Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA BAC Calculator | DUI Forums Drink Driving in the UK Drink Driving in the UK
Cheap SR22 Insurance Quotes ENTER ZIP:
FREE LAWYER CONSULTATIONSR22 INSURANCE | DUI LAWYERS | DUI LAWS

Dont Drink and Drive!!

Breathalyzers for Sale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mississippi DUI Laws

Mississippi DUI Lawyers - Drunk Driving Attorneys

Mississippi
Mississippi

Mississippi DWI DUI Forum | SR22 Insurance Requirements

The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in Mississippi is 0.08% per se
(effective from July 1st 2002)

Cheap SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes for High Risk Drivers in Mississippi

Mississippi DUI Laws & BAC Limits | Mississippi DUI Penalties

Mississippi DUI SR22 Insurance

Mississippi Drunk Driving Statistics

Useful Mississippi DUI Links | Latest Mississippi DUI News


DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in other States


Mississippi Drunk Driving Laws

(If you’ve been charged with Mississippi DUI, the law allows 10 days for your Mississippi DUI Lawyer to make a request with the Mississippi Department of Public Safety for a hearing to save your driving license)

Mississippi is a member of the Interstate Drivers License Compact
An agreement between participating states to share information regarding certain types of convictions including DUI - DWI and related Drunk Driving offenses. If a resident of one state gets convicted of a drunk driving offense in another state, the driver's home state will be notified. The type of action that the driver's home state will take will vary from state to state.

Mississippi DUI Laws and BAC limits

ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
In the State of Mississippi it is crime for ANY driver to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.08% and above.

COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
It is a crime for commercial vehicle operators to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.04% or above.

MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
It is a crime for persons under 21 years of age to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.02% or above.

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Mississippi and implied consent laws are enforced.

!! CAUTION - Driving Ability Impaired !!

You can be prosecuted in Mississippi without driving while you are over the legal prescribed bac limit.

Under Mississippi law, it is unlawful to drive with a BAC limit above the per se laws OR to drive while impaired under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.

Under this law the prosecution must show that the driver was IMPAIRED by alcohol and/or drugs. The level of impairment is usually based on observations and evidence of driving ability (or rather inability), physical appearance, field sobriety tests and any other relevant evidence which can help prove a persons driving ability was indeed impaired. Different amounts of alcohol can affect people in different ways, what may impair one persons driving ability and make them feel drunk, might not necessarily impair another persons driving ability.

Observations from a law enforcement officer that may lead to being stopped and arrested include:

  • Making a turn too widely or narrowly
  • Using two lanes, straddling the center line
  • Almost hitting someone or something
  • Weaving or drifting from one side of the road to another
  • Driving too slowly and being overly cautious
  • Driving too close to vehicle in front
  • Driving ON the center lines
  • Erratic braking
  • Swerving to correct course of vehicle

You can be charged with an offence regardless of your BAC level, as long as impairment can be proved to the legal extent necessary.

A skilled drunk driving attorney can help you defend any charges against you

Mississippi BAC Calculator

BLOOD ALCOHOL CONTENT CALCULATOR
Calculate your BAC using our calculator, know your legal drunk driving limits and stay safe!!
BAC - Blood Alcohol Content Calculator

Top of page

 

Penalties for DUI - Drunk Driving in Mississippi

Mississippi is a state with a five-year ‘washout period’ also known as a 'look back period'.

NOTE: Out of State Convictions
Convictions in other states for violations of drunk driving laws WILL be counted as prior convictions for sentencing purposes under Mississippi state law.


First DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a first DUI - drunk driving conviction in Mississippi:

  • Fine: $250 to $1,000 fine
  • Jail: up to 48 hours in jail
  • License Suspension: 90 days to 1 year drivers license suspension (may be eligible for hardship driving privileges after first 30 days of suspension)
  • minimum 10 hours attendance to driver education program
  • Mississippi SR22 insurance requirement

Second DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a second DUI - drunk driving conviction in Mississippi:

  • Fine: $600 to $1,500 fine
  • Jail: 5 days to 1 year in jail
  • License Suspension: 2 years drivers license suspension (may be eligible for re-instatement of driving privileges after 1 year if court approved treatment program completed)
  • Ignition Interlock: minimum 6 months ignition interlock restriction upon license re-instatement
  • 10 days to 1 year community service work
  • impoundment and sale of vehicle OR ignition interlock restriction during period of suspension if other licensed drivers are dependent on the vehicle
  • alcohol/drug abuse assessment and treatment as required
  • Mississippi SR22 insurance requirement

