Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA BAC Calculator | DUI Forums Drink Driving in the UK Drink Driving in the UK
Cheap SR22 Insurance Quotes ENTER ZIP:
FREE LAWYER CONSULTATIONSR22 INSURANCE | DUI LAWYERS | DUI LAWS

Dont Drink and Drive!!

Breathalyzers for Sale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nevada DUI Laws

Nevada DUI Lawyers - Drunk Driving Attorneys

Nevada
Nevada

Nevada DUI Forum | SR22 Insurance Requirements

The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in Nevada is 0.08% per se
(effective from Sep 23rd 2003)

Cheap SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes for High Risk Drivers in Nevada

Nevada DUI Laws & BAC Limits | Nevada DUI Penalties

Nevada DUI SR22 Insurance

Nevada Drunk Driving Statistics

Useful Nevada DUI Links | Latest Nevada DUI News


DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in other States


Nevada Drunk Driving Laws

(If you’ve been charged with Nevada DUI, the law allows 7 days for your Nevada DUI Lawyer to make a request with the Nevada DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) for a hearing to save your driving license)

Nevada is a member of the Interstate Drivers License Compact
An agreement between participating states to share information regarding certain types of convictions including DUI - DWI and related Drunk Driving offenses. If a resident of one state gets convicted of a drunk driving offense in another state, the driver's home state will be notified. The type of action that the driver's home state will take will vary from state to state.

Nevada DUI Laws and BAC limits

ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
In the State of Nevada it is crime for ANY driver to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.08% and above.

COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.00% - ZERO TOLERANCE
It is a crime for commercial vehicle operators to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.00% or above.

MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
It is a crime for persons under 21 years of age to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.02% or above.

Refusing to submit to a chemical test in Nevada can help secure a DUI conviction and implied consent laws are enforced.

!! CAUTION - Driving Ability Impaired !!

You can be prosecuted in Nevada without driving while you are over the legal prescribed bac limit.

Under Nevada law, it is unlawful to drive with a BAC limit above the per se laws OR to drive while impaired under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.

Under this law the prosecution must show that the driver was IMPAIRED by alcohol and/or drugs. The level of impairment is usually based on observations and evidence of driving ability (or rather inability), physical appearance, field sobriety tests and any other relevant evidence which can help prove a persons driving ability was indeed impaired. Different amounts of alcohol can affect people in different ways, what may impair one persons driving ability and make them feel drunk, might not necessarily impair another persons driving ability.

Observations from a law enforcement officer that may lead to being stopped and arrested include:

  • Making a turn too widely or narrowly
  • Using two lanes, straddling the center line
  • Almost hitting someone or something
  • Weaving or drifting from one side of the road to another
  • Driving too slowly and being overly cautious
  • Driving too close to vehicle in front
  • Driving ON the center lines
  • Erratic braking
  • Swerving to correct course of vehicle

You can be charged with an offence regardless of your BAC level, as long as impairment can be proved to the legal extent necessary.

A skilled drunk driving attorney can help you defend any charges against you

Nevada BAC Calculator

BLOOD ALCOHOL CONTENT CALCULATOR
Calculate your BAC using our calculator, know your legal drunk driving limits and stay safe!!
BAC - Blood Alcohol Content Calculator

Top of page

 

Penalties for DUI - Drunk Driving in Nevada

Nevada is a state with a seven-year ‘washout period’ also known as a 'look back period'.


First DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a first DUI - drunk driving conviction in Nevada:

  • Fine: $400 to $1,000 fine + $35 civil penalty
  • Jail: 2 days to 6 months in jail; OR 48 - 96 hours community service in lieu of jail time
  • License Suspension: 90 days drivers license suspension (may be eligible for hardship ignition interlock restricted license after 45 days)
  • Ignition Interlock: possible 3 to 6 month ignition interlock restriction as a condition of license re-instatement (12 to 36 month if BAC 0.18 or more)
  • must attend substance abuse education course
  • attendance at victim impact panel
  • Nevada SR22 insurance requirement

Second DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a second DUI - drunk driving conviction in Nevada:

  • Fine: $750 to $1,000 fine + $35 civil penalty
    (possible community service in lieu of fine)
  • Jail: 10 days to 6 months in jail OR 10 days to 6 months residential confinement
  • Licence Revocation: 1 year drivers license revocation
  • Ignition Interlock: possible 3 to 6 month ignition interlock restriction as a condition of license re-instatement (12 to 36 month if BAC 0.18 or more)
  • must attend alcohol/drug abuse treatment program
  • motor vehicle registration suspension
  • attendance at victim impact panel
  • Nevada SR22 insurance requirement

Third DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Felony

The penalty for a third DUI - drunk driving conviction in Nevada:

  • Fine: $2,000 to $5,000 fine + $35 civil penalty
  • Jail: 1 to 6 years in state prison
  • License Revocation: 3 years drivers license revocation
  • Ignition Interlock: mandatory 12 to 36 months ignition interlock restriction as a condition of license re-instatement
  • motor vehicle registration suspension
  • attendance at victim impact panel
  • Nevada SR22 insurance requirement

FOURTH (and subsequent) DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Felony

The penalty for a third DUI - drunk driving conviction in Nevada:

  • Fine: $2,000 to $5,000 fine + $35 civil penalty
  • Jail: 2 to 15 years in state prison
    License Revocation: 3 years drivers license revocation
  • Ignition Interlock: mandatory 12 to 36 months ignition interlock restriction as a condition of license re-instatement
  • motor vehicle registration suspension
  • attendance at victim impact panel
  • Nevada SR22 insurance requirement

Top of page

 

 

Implied consent LAWS

Implied Consent Chemical Testing

refusing to submit to a chemical test in Nevada

If a person refuses to submit to a required test and the officer has reasonable grounds to believe the person was driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance, reasonable force may be used to the extent necessary to obtain a sample of blood.

