Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA BAC Calculator | DUI Forums Drink Driving in the UK Drink Driving in the UK
Cheap SR22 Insurance Quotes ENTER ZIP:
FREE LAWYER CONSULTATIONSR22 INSURANCE | DUI LAWYERS | DUI LAWS

Dont Drink and Drive!!

Breathalyzers for Sale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oregon DUI Laws (DUII, DWI)

Oregon DUII Lawyers - Drunk Driving Attorneys

Oregon
Oregon

Oregon DUII DUI Forum | SR22 Insurance Requirements

The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in Oregon is 0.08% per se
(effective from Oct 15th 1983)

Cheap SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes for High Risk Drivers in Oregon

Oregon DUI Laws & BAC Limits | Oregon DUI Penalties

Oregon DUI SR22 Insurance

Oregon Drunk Driving Statistics

Useful Oregon DUI Links | Latest Oregon DUI News


DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in other States


Oregon Drunk Driving Laws

(If you’ve been charged with Oregon DUII, the law allows only 10 days for your Oregon DUII Lawyer to make a request with the Oregon DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) for a hearing to save your driving license)

Oregon DUI arrests (often called DUII, for driving under the influence of intoxicants)

Oregon is a member of the Interstate Drivers License Compact
An agreement between participating states to share information regarding certain types of convictions including DUI - DWI and related Drunk Driving offenses. If a resident of one state gets convicted of a drunk driving offense in another state, the driver's home state will be notified. The type of action that the driver's home state will take will vary from state to state.

Oregon DUII Laws and BAC limits

ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
In the State of Oregon it is crime for ANY driver to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.08% and above.

COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
It is a crime for commercial vehicle operators to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.04% or above.

MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.01% (ZERO TOLERANCE)
It is a crime for persons under 21 years of age to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.01% or above.

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Oregon and implied consent laws are enforced.

!! CAUTION - Driving Ability Impaired !!

You can be prosecuted in Oregon without driving while you are over the legal prescribed bac limit.

Under Oregon law, it is unlawful to drive with a BAC limit above the per se laws OR to drive while impaired under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.

Under this law the prosecution must show that the driver was IMPAIRED by alcohol and/or drugs. The level of impairment is usually based on observations and evidence of driving ability (or rather inability), physical appearance, field sobriety tests and any other relevant evidence which can help prove a persons driving ability was indeed impaired. Different amounts of alcohol can affect people in different ways, what may impair one persons driving ability and make them feel drunk, might not necessarily impair another persons driving ability.

Observations from a law enforcement officer that may lead to being stopped and arrested include:

  • Making a turn too widely or narrowly
  • Using two lanes, straddling the center line
  • Almost hitting someone or something
  • Weaving or drifting from one side of the road to another
  • Driving too slowly and being overly cautious
  • Driving too close to vehicle in front
  • Driving ON the center lines
  • Erratic braking
  • Swerving to correct course of vehicle

You can be charged with an offence regardless of your BAC level, as long as impairment can be proved to the legal extent necessary.

A skilled drunk driving attorney can help you defend any charges against you

Oregon BAC Calculator

BLOOD ALCOHOL CONTENT CALCULATOR
Calculate your BAC using our calculator, know your legal drunk driving limits and stay safe!!
BAC - Blood Alcohol Content Calculator

Top of page

 

Penalties for DUII - Drunk Driving in Oregon

Oregon is a state with a ten-year ‘washout period’, also known as a 'look back period'.


First DUII - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a first DUII - drunk driving conviction in Oregon:

  • Fines: minimum of $1,000 fine
  • Jail Time: minimum 2 days in jail
  • Drivers License Suspension: 1 year drivers license suspension (ignition interlock hardship driving permit may be available after first 30 days of suspension)
  • Ignition Interlock Device: ignition interlock restriction for 1 year upon drivers license re-instatement
  • 80 hours community service may be given instead of jail or fine if courts think this appropriate
  • complete alcohol / drug screening interview and treatment program
  • possible attendance at victim impact treatment sessions
  • mandatory alcohol evaluation
  • Oregon SR22 insurance requirement

Second DUII - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a second DUII - drunk driving conviction in Oregon:

  • Fines: minimum of $1,500 fine
  • Jail Time: 2 days to 1 year in jail
  • Drivers License Suspension: 3 years drivers license suspension (ignition interlock hardship driving permit may be available after first 1 year of suspension)
  • Ignition Interlock Device: ignition interlock restriction for 2 years upon drivers license re-instatement
  • complete alcohol / drug screening interview and treatment program
  • possible attendance at victim impact treatment sessions
  • mandatory alcohol evaluation
  • Oregon SR22 insurance requirement

