Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA BAC Calculator | DUI Forums Drink Driving in the UK Drink Driving in the UK
Cheap SR22 Insurance Quotes ENTER ZIP:
FREE LAWYER CONSULTATIONSR22 INSURANCE | DUI LAWYERS | DUI LAWS

Dont Drink and Drive!!

Breathalyzers for Sale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

New Mexico DWI DUI Laws

New Mexico DWI Lawyers - Drunk Driving Attorneys

New Mexico
New Mexico

New Mexico DWI DUI Forum | SR22 Insurance Requirements

The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in New Mexico is 0.08% per se
(effective from Jan 1st 1994)

Cheap SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes for High Risk Drivers in New Mexico

New Mexico DUI Laws & BAC Limits | New Mexico DUI Penalties

New Mexico DUI SR22 Insurance

New Mexico Drunk Driving Statistics

Useful New Mexico DUI Links | Latest New Mexico DUI News


DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in other States


New Mexico Drunk Driving Laws

(If you’ve been charged with New Mexico DWI, the law allows only 10 days for your New Mexico DWI Lawyer to make a request with the New Mexico MVD (Motor Vehicle Division) for a hearing to save your driving license)

New Mexico is a member of the Interstate Drivers License Compact
An agreement between participating states to share information regarding certain types of convictions including DUI - DWI and related Drunk Driving offenses. If a resident of one state gets convicted of a drunk driving offense in another state, the driver's home state will be notified. The type of action that the driver's home state will take will vary from state to state.

New Mexico DWI Laws and BAC limits

ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
In the State of New Mexico it is crime for ANY driver to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.08% and above.

COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
It is a crime for commercial vehicle operators to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.04% or above.

MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
It is a crime for persons under 21 years of age to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.02% or above.

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in New Mexico and implied consent laws are enforced.

!! CAUTION - Driving Ability Impaired !!

You can be prosecuted in New Mexico without driving while you are over the legal prescribed bac limit.

Under New Mexico law, it is unlawful to drive with a BAC limit above the per se laws OR to drive while impaired under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.

Under this law the prosecution must show that the driver was IMPAIRED by alcohol and/or drugs. The level of impairment is usually based on observations and evidence of driving ability (or rather inability), physical appearance, field sobriety tests and any other relevant evidence which can help prove a persons driving ability was indeed impaired. Different amounts of alcohol can affect people in different ways, what may impair one persons driving ability and make them feel drunk, might not necessarily impair another persons driving ability.

Observations from a law enforcement officer that may lead to being stopped and arrested include:

  • Making a turn too widely or narrowly
  • Using two lanes, straddling the center line
  • Almost hitting someone or something
  • Weaving or drifting from one side of the road to another
  • Driving too slowly and being overly cautious
  • Driving too close to vehicle in front
  • Driving ON the center lines
  • Erratic braking
  • Swerving to correct course of vehicle

You can be charged with an offence regardless of your BAC level, as long as impairment can be proved to the legal extent necessary.

A skilled drunk driving attorney can help you defend any charges against you

New Mexico BAC Calculator

BLOOD ALCOHOL CONTENT CALCULATOR
Calculate your BAC using our calculator, know your legal drunk driving limits and stay safe!!
BAC - Blood Alcohol Content Calculator

Top of page

 

Penalties for DWI - Drunk Driving in New Mexico

New Mexico is a state with a ten-year ‘washout period’ also known as a 'look back period'.

NOTE: Out of State Convictions
Any conviction in any other state or jurisdiction that is equivalent to a conviction under New Mexico law for driving under the influence will be classed as a prior conviction.


First DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a first DWI - drunk driving conviction in New Mexico:

  • Fine: up to $500 fine
  • Jail: up to 90 days in jail
  • License Revocation: 6 months to 1 year drivers license revocation
  • Ignition Interlock: 1 year ignition interlock restriction
  • not less than 24 hours community service
  • alcohol abuse screening & treatment programs as required
  • must attend DWI school

Second DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a second DWI - drunk driving conviction in New Mexico:

  • Fine: $500 to $1,000 fine
  • Jail: up to 364 days in jail (96 hours mandatory minimum)
  • License Revocation: 2 years drivers license revocation
  • Ignition Interlock: 2 years ignition interlock restriction
  • not less than 48 hours community service
  • alcohol abuse screening &treatment programs as required
  • up to 5 years probation

