Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA BAC Calculator | DUI Forums Drink Driving in the UK Drink Driving in the UK
Cheap SR22 Insurance Quotes ENTER ZIP:
FREE LAWYER CONSULTATIONSR22 INSURANCE | DUI LAWYERS | DUI LAWS

Dont Drink and Drive!!

Breathalyzers for Sale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Minnesota DWI DUI Laws

FREE  DUI Lawyer Consultation & Drunk Driving Attorney Case Evaluation in

Minnesota DWI DUI Lawyers - Drunk Driving Attorneys

Minnesota
Minnesota

Minnesota DWI DUI Forum | SR22 Insurance Requirements

The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in Minnesota is 0.08% per se
(effective from Aug 1st 2005)

Cheap SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes for High Risk Drivers in Minnesota

Minnesota DUI Laws & BAC Limits | Minnesota DUI Penalties

Minnesota DUI SR22 Insurance

Minnesota Drunk Driving Statistics

Useful Minnesota DUI Links | Latest Minnesota DUI News


DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in other States


Minnesota Drunk Driving Laws

(If you’ve been charged with Minnesota DWI - DUI, the law allows 30 days for your Minnesota DWI - DUI Lawyer to make a request with the Minnesota Department of Public Safety for a hearing to save your driving license)

DWI - DUI (Driving Under the Influence), DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) are terms used to describe drunk driving charges in the state of Minnesota.

Minnesota is a member of the Interstate Drivers License Compact
An agreement between participating states to share information regarding certain types of convictions including DUI - DWI and related Drunk Driving offenses. If a resident of one state gets convicted of a drunk driving offense in another state, the driver's home state will be notified. The type of action that the driver's home state will take will vary from state to state.

Minnesota DWI - DUI Laws and BAC limits

ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
In the State of Minnesota it is crime for ANY driver to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.08% and above.

COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
It is a crime for commercial vehicle operators to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.04% or above.

MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.00% - ZERO TOLERANCE
It is a crime for persons under 21 years of age to drive with after having consumed any amount of alcohol.

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Minnesota and implied consent laws are enforced.

BLOOD ALCOHOL CONTENT CALCULATOR
Calculate your BAC using our calculator, know your legal drunk driving limits and stay safe!!
BAC - Blood Alcohol Content Calculator

Top of page

 

Penalties for DWI - DUI - Drunk Driving in Minnesota

Minnesota is a state with a ten-year ‘washout period’ also known as a 'look back period'.

AGGRAVATING FACTORS: Enhanced Penalties
Under Minnesota state law, certain factors surrounding a DWI offense can aggravate matters and increase penalties. These include:

1) A qualified prior impaired driving incident within the preceding 10 years
2) A BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of 0.16% or more
3) A DWI while carrying a child under the age of 16 in the vehicle
4) A DWI while a persons license has been suspended/revoked/cancelled


First DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a first DWI - drunk driving conviction in Minnesota:

  • Fine: up to $1,000 fine
  • Jail: up to 90 days in jail
  • License Revocation: 90 days drivers license revocation (may apply for limited work permit license after first 15 days of suspension)
  • Ignition Interlock: may be eligible to apply for full driving privileges if prepared to install and use an ignition interlock device for full revocation period
  • administrative license plate impoundment if any aggravating factors involved
  • possible administrative vehicle forfeiture if aggravating factors involved
  • chemical use assessment and treatment as recommended

HIGH BAC: 0.16% or more
If the chemical test results indicate an alcohol concentration of 0.16% or more then the license revocation period will be for a period of not less than 1 year. (may apply for full driving privileges if prepared to install and use an ignition interlock device for full revocation period)


Second DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - GRoss MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a second DWI - drunk driving conviction in Minnesota:

  • Fine: up to $3,000 fine
  • Jail: minimum 30 days in jail (OR 8 hours of community service for each day less than thirty served)
  • License Revocation: not less than 1 year drivers license revocation (may be eligible to apply for limited work permit license after first 90 days of revocation)
  • Ignition Interlock: may be eligible to apply for full driving privileges if prepared to install and use an ignition interlock device for full revocation period
  • administrative license plate impoundment if any aggravating factors involved
  • possible administrative vehicle forfeiture if aggravating factors involved
  • chemical use assessment and treatment as recommended

HIGH BAC: 0.16% or more
If the chemical test results indicate an alcohol concentration of 0.16% or more then the license revocation period will be for a period of not less than 2 years. (may apply for full driving privileges if prepared to install and use an ignition interlock device for full revocation period)


