Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA BAC Calculator | DUI Forums Drink Driving in the UK Drink Driving in the UK
Cheap SR22 Insurance Quotes ENTER ZIP:
FREE LAWYER CONSULTATIONSR22 INSURANCE | DUI LAWYERS | DUI LAWS

Dont Drink and Drive!!

Breathalyzers for Sale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rhode Island DUI Laws

Rhode Island DUI Lawyers - Drunk Driving Attorneys

Rhode Island
Rhode Island

Rhode Island DUI Forum | SR22 Insurance Requirements

The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in Rhode Island is 0.08% per se
(effective from July 2nd 2003)

Cheap SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes for High Risk Drivers in Rhode Island

Rhode Island DUI Laws & BAC Limits | Rhode Island DUI Penalties

Rhode Island DUI SR22 Insurance

Rhode Island Drunk Driving Statistics

Useful Rhode Island DUI Links | Latest Rhode Island DUI News


DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in other States


Rhode Island Drunk Driving Laws

(If you’ve been charged with Rhode Island DUI, the law allows only 15 days for your Rhode Island DUI Lawyer to make a request with the Rhode Island DMV (Division of Motor Vehicles) for a hearing to save your driving license)

Rhode Island DUI cases may be referred to as drunk driving, driving under the influence (DUI), operating under the influence (OUI) or the new driving after imbibing (DAI).

Rhode Island is a member of the Interstate Drivers License Compact
An agreement between participating states to share information regarding certain types of convictions including DUI - DWI and related Drunk Driving offenses. If a resident of one state gets convicted of a drunk driving offense in another state, the driver's home state will be notified. The type of action that the driver's home state will take will vary from state to state.

Rhode Island DUI Laws and BAC limits

ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
In the State of Rhode Island it is crime for ANY driver to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.08% and above.

COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
It is a crime for commercial vehicle operators to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.04% or above.

MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
It is a crime for persons under 21 years of age to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.02% or above.

It is a crime to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Rhode Island and implied consent laws are enforced.

!! CAUTION - Driving Ability Impaired !!

You can be prosecuted in Rhode Island without driving while you are over the legal prescribed bac limit.

Under Rhode Island law, it is unlawful to drive with a BAC limit above the per se laws OR to drive while impaired under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.

Under this law the prosecution must show that the driver was IMPAIRED by alcohol and/or drugs. The level of impairment is usually based on observations and evidence of driving ability (or rather inability), physical appearance, field sobriety tests and any other relevant evidence which can help prove a persons driving ability was indeed impaired. Different amounts of alcohol can affect people in different ways, what may impair one persons driving ability and make them feel drunk, might not necessarily impair another persons driving ability.

Observations from a law enforcement officer that may lead to being stopped and arrested include:

  • Making a turn too widely or narrowly
  • Using two lanes, straddling the center line
  • Almost hitting someone or something
  • Weaving or drifting from one side of the road to another
  • Driving too slowly and being overly cautious
  • Driving too close to vehicle in front
  • Driving ON the center lines
  • Erratic braking
  • Swerving to correct course of vehicle

You can be charged with an offence regardless of your BAC level, as long as impairment can be proved to the legal extent necessary.

A skilled drunk driving attorney can help you defend any charges against you

Rhode Island BAC Calculator

BLOOD ALCOHOL CONTENT CALCULATOR
Calculate your BAC using our calculator, know your legal drunk driving limits and stay safe!!
BAC - Blood Alcohol Content Calculator

Top of page

 

Penalties for DUI - Drunk Driving in Rhode Island

Rhode Island is a state with a five year ‘washout period’ also known as a 'look back period'.

The penalty for DUI in Rhode Island will depend upon any previous offenses and a persons BAC (blood alcohol concentration) at the time of the offense. A tiered penalty system is in place with different penalties for drivers depending on their BAC's.


First DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a first DUI - drunk driving conviction in Rhode Island:

BAC of 0.08% to less than 0.10% or Unknown BAC

  • Fine: $100 to $300 fine + $500 highway assessment fine
  • Jail: up to 1 year in jail
  • License Suspension: 30 to 180 days drivers license suspension
  • 10 to 60 hours of public community restitution
  • possible attendance at driving while intoxicated course
  • Rhode Island SR22 insurance requirement

BAC of 0.10% to less than 0.15%

  • Fine: $100 to $400 fine + $500 highway assessment fine
  • Jail: up to 1 year in jail
  • License Suspension: 3 to 12 months drivers license suspension
  • 10 to 60 hours of public community restitution
  • possible attendance at driving while intoxicated course
  • Rhode Island SR22 insurance requirement

BAC of 0.15% or above

  • Fine: $500 fine + $500 highway assessment fine
  • Jail: up to 1 year in jail
  • License Suspension: 3 to 18 months drivers license suspension
  • 20 to 60 hours of public community restitution
  • possible attendance at driving while intoxicated course
  • Rhode Island SR22 insurance requirement

Second DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a second DUI - drunk driving conviction in Rhode Island:

BAC of 0.08% to less than 0.15% or Unknown BAC

  • Fine: $400 fine + $500 highway assessment fine
  • Jail: 10 days to 1 year in jail
  • License Suspension: 1 to 2 years drivers license suspension
  • Ignition Interlock: ignition interlock restriction may be required for 1 to 2 years
  • alcohol assessment and treatment as required
  • Rhode Island SR22 insurance requirement

BAC of 0.15% or above

  • Fine: minimum $1,000 fine + $500 highway assessment fine
  • Jail: 6 months to 1 year in jail
  • License Suspension: 2 years drivers license suspension
  • Ignition Interlock: ignition interlock restriction may be required for 1 to 2 years
  • alcohol assessment and treatment as required
  • Rhode Island SR22 insurance requirement

Third (and subsequent) DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Felony

The penalty for a third (and subsequent) DUI - drunk driving conviction in Rhode Island:

BAC of 0.08% to less than 0.15% or Unknown BAC

  • Fine: $400 fine + $500 highway assessment fine
  • Jail: 1 to 3 years in jail
  • License Suspension: 2 to 3 years drivers license suspension
  • Ignition Interlock: ignition interlock restriction may be required for 2 years
  • alcohol assessment and treatment as required
  • possible vehicle forfeiture
  • Rhode Island SR22 insurance requirement

BAC of 0.15% or above

  • Fine: $1,000 to $5,000 fine + $500 highway assessment fine
  • Jail: 3 to 5 years in jail
  • License Suspension: 3 years drivers license suspension
  • Ignition Interlock: ignition interlock restriction may be required for 2 years
  • alcohol assessment and treatment as required
  • possible vehicle forfeiture
  • Rhode Island SR22 insurance requirement

 


Top of page

 

 

Implied consent LAWS

Implied Consent Chemical Testing

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Rhode Island and implied consent laws are enforced.

Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in Rhode Island

In Rhode Island, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license will be suspended/revoked.

FIRST CHEMICAL TEST REFUSAL

  • Fine: $200 to $500 fine
  • License Suspension: 6 months to 1 year drivers license suspension
  • 10 to 60 hours public community restitution

Second CHEMICAL TEST REFUSAL

  • Fine: $600 to $1,000 fine
  • Jail: up to 6 months in jail
  • License Suspension: 1 to 2 years drivers license suspension
  • 60 to 100 hours public community restitution

Third (and subsequent) CHEMICAL TEST REFUSAL

  • Fine: $800 to $1,000 fine
  • Jail: up to 1 year in jail
  • License Suspension: 2 to 5 years drivers license suspension
  • 100 hours public community restitution

Top of page

 

 

Rhode Island SR22 insurance (high Risk auto Insurance)

Compare Rhode Island SR22 Auto Insurance Rates and Save $$$'s
Rhode Island SR22 Insurance



Rhode Island SR22 Insurance Quote Line - Toll Free


list of auto insurance companies we search to find you the best rate

Rhode Island SR-22 auto insurance is usually required for a period of 3 years after a DUI - drunk driving - alcohol related driving conviction and can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider.  Some insurance companies will not even do an SR22 insurance filing. Get a FREE SR22 DUI auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for Rhode Island auto insurance in a matter of minutes.

Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of Rhode Island

The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of Rhode Island for private passenger vehicles is (25/50/25). This equates to the following liability coverage:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability (BIL) per person
  • $50,000 for two or more people in one accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability (PDL) coverage

What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?

(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.

What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?

(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.

Top of page



Disclaimer: While every effort is made to keep all information up to date, the Rhode Island drunk driving laws change frequently and the information provided on this web site should not be construed as legal advice, nor is it necessarily complete. Drinkdriving.org shall not be held responsible for any actions a person may take as a result of information gathered from this web site. Consultation with a local Rhode Island DUI lawyer is recommended in all cases.