Third DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Misdemeanor

The penalty for a third DWI - drunk driving conviction in New Mexico:

  • Fine: $750 to $1,000 fine
  • Jail: up to 364 days in jail (30 days mandatory minimum)
  • License Revocation: 3 years drivers license revocation
  • Ignition Interlock: 3 years ignition interlock restriction
  • not less than 96 hours community service
  • alcohol abuse screening &treatment programs as required
  • up to 5 years probation

Fourth DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - 4th degree Felony

The penalty for a fourth DWI - drunk driving conviction in New Mexico:

  • Fine: up to $5,000 fine
  • Jail: up to 18 months in jail (6 months mandatory minimum)
  • License Revocation: lifetime drivers license revocation (reviewed after 5 years)
  • Ignition Interlock: lifetime ignition interlock restriction (reviewed after 5 years)
  • alcohol abuse screening &treatment programs as required

Fifth DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - 4th Degree Felony

The penalty for a fifth DWI - drunk driving conviction in New Mexico:

  • Fine: up to $5,000 fine
  • Jail: up to 2 years in jail (1 year mandatory minimum)
  • License Revocation: lifetime drivers license revocation (reviewed after 5 years)
  • Ignition Interlock: lifetime ignition interlock restriction (reviewed after 5 years)
  • alcohol abuse screening & treatment programs as required

Sixth DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - 3rd degree Felony

The penalty for a sixth DWI - drunk driving conviction in New Mexico:

  • Fine: up to $5,000 fine
  • Jail: up to 30 months in jail (18 months mandatory minimum)
  • License Revocation:lifetime drivers license revocation (reviewed after 5 years)
  • Ignition Interlock: lifetime ignition interlock restriction (reviewed after 5 years)
  • alcohol abuse screening & treatment programs as required

SEventh (and subsequent) DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Felony

The penalty for a sixth DWI - drunk driving conviction in New Mexico:

  • Fine: up to $5,000 fine
  • Jail: up to 3 years in jail (2 years mandatory minimum)
  • License Revocation: lifetime drivers license revocation (reviewed after 5 years)
  • Ignition Interlock: lifetime ignition interlock restriction (reviewed after 5 years)
  • alcohol abuse screening & treatment programs as required

Top of page

 

 

Implied consent LAWS

Implied Consent Chemical Testing

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in New Mexico and implied consent laws are enforced.

Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in New Mexico

In New Mexico, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license can be suspended/revoked.

Chemical test refusal penalty

  • License Revocation: 1 year drivers license revocation (or until all conditions of license re-instatement are met, whichever is later)

If a person refuses to submit to a chemical test they can also be charged with aggravated DWI.

Top of page

 

 

New Mexico SR22 insurance (High Risk auto Insurance)

Compare New Mexico SR22 Auto Insurance Rates and Save $$$'s
New Mexico SR22 Insurance



New Mexico SR22 Insurance Quote Line - Toll Free


list of auto insurance companies we search to find you the best rate

Although SR22 insurance is not required in the state of New Mexico after an alcohol related driving conviction, it will save you money to shop around for auto insurance after a DWI DUI - drunk driving conviction regardless. Auto insurance can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider. Get a FREE auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for New Mexico auto insurance in a matter of minutes. Although SR22 insurance is not required in the state of New Mexico after an alcohol related driving offense, if you have an SR22 insurance requirement and you move to the state of New Mexico, you will still need to meet the SR22 insurance requirements in the state where the offense was committed.

Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of New Mexico

The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of New Mexico for private passenger vehicles is (20/50/10). This equates to the following liability coverage:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability (BIL) per person
  • $50,000 for two or more people in one accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) coverage

What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?

(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.

What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?

(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.

Top of page



Disclaimer: While every effort is made to keep all information up to date, the New Mexico drunk driving laws change frequently and the information provided on this web site should not be construed as legal advice, nor is it necessarily complete. Drinkdriving.org shall not be held responsible for any actions a person may take as a result of information gathered from this web site. Consultation with a local New Mexico DUI lawyer is recommended in all cases.