Third DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Gross Misdemeanor

The penalty for a third DWI - drunk driving conviction in Minnesota:

  • Fine: up to $3,000 fine
  • Jail: minimum 90 days in jail (30 days must be served consecutively)
  • License Revocation: not less than 3 years drivers license revocation
  • Ignition Interlock: may be eligible to apply for a limited license using an ignition interlock device immediately followed by 2 years of full driving privileges using ignition interlock device
  • administrative license plate impoundment if any aggravating factors involved
  • administrative vehicle forfeiture
  • chemical use assessment and treatment as recommended

Fourth DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Felony

The penalty for a fourth DWI - drunk driving conviction in Minnesota:

  • Fine: up to $14,000 fine
  • Jail: 180 days to 7 years in jail (30 days must be served consecutively) - followed by 5 years conditional release
  • License Revocation: not less than 4 years drivers license revocation
  • intensive probation program for repeat DWI offenders
  • administrative license plate impoundment if any aggravating factors involved
  • administrative vehicle forfeiture
  • chemical use assessment and treatment as recommended

Fifth (and subsequent) DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Felony

The penalty for a fifth DWI - drunk driving conviction in Minnesota:

  • Fine: up to $14,000
  • Jail: 1 to 7 years in jail (60 days must be served consecutively) - followed by 5 years conditional release
  • License Revocation: not less than 6 years drivers license revocation
  • intensive probation program for repeat DWI offenders
  • administrative license plate impoundment if any aggravating factors involved
  • administrative vehicle forfeiture
  • chemical use assessment and treatment as recommended

Top of page

 

 

Implied consent LAWS

Implied Consent Chemical Testing

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Minnesota and implied consent laws are enforced.

Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in Minnesota

In Minnesota, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license will be suspended/revoked.

First chemical test refusal (or qualified impaired driving incident)

  • License Revocation: for a period of not less than 1 year (may apply for limited work permit license after first 15 days of revocation)
  • Ignition Interlock: may be eligible to apply for full driving privileges if prepared to install and use an ignition interlock device for full revocation period

SECOND CHEMICAL TEST REFUSAL (or qualified impaired driving incident)

  • License Revocation: for a period of not less than 2 years
  • Ignition Interlock: may apply for full driving privileges if prepared to install and use an ignition interlock device for full revocation period

THIRD CHEMICAL TEST REFUSAL (or qualified impaired driving incident)

  • License Revocation: for a period of not less than 3 years
  • Ignition Interlock: may be eligible to apply for a limited license using an ignition interlock device for a period of 1 year followed by 2 years of full driving privileges using ignition interlock device

FOURTH CHEMICAL TEST REFUSAL (or qualified impaired driving incident)

  • License Revocation: for a period of not less than 4 years

FIFTH (and subsequent) CHEMICAL TEST REFUSAL (or qualified impaired driving incident)

  • License Revocation: for a period of not less than 6 years

Top of page

 

 

Minnesota SR22 insurance (High Risk auto Insurance)

Compare Minnesota SR22 Auto Insurance Rates and Save $$$'s
Minnesota SR22 Insurance



Minnesota SR22 Insurance Quote Line - Toll Free


list of auto insurance companies we search to find you the best rate

Although SR22 insurance is not required in the state of Minnesota after an alcohol related driving conviction, it will save you money to shop around for auto insurance after a DWI DUI - drunk driving conviction regardless. Auto insurance can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider. Get a FREE auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for Minnesota auto insurance in a matter of minutes. Although SR22 insurance is not required in the state of Minnesota after an alcohol related driving offense, if you have an SR22 insurance requirement and you move to the state of Minnesota, you will still need to meet the SR22 insurance requirements in the state where the offense was committed.

Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of Minnesota

The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of Minnesota for private passenger vehicles is (30/60/10). This equates to the following liability coverage:

  • $30,000 bodily injury liability (BIL) per person
  • $60,000 for two or more people in one accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) coverage

What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?

(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.

What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?

(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.