Third (and subsequent) DUII - Drunk Driving Conviction - Misdemeanor

The penalty for a third DUII - drunk driving conviction in Oregon:

  • Fines: minimum of $2,000 fine
  • Jail Time: 2 days to 1 year in jail
  • Drivers License Suspension: drivers license permanently revoked (may file a petition in the county circuit court to have driving privileges restored after a period of 10 years)
  • Ignition Interlock Device: ignition interlock restriction for 2 years upon drivers license re-instatement
  • complete alcohol / drug screening interview and treatment program
  • possible attendance at victim impact treatment sessions
  • mandatory alcohol evaluation
  • Oregon SR22 insurance requirement

Driving while under the influence of intoxicants is a Class C felony if the current offense was committed in a motor vehicle and the defendant has been convicted, at least three times in the 10 years prior to the date of the current offense.


 

Implied consent LAWS

Implied Consent Chemical Testing

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Oregon and implied consent laws are enforced.

Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in Oregon

In Oregon, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license will be suspended/revoked.

First chemical test refusal

Second (and subsequent) chemical test refusals (within 5 years)

Top of page

 

 

Oregon SR22 insurance (High Risk auto Insurance)

Compare Oregon SR22 Auto Insurance Rates and Save $$$'s
Oregon SR22 Insurance



Oregon SR22 Insurance Quote Line - Toll Free


list of auto insurance companies we search to find you the best rate

Oregon SR-22 auto insurance is usually required for a period of 3 years after a DUII - drunk driving - alcohol related driving conviction and can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider.  Some insurance companies will not even do an SR22 insurance filing. Get a FREE SR22 DUI auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for Oregon auto insurance in a matter of minutes.

Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of Oregon

The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of Oregon for private passenger vehicles is:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability (BIL) per person
  • $50,000 for two or more people in one accident
  • $20,000 property damage liability (PDL) coverage
  • $15,000 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) for expenses after the crash
  • $25,000 per person/$50,000 per crash of uninsured motorist coverage

What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?

(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.

What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?

(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.

What is (PIP) Personal Injury Protection?

Personal injury protection (PIP) pays for any medical expenses, lost wages, and any replacement services when a driver is involved in an accident. These expenses are paid regardles of who is at fault.

What is Underinsured Motorist Coverage?

Underinsured motorist coverage helps to pay for any medical claims in addition to those covered by personal injury protection. This type of insurance coverage only pays out in the event that the other motorist is at fault and does not hold the necessary amount of insurance to cover all expenses.

What is Uninsured Motorist Coverage?

Uninsured motorist coverage pays for medical expenses after your PIP benefits have ended if the other driver is responsible for the accident and has no insurance coverage.

Top of page

 



Disclaimer: While every effort is made to keep all information up to date, the Oregon drunk driving laws change frequently and the information provided on this web site should not be construed as legal advice, nor is it necessarily complete. Drinkdriving.org shall not be held responsible for any actions a person may take as a result of information gathered from this web site. Consultation with a local Oregon DUI lawyer is recommended in all cases.

 

Useful Oregon DUII Links:

DUII - Drunk Driving Laws in Oregon

Oregon Drivers Manual

Oregon SR22 Insurance Requirement

Oregon DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles)

Oregon Department of Transportation

Oregon State Courts (Oregon Judicial Department)

Oregon Department of Insurance

Oregon DUII - DUI Lawyers

Oregon DUII - DUI discussion forum

Top of page

 

Latest Oregon DUII News

This RSS feed URL is deprecated
This RSS feed URL is deprecated, please update. New URLs can be found in the footers at https://news.google.com/news
Mon, 25 Jun 2018 07:32:38 GMT

Boyfriend accused of manslaughter, DUII in crash that killed boy, 6, authorities say - OregonLive.com


OregonLive.com

Boyfriend accused of manslaughter, DUII in crash that killed boy, 6, authorities say
OregonLive.com
A man suspected of drunken driving in a remote part of Clackamas County faces manslaughter charges after he crashed an SUV carrying his girlfriend and her three children, killing one of the youngsters, authorities said. Shane Richard Bremer was booked ...
Driver in Molalla crash that killed 6-year-old boy arrested for manslaughter, DUIIKPTV.com
Driver held on $1M in DUII crash; 6-year-old boy diesKATU
Hubbard man arrested after crash kills 6-year-oldPamplin Media Group

all 18 news articles »

