Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA BAC Calculator | DUI Forums Drink Driving in the UK Drink Driving in the UK
Cheap SR22 Insurance Quotes ENTER ZIP:
FREE LAWYER CONSULTATIONSR22 INSURANCE | DUI LAWYERS | DUI LAWS

Dont Drink and Drive!!

Breathalyzers for Sale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

North Carolina DWI DUI Laws

North Carolina DWI Lawyers - Drunk Driving Attorneys

North Carolina
North Carolina

North Carolina DWI DUI Forum | SR22 Insurance Requirements

The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in North Carolina is 0.08% per se
(effective from Oct 1st 1993)

Cheap SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes for High Risk Drivers in North Carolina

North Carolina DUI Laws & BAC Limits | North Carolina DUI Penalties

North Carolina DUI SR22 Insurance

North Carolina Drunk Driving Statistics

Useful North Carolina DUI Links | Latest North Carolina DUI News


DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in other States


North Carolina Drunk Driving Laws

(If you’ve been charged with North Carolina DWI, the law allows only 10 days for your North Carolina DUI DWI Lawyer to make a request with the North Carolina DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) for a hearing to save your driving license)

North Carolina is a member of the Interstate Drivers License Compact
An agreement between participating states to share information regarding certain types of convictions including DUI - DWI and related Drunk Driving offenses. If a resident of one state gets convicted of a drunk driving offense in another state, the driver's home state will be notified. The type of action that the driver's home state will take will vary from state to state.

North Carolina DWI Laws and BAC limits

ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
In the State of North Carolina it is crime for ANY driver to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.08% and above.

COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
It is a crime for commercial vehicle operators to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.04% or above.

MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.00% - ZERO TOLERANCE
It is a crime for persons under 21 years of age to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.00% or above.

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in North Carolina and implied consent laws are enforced.

!! CAUTION - Driving Ability Impaired !!

You can be prosecuted in North Carolina without driving while you are over the legal prescribed bac limit.

Under North Carolina law, it is unlawful to drive with a BAC limit above the per se laws OR to drive while impaired under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.

Under this law the prosecution must show that the driver was IMPAIRED by alcohol and/or drugs. The level of impairment is usually based on observations and evidence of driving ability (or rather inability), physical appearance, field sobriety tests and any other relevant evidence which can help prove a persons driving ability was indeed impaired. Different amounts of alcohol can affect people in different ways, what may impair one persons driving ability and make them feel drunk, might not necessarily impair another persons driving ability.

Observations from a law enforcement officer that may lead to being stopped and arrested include:

  • Making a turn too widely or narrowly
  • Using two lanes, straddling the center line
  • Almost hitting someone or something
  • Weaving or drifting from one side of the road to another
  • Driving too slowly and being overly cautious
  • Driving too close to vehicle in front
  • Driving ON the center lines
  • Erratic braking
  • Swerving to correct course of vehicle

You can be charged with an offence regardless of your BAC level, as long as impairment can be proved to the legal extent necessary.

A skilled drunk driving attorney can help you defend any charges against you

North Carolina BAC Calculator

BLOOD ALCOHOL CONTENT CALCULATOR
Calculate your BAC using our calculator, know your legal drunk driving limits and stay safe!!
BAC - Blood Alcohol Content Calculator

Top of page

 

Penalties for DWI - Drunk Driving in North Carolina

North Carolina is a state with a ten-year ‘washout period’ also known as a 'look back period'.

NOTE: BAC Restrictions for DWI offenders
An alcohol concentration restriction will be required when a license is restored following a revocation for DWI or when a limited driving privilege is issued following a DWI conviction. On the first restoration, the alcohol concentration restriction will be 0.04. On a second or subsequent restoration, the alcohol concentration restriction will be 0.00.


First DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a first DWI - drunk driving conviction in North Carolina:

Fines, jail and other penalties depend on aggravating and mitigating circumstances


Second DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a second DWI - drunk driving conviction in North Carolina:

Fines, jail and other penalties depend on aggravating and mitigating circumstances


Third DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Class F Felony

The penalty for a third DWI - drunk driving conviction in North Carolina:

Fines, jail and other penalties depend on aggravating and mitigating circumstances


Fourth DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Class F Felony

The penalty for a fourth DWI - drunk driving conviction in North Carolina:

Fines, jail and other penalties depend on aggravating and mitigating circumstances


 

SENTENCE DEPENDING ON AGGRAVATING AND MITIGATING FACTORS

FACTORS SURROUNDING A DWI CASE

IF 2 or more grossly aggravating factors apply
a level 1 punishment will be imposed

IF 1 grossly aggravating factors apply
a level 2 punishment will be imposed

in all other cases

IF the aggravating factors substantially outweigh any mitigating factors then
a level 3 punishment will be imposed

IF the aggravating factors are counterbalanced by mitigating factors
a level 4 punishment will be imposed

IF mitigating factors substantially outweigh any aggravating factors
a level 5 punishment will be imposed

LEVEL ONE PUNISHMENT
  • Fine: up to $4,000 fine
  • Jail: 30 days to 24 months imprisonment
  • substance abuse assessment and education or treatment as required
  • possible continuous alcohol monitoring and abstinence for 30 to 60 days
LEVEL TWO PUNISHMENT
  • Fine: up to $2,000 fine
  • Jail: 7 days to 24 months imprisonment
  • substance abuse assessment and education or treatment as required
  • possible continuous alcohol monitoring and abstinence for 30 to 60 days
LEVEL THREE PUNISHMENT
  • Fine: up to $1,000 fine
  • Jail: 72 hours to 6 months imprisonment
  • 72 hours of community service possible
  • substance abuse assessment and education or treatment as required
LEVEL FOUR PUNISHMENT
  • Fine: up to $500 fine
  • Jail: 48 hours to 120 days imprisonment
  • 48 hours of community service possible
  • substance abuse assessment and education or treatment as required
LEVEL FIVE PUNISHMENT
  • Fine: up to $200 fine
  • Jail: 24 hours to 60 days imprisonment
  • 24 hours of community service possible
  • substance abuse assessment and education or treatment as required

Grossly Aggravating Factors surrounding DWI cases INCLUDE

The following will be classed as grossly aggravating factors:

  1. A prior conviction for an offense involving impaired driving if:

    1. the conviction occurred within 7 years of the offense for which the defendant is being sentenced
    2. the conviction occurs after the date of the offense for which the defendant is currently being sentence
  2. Each prior DWI conviction is classed as a separate grossly aggravating factor

  3. A DWI offense committed while the defendants drivers license was currently revoked

  4. A DWI offense resulting in serious injury caused to another person as a result of the defendant's impaired driving

  5. A DWI offense committed while a child under the age of 16 years was in the vehicle

Aggravating Factors surrounding DWI cases INCLUDE

The following will be classed as aggravating factors:

  1. A high BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of 0.15 or more

  2. Reckless or dangerous driving

  3. Negligent driving that led to a reportable accident

  4. Driving while drivers license was revoked

  5. One or more prior DWI convictions that occurred more than 7 years before the date of the current offense

  6. Two or more convictions for a motor vehicle offense for which 3 points were assigned or license was subject to revocation

  7. Any other factors that aggravates the seriousness of the offense

Mitigating Factors surrounding DWI cases INCLUDE

The following will be classed as mitigating factors:

  1. A BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of 0.09 or less

  2. Safe and lawful driving at time of offense except for the impairment of the defendants faculties

  3. A safe driving record, no convictions within 5 years for any driving offense that results in 4 points being assigned or for which a revocation was imposed

  4. Impairment caused primarily by a lawfully prescribed drug for an existing medical condition

  5. Voluntary submission to a mental health facility for assessment after defendant was charged with the DWI offense

  6. Completion of a substance abuse assessment and maintaining 60 days of continuous abstinence from alcohol as proven by a monitoring system approved by the Department of Correction

  7. Any other factors that mitigate the seriousness of the offense

Top of page

 

Implied consent LAWS

Implied Consent Chemical Testing

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in North Carolina and implied consent laws are enforced.

Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in North Carolina

In North Carolina, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license will be suspended/revoked.

