Pennsylvania DUI Laws & Drunk Driving Penalties


Overview of the penalties upon conviction of DUI in Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania DUI Laws, BAC limits, fines, jail times, IID requirements, suspension/revocation periods and SR22 insurance requirements for first time and repeat offenders with multiple DUI's.

If you've been charged with DUI in Pennsylvania, the law allows only 10 days for a Pennsylvania DUI Lawyer to make a request with the Pennsylvania DOT (Department of Transportation) for a hearing to help save your drivers license.

Pennsylvania DUI cases are referred to as drunk driving, driving under the influence (DUI), driving while impaired (DWI) or driving after imbibing (DAI).

What are the penalties for DUI in Pennsylvania?

The penalties for driving under the influence in Pennsylvania will depend upon the exact circumstances of each particular case and the number of previous offenses (if any) a person has.

PA DUI Penalties

Pennsylvania is a state with a 10 year 'washout period' also known as a 'look back period'

Pennsylvania DUI DAI law has a three tiered penalty system
Separate penalties for those who drive with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) of:

1) 0.08 to less than 0.10% - General Impairment
2) 0.10 to less than 0.16% - High Rate of Alcohol
3) 0.16 or higher - Highest Rate of Alcohol

1st DUI DAI Offense - Misdemeanor

The penalty upon conviction of a first DUI DAI offense in Pennsylvania:

Penalty for first DAI with BAC between 0.08 to less than 0.10%

Penalty for first DAI with BAC between 0.10 to less than 0.16%

Penalty for first DAI with BAC 0.16% and above

Top of Page

2nd DUI DAI Offense - Misdemeanor

The penalty upon conviction of a second DUI DAI offense in Pennsylvania:

Penalty for second DAI with BAC between 0.08 to less than 0.10%

Penalty for second DAI with BAC between 0.10 to less than 0.16%

Penalty for second DAI with BAC 0.16% and above

Top of Page

3rd DUI DAI Offense - Misdemeanor

The penalty upon conviction of a third DUI DAI offense in Pennsylvania:

Penalty for third DAI with BAC between 0.08 to less than 0.10%

Penalty for third DAI with BAC between 0.10 to less than 0.16%

Penalty for third DAI with BAC 0.16% and above

Top of Page


Implied Consent (Chemical Testing) Laws

Pennsylvania Chemical Testing Laws

In Pennsylvania any person who refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine will have their drivers license suspended / revoked.

First Chemical Test Refusal

Second (and subsequent) Chemical Test Refusal

Top of Page


What is the legal alcohol limit in Pennsylvania

The maximum legal BAC (blood alcohol content) limits in Pennsylvania for driving are as follows:

ADULT DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
In the State of Pennsylvania it is an offense for adult drivers to drive any regular motor vehicle with 0.08% or more, by weight, of alcohol in his/her blood.

DRIVERS UNDER 21 - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
In the State of Pennsylvania it is an offense for drivers under the age of 21 (minors) to drive any motor vehicle with 0.02% or more, by weight, of alcohol in his/her blood.

PROBATION - BAC LIMIT = 0.01%
In the State of Pennsylvania it is an offense for drivers on probation for for violating DUI laws to drive any motor vehicle with 0.01% or more, by weight, of alcohol in his/her blood.

COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
In the State of Pennsylvania it is an offense for drivers who drive commercial vehicles to drive any commercial motor vehicle with 0.04% or more, by weight, of alcohol in his/her blood.

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Pennsylvania and implied consent laws are enforced.

DUI Laws - Drinkdriving.org

DrinkDriving.org
Your DUI Law Information Resource
LOOKING FOR CHEAP SR22 INSURANCE? - Compare Rates Today



Breathalyzers for Sale
States/Abbreviations AK
AL
AR
AZ
CA
CO
CT
DE
FL
GA
HI
IA
ID
IL
IN
KS
KY
Alaska
Alabama
Arkansas
Arizona
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Iowa
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Kansas
Kentucky
LA
MA
MD
ME
MI
MN
MO
MS
MT
NC
ND
NE
NH
NJ
NM
NV
NY
Louisiana
Massachusetts
Maryland
Maine
Michigan
Minnesota
Missouri
Mississippi
Montana
North Carolina
North Dakota
Nebraska
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
Nevada
New York
OH
OK
OR
PA
RI
SC
SD
TN
TX
UT
VT
VA
WA
WI
WV
WY
DC
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington State
Wisconsin
West Virginia
Wyoming
Washington DC