Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA BAC Calculator | DUI Forums Drink Driving in the UK Drink Driving in the UK
Cheap SR22 Insurance Quotes ENTER ZIP:
FREE LAWYER CONSULTATIONSR22 INSURANCE | DUI LAWYERS | DUI LAWS

Dont Drink and Drive!!

Breathalyzers for Sale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

New Hampshire DUI DWI Laws

New Hampshire DUI Lawyers - Drunk Driving Attorneys

New Hampshire
New Hampshire

New Hampshire DUI Forum | SR22 Insurance Requirements

The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in New Hampshire is 0.08% per se
(effective from Jan 1st 1994)

Cheap SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes for High Risk Drivers in New Hampshire

New Hampshire DUI Laws & BAC Limits | New Hampshire DUI Penalties

New Hampshire DUI SR22 Insurance

New Hampshire Drunk Driving Statistics

Useful New Hampshire DUI Links | Latest New Hampshire DUI News


DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in other States


New Hampshire Drunk Driving Laws

(If you’ve been charged with New Hampshire DUI DWI, the law allows 7 days for your New Hampshire DWI DUI Lawyer to make a request with the New Hampshire DMV (Division of Motor Vehicles) for a hearing to save your driving license)

New Hampshire is a member of the Interstate Drivers License Compact
An agreement between participating states to share information regarding certain types of convictions including DUI - DWI and related Drunk Driving offenses. If a resident of one state gets convicted of a drunk driving offense in another state, the driver's home state will be notified. The type of action that the driver's home state will take will vary from state to state.

New Hampshire DUI Laws and BAC limits

ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
In the State of New Hampshire it is crime for ANY driver to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.08% and above.

COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
It is a crime for commercial vehicle operators to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.04% or above.

MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
It is a crime for persons under 21 years of age to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.02% or above.

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in New Hampshire and implied consent laws are enforced.

!! CAUTION - Driving Ability Impaired !!

You can be prosecuted in New Hampshire without driving while you are over the legal prescribed bac limit.

Under New Hampshire law, it is unlawful to drive with a BAC limit above the per se laws OR to drive while impaired under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.

Under this law the prosecution must show that the driver was IMPAIRED by alcohol and/or drugs. The level of impairment is usually based on observations and evidence of driving ability (or rather inability), physical appearance, field sobriety tests and any other relevant evidence which can help prove a persons driving ability was indeed impaired. Different amounts of alcohol can affect people in different ways, what may impair one persons driving ability and make them feel drunk, might not necessarily impair another persons driving ability.

Observations from a law enforcement officer that may lead to being stopped and arrested include:

  • Making a turn too widely or narrowly
  • Using two lanes, straddling the center line
  • Almost hitting someone or something
  • Weaving or drifting from one side of the road to another
  • Driving too slowly and being overly cautious
  • Driving too close to vehicle in front
  • Driving ON the center lines
  • Erratic braking
  • Swerving to correct course of vehicle

You can be charged with an offence regardless of your BAC level, as long as impairment can be proved to the legal extent necessary.

A skilled drunk driving attorney can help you defend any charges against you

New Hampshire BAC Calculator

BLOOD ALCOHOL CONTENT CALCULATOR
Calculate your BAC using our calculator, know your legal drunk driving limits and stay safe!!
BAC - Blood Alcohol Content Calculator

Top of page

 

Penalties for DUI DWI - Drunk Driving in New Hampshire

New Hampshire is a state with a ten-year ‘washout period’ also known as a 'look back period'.

NOTE: Out of State Convictions
Prior drunk driving convictions in other states or jurisdictions that are reasonably equivalent to drunk driving offenses under New Hampshire state law will be classed as prior convictions for sentencing purposes.

INCREASED PENALTIES: Aggravating Factors
Any person convicted for any aggravated DWI offense will be subject to harsher penalties. Aggravating factors include:

1) Driving or operating at a speed of more than 30mph in excess of the prima facie limit
2) Causing a collision resulting in serious bodily injury
3) Attempting to elude pursuit by law enforcement officers
4) Carrying a passenger under the age of 16 years
5) DWI while having a BAC of 0.16 or more

NOTE: Probationary Drivers License
Any person convicted of DUI will be classed as an 'at risk' driver and will therefore be issued a probationary drivers license for a period of 5 years upon license re-instatement. The maximum BAC limit for probationary drivers is 0.03%.


First DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a first DWI - drunk driving conviction in New Hampshire:

  • Fine: not less than $500 fine
  • License Revocation: 9 months to 2 years drivers license revocation
  • must complete I.D.I.P (impaired driver intervention program) prior to restoration of license
  • Ignition Interlock: IF any aggravating factors are present an ignition interlock restriction upon license re-instatement for a period of not less than 12 months nor more than 2 years
  • possible attendance at drug and/or alcohol treatment/counseling program
  • New Hampshire SR22 insurance requirement

Second DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a second DWI - drunk driving conviction in New Hampshire:

  • Fine: not less than $750 fine
  • Jail: not less than 10 days days in jail
  • License Revocation: 3 years drivers license revocation
  • Ignition Interlock: ignition interlock restriction upon license re-instatement for a period of not less than 12 months nor more than 2 years
  • alcohol/drug abuse evaluation and treatment as instructed
  • must complete M.O.P (multiple DWI offender intervention detention center program ) prior to restoration of license
  • possible attendance at drug and/or alcohol treatment/counseling program
  • possible substance abuse monitoring (random urinalysis tests etc)
  • New Hampshire SR22 insurance requirement

Third DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Misdemeanor

The penalty for a third DWI - drunk driving conviction in New Hampshire:

  • Fine: not less than $750 fine
  • Jail: not less than 180 days days in jail
  • License Revocation: indefinite license revocation (may petition court for eligibility to apply for drivers license after 5 years)
  • Ignition Interlock: ignition interlock restriction upon license re-instatement for a period of not less than 12 months nor more than 2 years
  • alcohol/drug abuse evaluation and treatment as instructed
  • at least 28 days in a residential treatment program facility or intensive substance abuse treatment course
  • possible substance abuse monitoring (random urinalysis tests etc)
  • New Hampshire SR22 insurance requirement

Fourth (and subsequent) DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Misdemeanor

The penalty for a third DWI - drunk driving conviction in New Hampshire:

  • Fine: not less than $750 fine
  • Jail: minimum mandatory 180 days days in jail
  • License Revocation: indefinite license revocation (may petition court for eligibility to apply for drivers license after 7 years)
  • Ignition Interlock: ignition interlock restriction upon license re-instatement for a period of not less than 12 months nor more than 2 years
  • alcohol/drug abuse evaluation and treatment as instructed
  • at least 28 days in a residential treatment program facility or intensive substance abuse treatment course
  • possible substance abuse monitoring (random urinalysis tests etc)
  • New Hampshire SR22 insurance requirement

Top of page

 

Implied consent LAWS

Implied Consent Chemical Testing

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in New Hampshire and implied consent laws are enforced.

Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in New Hampshire

In New Hampshire, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license will be suspended/revoked.

First chemical test refusal

Second (and subsequent) chemical test refusal

Top of page

 

 

New Hampshire SR22 insurance (High Risk auto Insurance)

Compare New Hampshire SR22 Auto Insurance Rates and Save $$$'s
New Hampshire SR22 Insurance



New Hampshire SR22 Insurance Quote Line - Toll Free


list of auto insurance companies we search to find you the best rate

New Hampshire SR-22 auto insurance is usually required for a period of 3 years after a DUI - DWI - drunk driving - alcohol related driving conviction (5 years if it is a second offense) and can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider.  Some insurance companies will not even do an SR22 insurance filing. Get a FREE SR22 DUI auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for New Hampshire auto insurance in a matter of minutes.

Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of New Hampshire

The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of New Hampshire for private passenger vehicles is (25/50/25). This equates to the following liability coverage:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability (BIL) per person
  • $50,000 for two or more people in one accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability (PDL) coverage

What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?

(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.

What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?

(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.

Top of page



Disclaimer: While every effort is made to keep all information up to date, the New Hampshire drunk driving laws change frequently and the information provided on this web site should not be construed as legal advice, nor is it necessarily complete. Drinkdriving.org shall not be held responsible for any actions a person may take as a result of information gathered from this web site. Consultation with a local New Hampshire DUI lawyer is recommended in all cases.