Mon, 18 Jun 2018 15:33:05 GMT

Police: Driver arrested for DUII after crashing Ferrari on I-5 near Wilsonville - KPTV.com


KPTV.com

Police: Driver arrested for DUII after crashing Ferrari on I-5 near Wilsonville
KPTV.com
A driver was arrested for DUII after crashing a Ferrari on Interstate 5 near Wilsonville early Tuesday morning, according to police. Oregon State Police posted information about the crash and arrest on Facebook, saying, ?Maybe not the way you want to ...
Police: Driver arrested on DUII charge after crashing Ferrari on I-5KATU

all 4 news articles »

Wed, 30 May 2018 21:51:51 GMT

Hawks guard Tyler Dorsey arrested, charged with DUII in Oregon - Sporting News


Sporting News

Hawks guard Tyler Dorsey arrested, charged with DUII in Oregon
Sporting News
According to The Oregonian, Dorsey was released shortly after being booked after posting $590 bail. Dorsey, who played two collegiate seasons for Oregon, averaged 7.2 points in 56 games for the Hawks in his rookie season after being drafted in the ...
Reports: Tyler Dorsey, former Oregon Duck, arrested on DUII charge in EugeneOregonLive.com
Tyler Dorsey reportedly charged with DUII in OregonPeachtree Hoops
Tyler Dorsey, former UO star now with Atlanta Hawks, arrested on DUII charge in EugeneThe Register-Guard
USA TODAY -Oregon Daily Emerald
all 23 news articles »

Wed, 30 May 2018 13:58:36 GMT

Police: DUII driver collides with minivan, causes fiery crash - KGW.com


KGW.com

Police: DUII driver collides with minivan, causes fiery crash
KGW.com
Impairment is being investigated in a two-vehicle crash that occurred late Friday on Highway 99 East. Oregon State Police and emergency personnel responded to the crash near milepost 43 in Marion County around 6:26 p.m.. According to the preliminary ...
Police: DUII driver causes fiery rollover crash in Marion CountyKATU

all 3 news articles »

Sat, 16 Jun 2018 21:48:00 GMT

Top of page

Oregon Cities
Albany
Ashland
Astoria
Baker City
Bandon
Beaverton
Bend
Brookings
Burns
Canby
Central Point
Clackamas
Coos Bay
Coquille
Corvallis
Dallas
Enterprise
Eugene
Forest Grove
Gardiner
Gladstone
Gold Beach
Grants Pass
Gresham
Hermiston
Hillsboro
Hood River
Klamath Falls
La Grande
Lake Oswego
Lakeview
Lebanon
Lincoln City
Madras
McMinnville
Medford
Milton Freewater
Newberg
Newport
North Bend
Ontario
Oregon City
Pendleton
Portland
Prineville
Redmond
Roseburg
Saint Helens
Salem
Silverton
Springfield
Stayton
The Dalles
Tigard
Tillamook
Tualatin
Vale
West Linn
Wilsonville
Woodburn
Oregon Counties
Baker
Benton
Clackamas
Clatsop
Columbia
Coos
Crook
Curry
Deschutes
Douglas
Gilliam
Grant
Harney
Hood River
Jackson
Jefferson
Josephine
Klamath
Lake
Lane
Lincoln
Linn
Malheur
Marion
Morrow
Multnomah
Polk
Sherman
Tillamook
Umatilla
Union
Wallows
Wasco
Washington
Wheeler
Yamhill

Top of page

States/Abbreviations
AK Alaska LA Louisiana OH Ohio
AL Alabama MA Massachusetts OK Oklahoma
AR Arkansas MD Maryland OR Oregon
AZ Arizona ME Maine PA Pennsylvania
CA California MI Michigan RI Rhode Island
CO Colorado MN Minnesota SC South Carolina
CT Connecticut MO Missouri SD South Dakota
DE Delaware MS Mississippi TN Tennessee
FL Florida MT Montana TX Texas
GA Georgia NC North Carolina UT Utah
HI Hawaii ND North Dakota VT Vermont
IA Iowa NE Nebraska VA Virginia
ID Idaho NH New Hampshire WA Washington State
IL Illinois NJ New Jersey WI Wisconsin
IN Indiana NM New Mexico WV West Virginia
KS Kansas NV Nevada WY Wyoming
KY Kentucky NY New York DC Washington DC

USA DUI Home | DUI Forums | DUI Laws by State | Worldwide BAC Limits | Alcohol Breathalyzers
DUI SR22 Insurance | DUI Lawyers | DUI Drunk Driving in the News | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

©2018 Drinkdriving.org