
Halethorpe
Hunt Valley
Hyattsville
Kensington
La Plata
Lanham
Largo
Laurel
Leonardtown
Lexington Park
Linthicum Heights
Lutherville Timonium
Nottingham
Oakland
Ocean City
Owings Mills
Oxon Hill
Parkville
Pasadena
Pikesville
Potomac
Prince Frederick
Reisterstown
Riverdale
Rockville
Salisbury
Severna Park
Silver Spring
Suitland
Sykesville
Takoma Park
Towson
Upper Marlboro
Waldorf
Westminster
Maryland Counties
Allegany
Anne Arundel
Baltimore
Baltimore City
Calvert
Caroline
Carroll
Cecil
Charles
Dorchester
Frederick
Garrett
Harford
Howard
Kent
Montgomery
Prince George's
Queen Anne's
Somerset
St Mary's
Talbot
Washington
Wicomico
Worcester

Top of page

States/Abbreviations
AK Alaska LA Louisiana OH Ohio
AL Alabama MA Massachusetts OK Oklahoma
AR Arkansas MD Maryland OR Oregon
AZ Arizona ME Maine PA Pennsylvania
CA California MI Michigan RI Rhode Island
CO Colorado MN Minnesota SC South Carolina
CT Connecticut MO Missouri SD South Dakota
DE Delaware MS Mississippi TN Tennessee
FL Florida MT Montana TX Texas
GA Georgia NC North Carolina UT Utah
HI Hawaii ND North Dakota VT Vermont
IA Iowa NE Nebraska VA Virginia
ID Idaho NH New Hampshire WA Washington State
IL Illinois NJ New Jersey WI Wisconsin
IN Indiana NM New Mexico WV West Virginia
KS Kansas NV Nevada WY Wyoming
KY Kentucky NY New York DC Washington DC

USA DUI Home | DUI Forums | DUI Laws by State | Worldwide BAC Limits | Alcohol Breathalyzers
DUI SR22 Insurance | DUI Lawyers | DUI Drunk Driving in the News | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

©2018 Drinkdriving.org