In addition to bodily injury liability insurance and property damage liability insurance a driver in Minnesota must hold the following:

Personal Injury Protection

Personal injury protection (PIP) pays for any medical expenses, lost wages, and any replacement services when a driver is involved in an accident. These expenses are paid regardles of who is at fault. This type of insurance coverage is also known as no-fault coverage. In Minnesota drivers have to have the following:

  • $40,000 per person per accident
  • $20,000 for medical expenses
  • $20,000 for non-medical expenses such as lost wages

Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Underinsured motorist coverage helps to pay for any medical claims in addition to those covered by personal injury protection. This type of insurance coverage only pays out in the event that the other motorist is at fault and does not hold the necessary amount of insurance to cover all expenses. In Minnesota drivers have to have the following:

  • $25,000 for injuries to one person
  • $50,000 for injuries to two or more people

Uninsured Motorist Coverage

Uninsured motorist coverage pays for medical expenses after your PIP benefits have ended if the other driver is responsible for the accident and has no insurance coverage. In Minnesota drivers have to have the following:

  • $25,000 for injuries to one person
  • $50,000 for injuries to two or more people

Top of page

 



FREE DUI / DWI Case evaluation & by local Minnesota Lawyer

Talk to an Minnesota drunk driving attorney and get the facts and evidence of your case reviewed for free - free Minnesota DUI lawyer consultation
FREE Minnesota Case Evaluation by Local Minnesota DWI DUI Lawyer / Drunk Driving Attorney
FREE DUI Minnesota Lawyer Drunk Driving Attorney Consultation - CALL TOLL FREE

OR


Protect your rights! Talk to a local DUI lawyer

Minnesota DUI cases tend to move quickly through the system, and there may be important deadlines that affect your right to assert certain defenses or call witnesses. It’s important that you understand the process your Minnesota drunk driving case will follow and the important requirements and deadlines before you take any action—but you can’t afford to delay.

Talk to a local Minnesota Drunk Driving Attorney as soon as possible to gather important information such as:

• What penalties do you face if convicted of DUI in Minnesota?
• What are the indirect penalties, such as increased insurance rates and diminished job opportunities in Minnesota?
• Does Minnesota have a mandatory ignition interlock device law?
• Was your breathalyzer or blood alcohol content (BAC) test properly administered in accordance with Minnesota laws and procedures ?
• When and how can you get your driver’s license reinstated in Minnesota?

It’s easy to make mistakes under pressure, so make sure that you have the information you need to make good, educated decisions during this process. Contact a local Minnesota criminal defense attorney specializing in Minnesota drunk driving laws today.

Top of page

Disclaimer: While every effort is made to keep all information up to date, the Minnesota drunk driving laws change frequently and the information provided on this web site should not be construed as legal advice, nor is it necessarily complete. Drinkdriving.org shall not be held responsible for any actions a person may take as a result of information gathered from this web site. Consultation with a local Minnesota DUI lawyer is recommended in all cases.

 

Useful Minnesota DUI Links:

DWI - DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in Minnesota

Minnesota Drivers Manual

Minnesota SR22 Insurance Requirement

Minnesota Department of Public Safety

Minnesota Department of Transportation

Minnesota Department of Insurance

Minnesota State Courts (Judicial Branch)

Minnesota DWI - DUI Lawyers

Minnesota DWI - DUI discussion forum

Top of page

 

Latest Minnesota DWI - DUI News

Winona Cop Gets Probation For DWI - CBS Local


Winona Cop Gets Probation For DWI
CBS Local
WINONA, Minn. (WCCO) ? A man who pleaded guilty to driving while intoxicated while serving as a Winona police officer will get one year of supervised probation and must pay a $1,000 fine. In November 2012, Officer Ryan Donald Walski arrived at Winona ...


Wed, 16 Jul 2014 21:41:57 GMT

KEYC - Mankato News, Weather, Sports - - 5324 DWI citations in Minnesota on ... - KEYC


KEYC - Mankato News, Weather, Sports - - 5324 DWI citations in Minnesota on ...
KEYC
Aside from fireworks burning up the night sky, this weekend is a big one for motorists as they burn fuel. And authorities saythey'ree ramping up patrols on roads as people head to their Fourth of July destinations. The Minnesota Department of Public ...
DPS: 4th of July is One of Deadliest Holidays on Minnesota RoadsKSTP.com
State: Alcohol a factor in more than half of holiday traffic deathsAustin Herald
Holiday Traffic EnforcementKAALtv.com

all 5 news articles »

Thu, 03 Jul 2014 21:01:06 GMT

County receives traffic safety award - La Crosse Tribune


County receives traffic safety award
La Crosse Tribune
McConkey serves as law enforcement liaison for the Minnesota Department of Public Safety's Office of Traffic Safety. He's also ... ?For (Houston County's) efforts in DWI, speed, seat belt, and aggressive and inattentive driving, they were selected for ...