 

Useful New Mexico DWI Links:

DWI - Drunk Driving Laws in New Mexico

New Mexico Drivers Manual

New Mexico SR22 Insurance Requirement

New Mexico MVD (Motor Vehicle Division)

New Mexico Department of Transport

New Mexico Department of Insurance

New Mexico Courts (Judicial Branch)

New Mexico DWI - DUI Lawyers

New Mexico DWI - DUI discussion forum

Top of page

 

Latest New Mexico DWI News

This RSS feed URL is deprecated
This RSS feed URL is deprecated, please update. New URLs can be found in the footers at https://news.google.com/news
Mon, 25 Jun 2018 07:39:40 GMT

Governor Announces New Ad To Combat DWI - Los Alamos Daily Post


Governor Announces New Ad To Combat DWI
Los Alamos Daily Post
?As New Mexicans, we need to end this menace. New Mexico law enforcement is doing their part preventing drunks from driving on roadways, boating on our lakes, traveling to campsites, or off-roading in all-terrain vehicles. They are making arrests ...


Sat, 23 Jun 2018 11:30:48 GMT

DWI New Mexico - El Defensor Chieftain


El Defensor Chieftain

DWI New Mexico
El Defensor Chieftain
DWI New Mexico. State Rep. Monica Youngblood, left, and Ryan Flynn, right. Jun 17, 2018 Updated Jun 17, 2018; (0) · Facebook · Twitter · Email; Print; Save. DWI New Mexico. State Rep. Monica Youngblood, left, and Ryan Flynn, right.


Sun, 17 Jun 2018 13:03:00 GMT

High-profile DWI cases spotlight complicated world of legal conflicts - New Mexico In Depth


New Mexico In Depth

High-profile DWI cases spotlight complicated world of legal conflicts
New Mexico In Depth
A year to the day earlier, on May 20, 2017, the veteran DWI officer arrested one of the state's most influential political insiders, former Martinez Environment Department secretary and current New Mexico Oil and Gas Association President Ryan Flynn ...


Mon, 11 Jun 2018 23:00:10 GMT

Santa Fe woman charged with DWI, crashing car with child inside - Santa Fe New Mexican


Santa Fe New Mexican

Santa Fe woman charged with DWI, crashing car with child inside
Santa Fe New Mexican
Ortiz's daughter was taken to her grandparents' home, Strahon said, adding that police made a referral of the case to the New Mexico Children, Youth, and Families Department. The criminal complaint said officers at the scene thought Ortiz smelled ...


Sat, 23 Jun 2018 02:10:55 GMT

Top of page

New Mexico Cities
Alamogordo
Albuquerque
Anthony
Artesia
Belen
Carlsbad
Clovis
Corrales
Deming
Espanola
Farmington
Gallup
Grants
Hobbs
Las Cruces
Las Vegas
Los Alamos
Los Lunas
Lovington
Raton
Rio Rancho
Roswell
Ruidoso
Santa Fe
Silver City
Socorro
Taos
Truth or Consequences
Tucumcari
New Mexico Counties
Bernalillo
Catron
Chaves
Cibola
Colfax
Curry
De Baca
Dona Ana
Eddy
Grant
Guadalupe
Harding
Hidalgo
Lea
Lincoln
Los Alamos
Luna
McKinley
Mora
Otero
Quay
Rio Arriba
Roosevelt
San Juan
San Miguel
Sandoval
Santa Fe
Sierra
Socorro
Taos
Torrance
Union
Valencia

Top of page

States/Abbreviations
AK Alaska LA Louisiana OH Ohio
AL Alabama MA Massachusetts OK Oklahoma
AR Arkansas MD Maryland OR Oregon
AZ Arizona ME Maine PA Pennsylvania
CA California MI Michigan RI Rhode Island
CO Colorado MN Minnesota SC South Carolina
CT Connecticut MO Missouri SD South Dakota
DE Delaware MS Mississippi TN Tennessee
FL Florida MT Montana TX Texas
GA Georgia NC North Carolina UT Utah
HI Hawaii ND North Dakota VT Vermont
IA Iowa NE Nebraska VA Virginia
ID Idaho NH New Hampshire WA Washington State
IL Illinois NJ New Jersey WI Wisconsin
IN Indiana NM New Mexico WV West Virginia
KS Kansas NV Nevada WY Wyoming
KY Kentucky NY New York DC Washington DC

USA DUI Home | DUI Forums | DUI Laws by State | Worldwide BAC Limits | Alcohol Breathalyzers
DUI SR22 Insurance | DUI Lawyers | DUI Drunk Driving in the News | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

©2018 Drinkdriving.org