Third (and subsequent) DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Felony

The penalty for a third (and subsequent) DUI - drunk driving conviction in Mississippi:

  • Fine: $2,000 to $5,000 fine
  • Jail: 1 to 5 years in jail
  • License Suspension: 5 years drivers license suspension (may be eligible for re-instatement of driving privileges after 3 years if court approved treatment program completed)
  • Ignition Interlock: minimum 6 months ignition interlock restriction upon license re-instatement
  • impoundment and sale of vehicle OR ignition interlock restriction during period of suspension if other licensed drivers are dependent on the vehicle
  • alcohol/drug abuse assessment and treatment as required
  • Mississippi SR22 insurance requirement

 

Implied consent LAWS

Implied Consent Chemical Testing

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Mississippi and implied consent laws are enforced.

Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in Mississippi

In Mississippi, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license will be suspended/revoked.

First chemical test refusal

Second chemical test refusal

Third (and subsequent) chemical test refusal

Top of page

 

 

Mississippi SR22 insurance (High RIsk Auto Insurance)

Compare Mississippi SR22 Auto Insurance Rates and Save $$$'s
Mississippi SR22 Insurance



Mississippi SR22 Insurance Quote Line - Toll Free


list of auto insurance companies we search to find you the best rate

Mississippi SR-22 auto insurance is usually required for a period of 3 years after a DUI - drunk driving - alcohol related driving conviction and can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider.  Some insurance companies will not even do an SR22 insurance filing. Get a FREE SR22 DUI auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for Mississippi auto insurance in a matter of minutes.

Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of Mississippi

The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of Mississippi for private passenger vehicles is (25/50/25). This equates to the following liability coverage:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability (BIL) per person
  • $50,000 for two or more people in one accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability (PDL) coverage

What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?

(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.

What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?

(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.

Top of page

 



Disclaimer: While every effort is made to keep all information up to date, the Mississippi drunk driving laws change frequently and the information provided on this web site should not be construed as legal advice, nor is it necessarily complete. Drinkdriving.org shall not be held responsible for any actions a person may take as a result of information gathered from this web site. Consultation with a local Mississippi DUI lawyer is recommended in all cases.

 

Useful Mississippi DUI Links:

DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in Mississippi

Mississippi Traffic Regulations

Mississippi SR22 Insurance Requirement

Mississippi Department of Public Safety

Mississippi Department of Transportation

Mississippi Department of Insurance

State of Mississippi Judiciary

Mississippi DUI Lawyers

Mississippi DUI discussion forum

Top of page

 

Latest Mississippi DUI News

This RSS feed URL is deprecated
This RSS feed URL is deprecated, please update. New URLs can be found in the footers at https://news.google.com/news
Wed, 26 Sep 2018 09:08:26 GMT

A Biloxi man was caught driving drunk 4 times. He killed someone's son the fifth time. - The Sun Herald


The Sun Herald

A Biloxi man was caught driving drunk 4 times. He killed someone's son the fifth time.
The Sun Herald
Assistant District Attorney Crosby Parker outlined Kennedy's previous DUI arrests: one in Jackson County, one in Gulfport and two in Louisiana from 2007-15. He also was convicted in 2014 of grand larceny in Jackson County but given a suspended sentence ...

and more »

Mon, 24 Sep 2018 20:47:53 GMT

Here's a list of the most wanted criminals in South Mississippi - The Sun Herald


The Sun Herald

Here's a list of the most wanted criminals in South Mississippi
The Sun Herald
Law enforcement agencies and Mississippi Coast Crime Stoppers have credited the series with encouraging people to call in tips that lead to arrests, and in some cases, qualify for rewards. One of ... Eric Christopher Rich, 40, wanted on a felony DUI ...