 

Useful New Hampshire DUI Links:

DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in New Hampshire

New Hampshire Drivers Manual

New Hampshire SR22 Insurance Requirement

New Hampshire DMV (Division of Motor Vehicles)

New Hampshire Department of Transport

New Hampshire Department of Insurance

New Hampshire Courts (Judicial Branch)

New Hampshire DUI Lawyers

New Hampshire DUI discussion forum

Top of page

 

Latest New Hampshire DUI DWI News

This RSS feed URL is deprecated
This RSS feed URL is deprecated, please update. New URLs can be found in the footers at https://news.google.com/news
Wed, 26 Sep 2018 09:30:55 GMT

Confused driver charged with third DUI - The Salem News


Confused driver charged with third DUI
The Salem News
DANVERS ? A New Hampshire man who thought he was in his home state when police pulled him over early Sunday morning pleaded not guilty to his third drunken driving charge Monday. David Weeks, 52, of Sanbornville was stopped as he pulled out of a ...


Mon, 24 Sep 2018 20:50:42 GMT

Serious injury crash in NH results in man's 3rd DUI charge since April - Boston News, Weather, Sports | WHDH 7News


Boston News, Weather, Sports | WHDH 7News

Serious injury crash in NH results in man's 3rd DUI charge since April
Boston News, Weather, Sports | WHDH 7News
CONCORD, N.H. (WHDH) - A violent car crash in Concord, New Hampshire Monday night led to a 37-year-old man being arrested on his third drunken driving charge since April. Emergency crews responding to a motor vehicle crash in the area of 199 East ...

and more »

Wed, 29 Aug 2018 17:13:43 GMT

Manchester man charged with 4th DUI after Bridge St. rollover - The Union Leader


The Union Leader

Manchester man charged with 4th DUI after Bridge St. rollover
The Union Leader
MANCHESTER - A city man with a history of drunk driving was arrested on multiple charges after a rollover crash on a Bridge Street lawn, police said Monday. Mark Belair, 54, was taken into custody after crashing near the intersection of Bridge and ...


Mon, 27 Aug 2018 18:56:57 GMT

23-year-old injured, arrested for DUI in Pelham, NH car accident - Boston 25 News


23-year-old injured, arrested for DUI in Pelham, NH car accident
Boston 25 News
PELHAM, N.H. - A man was injured and arrested for driving under the influence after a car accident in Pelham, New Hampshire. Pelham Police said the 23-year-old was involved in a single-car crash on Sherburne Road on Friday night.


Sun, 02 Sep 2018 12:46:51 GMT

Top of page

New Hampshire Cities
Amherst
Bedford
Berlin
Claremont
Concord
Conway
Derry
Dover
East Kingston
Exeter
Hampton
Hanover
Hillsboro
Jaffrey
Keene
Laconia
Lebanon
Littleton
Londonderry
Manchester
Meredith
Merrimack
Milford
Nashua
New London
Newport
North Conway
North Hampton
Ossipee
Pelham
Peterborough
Plaistow
Plymouth
Portsmouth
Rochester
Salem
Stratham
Wolfeboro
Woodsville
New Hampshire Counties
Belknap
Carroll
Cheshire
Coos
Grafton
Hillsborough
Merrimack
Rockingham
Strafford
Sullivan

Top of page

States/Abbreviations
AK Alaska LA Louisiana OH Ohio
AL Alabama MA Massachusetts OK Oklahoma
AR Arkansas MD Maryland OR Oregon
AZ Arizona ME Maine PA Pennsylvania
CA California MI Michigan RI Rhode Island
CO Colorado MN Minnesota SC South Carolina
CT Connecticut MO Missouri SD South Dakota
DE Delaware MS Mississippi TN Tennessee
FL Florida MT Montana TX Texas
GA Georgia NC North Carolina UT Utah
HI Hawaii ND North Dakota VT Vermont
IA Iowa NE Nebraska VA Virginia
ID Idaho NH New Hampshire WA Washington State
IL Illinois NJ New Jersey WI Wisconsin
IN Indiana NM New Mexico WV West Virginia
KS Kansas NV Nevada WY Wyoming
KY Kentucky NY New York DC Washington DC

USA DUI Home | DUI Forums | DUI Laws by State | Worldwide BAC Limits | Alcohol Breathalyzers
DUI SR22 Insurance | DUI Lawyers | DUI Drunk Driving in the News | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

©2018 Drinkdriving.org