Wed, 23 Jul 2014 22:08:46 GMT

Crime briefs from the UnionHerald for the week of July 18 - Coon Rapids Herald


Crime briefs from the UnionHerald for the week of July 18
Coon Rapids Herald
Defense counsel filed a motion requesting a downward departure from state sentencing guidelines, which call for prison time on a second felony DWI conviction. The court agreed to the motion, staying a 48-month prison term while placing McGill on ...


Tue, 22 Jul 2014 19:09:43 GMT

Minnesota man pleads guilty to numerous illegal hunting charges - East Grand Forks Exponent


Minnesota man pleads guilty to numerous illegal hunting charges
East Grand Forks Exponent
Keith R. Slick, 33, was sentenced July 9 in Lake of the Woods County Court on numerous counts including felony fleeing in a motor vehicle, gross misdemeanor second degree DWI, gross misdemeanor transporting a big game animal, lending/borrowing a ...


Wed, 23 Jul 2014 14:38:13 GMT

Top of page

Minnesota Cities
Albert Lea
Alexandria
Anoka
Austin
Bemidji
Bloomington
Brainerd
Buffalo
Burnsville
Caledonia
Cambridge
Chanhassen
Chaska
Cloquet
Crookston
Detroit Lakes
Duluth
Eagan
East Grand Forks
Eden Prairie
Edina
Elk River
Excelsior
Fairmont
Faribault
Fergus Falls
Forest Lake
Grand Rapids
Hastings
Hibbing
Hopkins
International Falls
Inver Grove Heights
Lake Elmo
Lakeville
Long Prairie
Mankato
Marshall
Minneapolis
Minnetonka
Monticello
Moorhead
Morris
Mound
New Ulm
Northfield
Osseo
Owatonna
Red Wing
Redwood Falls
Rochester
Saint Cloud
Saint Paul
Savage
Shakopee
South Saint Paul
St Paul
Stillwater
Thief RIver Falls
Virginia
Waconia
Wadena
Waseca
Wayzata
Willmar
Winona
Worthington
Minnesota Counties
Aitkin
Anoka
Becker
Beltrami
Benton
Big Stone
Blue Earth
Brown
Carlton
Carver
Cass
Chippewa
Chisago
Clay
Clearwater
Cook
Cottonwood
Crow Wing
Dakota
Dodge
Douglas
Faribault
Fillmore
Freeborn
Goodhue
Grant
Hennepin
Houston
Hubbard
Isanti
Itasca
Jackson
Kanabec
Kandiyohi
Kittson
Koochiching
Lac Qui Parle
Lake
Lake Of The Wood
Le Sueur
Lincoln
Lyon
Mahnomen
Marshall
Martin
McLeod
Meeker
Mille Lacs
Morrison
Mower
Murray
Nicollet
Nobles
Norman
Olmsted
Otter Tail
Pennington
Pine
Pipestone
Polk
Pope
Ramsey
Red Lake
Redwood
Renville
Rice
Rock
Roseau
Scott
Sherburne
Sibley
St Louis
Stearns
Steele
Stevens
Swift
Todd
Traverse
Wabasha
Wadena
Waseca
Washington
Watonwan
Wilkin
Winona
Wright
Yellow Medicine

Top of page

States/Abbreviations
AK Alaska LA Louisiana OH Ohio
AL Alabama MA Massachusetts OK Oklahoma
AR Arkansas MD Maryland OR Oregon
AZ Arizona ME Maine PA Pennsylvania
CA California MI Michigan RI Rhode Island
CO Colorado MN Minnesota SC South Carolina
CT Connecticut MO Missouri SD South Dakota
DE Delaware MS Mississippi TN Tennessee
FL Florida MT Montana TX Texas
GA Georgia NC North Carolina UT Utah
HI Hawaii ND North Dakota VT Vermont
IA Iowa NE Nebraska VA Virginia
ID Idaho NH New Hampshire WA Washington State
IL Illinois NJ New Jersey WI Wisconsin
IN Indiana NM New Mexico WV West Virginia
KS Kansas NV Nevada WY Wyoming
KY Kentucky NY New York DC Washington DC

USA DUI Home | DUI Forums | DUI Laws by State | Worldwide BAC Limits | Drunk Driving Blog
Alcohol Breathalyzers | DUI SR22 Insurance | DUI Lawyers | DUI Drunk Driving in the News | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

©2014 Drinkdriving.org