Mon, 24 Sep 2018 10:03:57 GMT

SEC fines Kentucky $100000 after fans stormed field following win over Mississippi State - NBCSports.com


NBCSports.com

SEC fines Kentucky $100000 after fans stormed field following win over Mississippi State
NBCSports.com
Last month, Louisville tight ends coach Chris Klenakis was arrested for DUI, reckless driving, felony wanton endangerment and possession of alcohol. He was pulled over at 1 a.m. after a Saturday during fall camp after he was spotted while driving ...

and more »

Tue, 25 Sep 2018 18:00:45 GMT

DUI case against Louisville TEs coach has been 'worked out' - NBC Sports - College Football (blog)


NBC Sports - College Football (blog)

DUI case against Louisville TEs coach has been 'worked out'
NBC Sports - College Football (blog)
Last month, Louisville tight ends coach Chris Klenakis was arrested for DUI, reckless driving, felony wanton endangerment and possession of alcohol. He was pulled .... 14 Mississippi State Saturday night, a win that pushed the now-No. 17 Wildcats to 2 ...
Kelly Bryant didn't practice. Here's why, and why a transfer from Clemson's an optionThe State

all 252 news articles »

Tue, 25 Sep 2018 22:01:00 GMT

Top of page

Mississippi Cities
Aberdeen
Amory
Batesville
Bay Saint Louis
Bay Springs
Biloxi
Booneville
Brandon
Brookhaven
Canton
Carthage
Clarksdale
Cleveland
Clinton
Collins
Columbia
Columbus
Corinth
Diamondhead
Eupora
Florence
Flowood
Forest
Greenville
Greenwood
Grenada
Gulfport
Hattiesburg
Hazlehurst
Hernando
Holly Springs
Indianola
Iuka
Jackson
Kosciusko
Laurel
Lexington
Long Beach
Louisville
Lucedale
Lyon
Madison
Magee
McComb
Mendenhall
Meridian
Monticello
Natchez
New Albany
Newton
Ocean Springs
Olive Branch
Oxford
Pascagoula
Pass Christian
Petal
Philadelphia
Picayune
Pontotoc
Poplarville
Port Gibson
Purvis
Raleigh
Ridgeland
Sardis
Senatobia
Southaven
Starkville
Tunica
Tupelo
Vicksburg
Waynesboro
West Point
Wiggins
Winona
Yazoo City
Mississippi Counties
Adams
Alcorn
Amite
Attala
Benton
Bolivar
Calhoun
Carroll
Chickasaw
Choctaw
Claiborne
Clarke
Clay
Coahoma
Copiah
Covington
De Soto
Forrest
Franklin
George
Greene
Grenada
Hancock
Harrison
Hinds
Holmes
Humphreys
Issaquena
Itawamba
Jackson
Jasper
Jefferson
Jefferson Davis
Jones
Kemper
Lafayette
Lamar
Lauderdale
Lawrence
Leake
Lee
Leflore
Lincoln
Lowndes
Madison
Marion
Marshall
Monroe
Montgomery
Neshoba
Newton
Noxubee
Oktibbeha
Panola
Pearl River
Perry
Pike
Pontotoc
Prentiss
Quitman
Rankin
Scott
Sharkey
Simpson
Smith
Stone
Sunflower
Tallahatchie
Tate
Tippah
Tishomingo
Tunica
Union
Walthall
Warren
Washington
Wayne
Webster
Wilkinson
Winston
Yalobusha
Yazoo

Top of page

States/Abbreviations
AK Alaska LA Louisiana OH Ohio
AL Alabama MA Massachusetts OK Oklahoma
AR Arkansas MD Maryland OR Oregon
AZ Arizona ME Maine PA Pennsylvania
CA California MI Michigan RI Rhode Island
CO Colorado MN Minnesota SC South Carolina
CT Connecticut MO Missouri SD South Dakota
DE Delaware MS Mississippi TN Tennessee
FL Florida MT Montana TX Texas
GA Georgia NC North Carolina UT Utah
HI Hawaii ND North Dakota VT Vermont
IA Iowa NE Nebraska VA Virginia
ID Idaho NH New Hampshire WA Washington State
IL Illinois NJ New Jersey WI Wisconsin
IN Indiana NM New Mexico WV West Virginia
KS Kansas NV Nevada WY Wyoming
KY Kentucky NY New York DC Washington DC

USA DUI Home | DUI Forums | DUI Laws by State | Worldwide BAC Limits | Alcohol Breathalyzers
DUI SR22 Insurance | DUI Lawyers | DUI Drunk Driving in the News | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

©2018 Drinkdriving.org