Refusing a chemical test can be used as admissible evidence in any criminal or administrative actions and can help secure a conviction for DUI.
See here for DUI penalties

Top of page

 

Nevada SR22 insurance (High Risk auto Insurance)

Compare Nevada SR22 Auto Insurance Rates and Save $$$'s
Nevada SR22 Insurance



Nevada SR22 Insurance Quote Line - Toll Free


list of auto insurance companies we search to find you the best rate

Nevada SR-22 auto insurance is usually required for a period of 3 years after a DUI - drunk driving - alcohol related driving conviction and can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider.  Some insurance companies will not even do an SR22 insurance filing. Get a FREE SR22 DUI auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for Nevada auto insurance in a matter of minutes.

Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of Nevada

The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of Nevada for private passenger vehicles is (15/30/10). This equates to the following liability coverage:

  • $15,000 bodily injury liability (BIL) per person
  • $30,000 for two or more people in one accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) coverage

What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?

(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.

What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?

(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.

Top of page



Disclaimer: While every effort is made to keep all information up to date, the Nevada drunk driving laws change frequently and the information provided on this web site should not be construed as legal advice, nor is it necessarily complete. Drinkdriving.org shall not be held responsible for any actions a person may take as a result of information gathered from this web site. Consultation with a local Nevada DUI lawyer is recommended in all cases.

 

Useful Nevada DUI Links:

DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in Nevada

Nevada Drivers Manual

Nevada SR22 Insurance Requirement

Nevada DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles)

Nevada Department of Transport

Nevada Department of Insurance

Nevada Courts

Nevada DUI Lawyers

Nevada DUI discussion forum

Top of page

 

Latest Nevada DUI News

This RSS feed URL is deprecated
This RSS feed URL is deprecated, please update. New URLs can be found in the footers at https://news.google.com/news
Mon, 25 Jun 2018 07:39:04 GMT

Wolf Pack women's basketball player arrested for DUI - Reno Gazette Journal


Reno Gazette Journal

Wolf Pack women's basketball player arrested for DUI
Reno Gazette Journal
Janelle Sumilong, a 19-year-old member of the Nevada women's basketball team, was arrested early Monday morning on two misdemeanor charges, including driving under the influence. Sumilong was arrested by the Nevada Highway Patrol at 2:17 a.m. ...


Mon, 04 Jun 2018 15:03:07 GMT

Three killed, several injured in two overnight crashes on valley ... - News3LV


Las Vegas Review-Journal

Three killed, several injured in two overnight crashes on valley ...
News3LV
MONDAY UPDATE | The Clark County coroner has identified the three people killed in the Sunday morning crashes.Deborah Broderick, 51, was killed in front of ...
Pedestrian dead, man facing DUI charge after crash near StripLas Vegas Review-Journal

all 2 news articles »

Sun, 17 Jun 2018 18:06:42 GMT

Man held on suspicion of 4th DUI, says Carson City Sheriff's Office - Nevada Appeal


Nevada Appeal

Man held on suspicion of 4th DUI, says Carson City Sheriff's Office
Nevada Appeal
The Nevada Appeal only names people arrested on suspicion of felonies and violent crimes. Carson City Secret Witness will pay up to $2,500 for information leading to the arrest and conviction of individuals committing crimes. Anyone with information is ...


Fri, 22 Jun 2018 01:17:14 GMT

Man arrested in fatal crash near Strip works in family services - Las Vegas Review-Journal


Las Vegas Review-Journal

Man arrested in fatal crash near Strip works in family services
Las Vegas Review-Journal
The man arrested in a suspected DUI hit-and-run near the Las Vegas Strip works in the Clark County Department of Family Services. Anthony M. Rodriguez, 47, was arrested Sunday after he allegedly fled the scene of a deadly collision with a pedestrian.


Fri, 22 Jun 2018 00:13:31 GMT

Top of page

Nevada Cities
Carson City
Elko
Ely
Fallon
Gardnerville
Henderson
Incline Village
Las Vegas
Minden
North Las Vegas
Reno
Sparks
Stateline
Zephyr Cove
Nevada Counties
Carson City
Churchill
Clark
Douglas
Elko
Esmeralda
Eureka
Humboldt
Lander
Lincoln
Lyon
Mineral
Nye
Pershing
Storey
Washoe
White Pine

Top of page

States/Abbreviations
AK Alaska LA Louisiana OH Ohio
AL Alabama MA Massachusetts OK Oklahoma
AR Arkansas MD Maryland OR Oregon
AZ Arizona ME Maine PA Pennsylvania
CA California MI Michigan RI Rhode Island
CO Colorado MN Minnesota SC South Carolina
CT Connecticut MO Missouri SD South Dakota
DE Delaware MS Mississippi TN Tennessee
FL Florida MT Montana TX Texas
GA Georgia NC North Carolina UT Utah
HI Hawaii ND North Dakota VT Vermont
IA Iowa NE Nebraska VA Virginia
ID Idaho NH New Hampshire WA Washington State
IL Illinois NJ New Jersey WI Wisconsin
IN Indiana NM New Mexico WV West Virginia
KS Kansas NV Nevada WY Wyoming
KY Kentucky NY New York DC Washington DC

USA DUI Home | DUI Forums | DUI Laws by State | Worldwide BAC Limits | Alcohol Breathalyzers
DUI SR22 Insurance | DUI Lawyers | DUI Drunk Driving in the News | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

©2018 Drinkdriving.org