Chemical Test Refusal

  • License Revocation: 1 year license revocation

The fact a person refused to submit to a chemical test will be admissible in evidence in a court of law at any subsequent trial for DWI and will be used to help secure a DWI conviction.

Top of page

 

 

North Carolina SR22 insurance (High Risk auto Insurance)

Compare North Carolina SR22 Auto Insurance Rates and Save $$$'s
North Carolina SR22 Insurance



North Carolina SR22 Insurance Quote Line - Toll Free


list of auto insurance companies we search to find you the best rate

Although SR22 insurance is not required in the state of North Carolina after an alcohol related driving conviction, it will save you money to shop around for auto insurance after a DWI DUI - drunk driving conviction regardless. Auto insurance can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider. Get a FREE auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for North Carolina auto insurance in a matter of minutes.

Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of North Carolina

The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of North Carolina for private passenger vehicles is (30/60/25). This equates to the following liability coverage:

  • $30,000 bodily injury liability (BIL) per person
  • $60,000 for two or more people in one accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability (PDL) coverage

What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?

(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.

What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?

(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.

Top of page

 



Disclaimer: While every effort is made to keep all information up to date, the North Carolina drunk driving laws change frequently and the information provided on this web site should not be construed as legal advice, nor is it necessarily complete. Drinkdriving.org shall not be held responsible for any actions a person may take as a result of information gathered from this web site. Consultation with a local North Carolina DUI lawyer is recommended in all cases.

 

Useful North Carolina DWI Links:

DWI - Drunk Driving Laws in North Carolina

North Carolina Drivers Handbook

North Carolina SR22 Insurance Requirement

North Carolina DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles)

North Carolina Department of Transport

North Carolina Department of Insurance

North Carolina Court System

North Carolina DWI - DUI Lawyers

North Carolina DWI - DUI discussion forum

Top of page

 

Latest North Carolina DWI News

This RSS feed URL is deprecated
This RSS feed URL is deprecated, please update. New URLs can be found in the footers at https://news.google.com/news
Mon, 25 Jun 2018 07:13:48 GMT

Man charged with DWI in North Carolina crash that killed 10-year-old girl - myfox8.com


myfox8.com

Man charged with DWI in North Carolina crash that killed 10-year-old girl
myfox8.com
FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. ? Authorities say the driver in a North Carolina crash that claimed the life of a 10-year-old girl has been charged with driving while impaired. WTVD reported that Christopher James Bell, 34, of Fayetteville, was also charged with ...
Driver in Fayetteville crash that killed 10-year-old charged with DWIWTVD-TV
Suspected DWI driver charged in Fayetteville crash that killed 10-year-old girlWRAL.com
Girl, 10, killed in crash; driver charged with felony death by motor vehicle, DWIThe Fayetteville Observer
Island Packet -CBS17.com -The Fayetteville Observer -Cumberland County Sheriffs Office
all 30 news articles »

Sat, 23 Jun 2018 21:21:00 GMT

Off-duty officer charged with DWI in North Carolina - Seattle Times


Off-duty officer charged with DWI in North Carolina
Seattle Times
BANNER ELK, N.C. (AP) ? A police officer in North Carolina has been placed on unpaid leave after troopers say he was driving while impaired in his personal vehicle. The state Highway Patrol said 44-year-old Tyler Kishpaugh drove his Mazda SUV over the ...

and more »

Mon, 18 Jun 2018 18:52:00 GMT

South Carolina officer fired after DWI arrest in North Carolina - WLOS


WLOS

South Carolina officer fired after DWI arrest in North Carolina
WLOS
FORT MILL, S.C. (AP) ? A South Carolina police officer who was arrested in North Carolina has been fired. Fort Mill Police Chief Jeff Helms tells The Herald that 55-year-old Tanya Moore Ervin-Leonhardt was fired June 3, a day after her arrest on ...

and more »

Tue, 12 Jun 2018 11:19:15 GMT

Local police chief arrested for suspicion of DWI in North Carolina - WPXI Pittsburgh


WPXI Pittsburgh

Local police chief arrested for suspicion of DWI in North Carolina
WPXI Pittsburgh
CUMBERLAND COUNTY, N.C. - A local police chief is facing criminal charges out of state. The chief of Scott Township James Secreet was arrested for suspicion of DWI in North Carolina. According to the North Carolina Highway Patrol, Secreet was driving a ...