 

Useful Rhode Island DUI Links:

DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in Rhode Island

Rhode Island Drivers Manual

Rhode Island SR22 Insurance Requirement

Rhode Island (DMV) Division of Motor Vehicles

Rhode Island Department of Transportation

Rhode Island State Courts (Judiciary of Rhode Island)

Rhode Island Department of Insurance Regulation

Rhode Island DUI Lawyers

Rhode Island DUI discussion forum

Top of page

 

Latest Rhode Island DUI News

This RSS feed URL is deprecated
This RSS feed URL is deprecated, please update. New URLs can be found in the footers at https://news.google.com/news
Wed, 26 Sep 2018 09:29:09 GMT

Police Charge Driver of Military-Style Vehicle With DUI - U.S. News & World Report


Police Charge Driver of Military-Style Vehicle With DUI
U.S. News & World Report
Police Charge Driver of Military-Style Vehicle With DUI. Police say a man driving a military-style vehicle that truck another vehicle hauling a horse trailer on a Rhode Island highway was under the influence. Sept. 24, 2018, at 2:13 p.m.. Police Charge ...

and more »

Mon, 24 Sep 2018 18:13:00 GMT

34 arrested for DUI over the weekend in Rhode Island - Turn to 10


Turn to 10

34 arrested for DUI over the weekend in Rhode Island
Turn to 10
The task force is made up of State and Local police distributed around Rhode Island during the Labor Day weekend. Sergeant Donald Barrington with the North Kingstown Police Department told NBC 10 that 11 arrests were made on Friday and the other 23 ...
DUI task force nabs 34 drivers over holiday weekendWPRI 12 Eyewitness News
Deadly Labor Day weekend on RI roads, with spike in DUIsWLNE-TV (ABC6)

all 21 news articles »

Mon, 03 Sep 2018 15:58:11 GMT

Driver of military style vehicle arrested on suspicion of DUI after crash - WPRI 12 Eyewitness News


WPRI 12 Eyewitness News

Driver of military style vehicle arrested on suspicion of DUI after crash
WPRI 12 Eyewitness News
COVENTRY, R.I. (WPRI) -- Police arrested the driver of a military style vehicle on suspicion of DUI following a crash with a pickup truck towing a horse trailer Saturday night. It happened just after 11:30 p.m. in the area of Plainfield Pike in ...

and more »

Mon, 24 Sep 2018 00:25:12 GMT

Trucks Crash, One Carrying Horses, Goats In Coventry: DUI Follows - Patch.com


Patch.com

Trucks Crash, One Carrying Horses, Goats In Coventry: DUI Follows
Patch.com
COVENTRY, RI ? A 5-ton military-style truck and a pickup towing a trailer with horses and a goat collided late Saturday night, resulting in DUI charges for a Richmond man and injuries to a juvenile passenger and a horse. The crash happened near 2232 ...

and more »

Mon, 24 Sep 2018 16:06:24 GMT

Top of page

Rhode Island Cities
Bristol
Coventry
Cranston
Cumberland
East Greenwich
East Providence
Jamestown
Johnston
Lincoln
Middletown
Newport
North Kingstown
North Providence
North Smithfield
Pawtucket
Portsmouth
Providence
Riverside
Rumford
Smithfield
Tiverton
Wakefield
Warren
Warwick
West Warwick
Westerly
Woonsocket
Rhode Island Counties
Bristol
Kent
Newport
Providence
Washington

Top of page

States/Abbreviations
AK Alaska LA Louisiana OH Ohio
AL Alabama MA Massachusetts OK Oklahoma
AR Arkansas MD Maryland OR Oregon
AZ Arizona ME Maine PA Pennsylvania
CA California MI Michigan RI Rhode Island
CO Colorado MN Minnesota SC South Carolina
CT Connecticut MO Missouri SD South Dakota
DE Delaware MS Mississippi TN Tennessee
FL Florida MT Montana TX Texas
GA Georgia NC North Carolina UT Utah
HI Hawaii ND North Dakota VT Vermont
IA Iowa NE Nebraska VA Virginia
ID Idaho NH New Hampshire WA Washington State
IL Illinois NJ New Jersey WI Wisconsin
IN Indiana NM New Mexico WV West Virginia
KS Kansas NV Nevada WY Wyoming
KY Kentucky NY New York DC Washington DC

USA DUI Home | DUI Forums | DUI Laws by State | Worldwide BAC Limits | Alcohol Breathalyzers
DUI SR22 Insurance | DUI Lawyers | DUI Drunk Driving in the News | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

©2018 Drinkdriving.org