Mon, 18 Jun 2018 20:32:15 GMT

Top of page

North Carolina Cities
Albemarle
Apex
Asheboro
Asheville
Beaufort
Boone
Brevard
Burlington
Camp Lejeune
Carthage
Cary
Chapel Hill
Charlotte
Clinton
Concord
Cornelius
Dunn
Durham
Eden
Elizabeth City
Elizabethtown
Fayetteville
Fort Bragg
Franklin
Fuquay Varina
Gastonia
Goldsboro
Graham
Greensboro
Greenville
Henderson
Hendersonville
Hickory
High Point
Hillsborough
Jacksonville
Kernersville
Kinston
Kitty Hawk
Laurinburg
Lenoir
Lexington
Lillington
Lincolnton
Louisburg
Lumberton
Manteo
Marion
Matthews
Mocksville
Monroe
Mooresville
Morehead City
Morganton
Morrisville
Mount Airy
Murphy
Nags Head
New Bern
Newland
Newton
North Wilkesboro
Oxford
Pinehurst
Pittsboro
Raleigh
Reidsville
Roanoke Rapids
Rockingham
Rocky Mount
Roxboro
Rutherfordton
Salisbury
Sanford
Shallotte
Shelby
Smithfield
Southern Pines
Southport
Spartanburg
Statesville
Sylva
Tarboro
Thomasville
Wake Forest
Washington
Waynesville
Whiteville
Wilkesboro
Wilmington
Wilson
Windsor
Winston Salem
Yadkinville
North Carolina Counties
Alamance
Alexander
Alleghany
Anson
Ashe
Avery
Beaufort
Bertie
Bladen
Brunswick
Buncombe
Burke
Cabarrus
Caldwell
Camden
Carteret
Caswell
Catawba
Chatham
Cherokee
Chowan
Clay
Cleveland
Columbus
Craven
Cumberland
Currituck
Dare
Davidson
Davie
Duplin
Durham
Edgecombe
Forsyth
Franklin
Gaston
Gates
Graham
Granville
Greene
Guilford
Halifax
Harnett
Haywood
Henderson
Hertford
Hoke
Hyde
Iredell
Jackson
Johnston
Jones
Lee
Lenoir
Lincoln
Macon
Madison
Martin
McDowell
Mecklenburg
Mitchell
Montgomery
Moore
Nash
New Hanover
Northampton
Onslow
Orange
Pamlico
Pasquotank
Pender
Perquimans
Person
Pitt
Polk
Randolph
Richmond
Robeson
Rockingham
Rowan
Rutherford
Sampson
Scotland
Stanly
Stokes
Surry
Swain
Transylvania
Tyrrell
Union
Vance
Wake
Warren
Washington
Watauga
Wayne
Wilkes
Wilson
Yadkin
Yancey

Top of page

States/Abbreviations
AK Alaska LA Louisiana OH Ohio
AL Alabama MA Massachusetts OK Oklahoma
AR Arkansas MD Maryland OR Oregon
AZ Arizona ME Maine PA Pennsylvania
CA California MI Michigan RI Rhode Island
CO Colorado MN Minnesota SC South Carolina
CT Connecticut MO Missouri SD South Dakota
DE Delaware MS Mississippi TN Tennessee
FL Florida MT Montana TX Texas
GA Georgia NC North Carolina UT Utah
HI Hawaii ND North Dakota VT Vermont
IA Iowa NE Nebraska VA Virginia
ID Idaho NH New Hampshire WA Washington State
IL Illinois NJ New Jersey WI Wisconsin
IN Indiana NM New Mexico WV West Virginia
KS Kansas NV Nevada WY Wyoming
KY Kentucky NY New York DC Washington DC

USA DUI Home | DUI Forums | DUI Laws by State | Worldwide BAC Limits | Alcohol Breathalyzers
DUI SR22 Insurance | DUI Lawyers | DUI Drunk Driving in the News | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

©2018 Drinkdriving.org