Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA BAC Calculator | DUI Forums Drink Driving in the UK Drink Driving in the UK
Cheap SR22 Insurance Quotes ENTER ZIP:
FREE LAWYER CONSULTATIONSR22 INSURANCE | DUI LAWYERS | DUI LAWS

Dont Drink and Drive!!

Breathalyzers for Sale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Utah DUI Laws

Utah DUI Lawyers - Drunk Driving Attorneys

Utah
Utah

Utah DUI Forum | SR22 Insurance Requirements

The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in Utah is 0.08% per se
(effective from Aug 1st 1983)

Cheap SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes for High Risk Drivers in Utah

Utah DUI Laws & BAC Limits | Utah DUI Penalties

Utah DUI SR22 Insurance

Utah Drunk Driving Statistics

Useful Utah DUI Links | Latest Utah DUI News


DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in other States


Utah Drunk Driving Laws

(If you’ve been charged with Utah DUI, the law allows 10 days for your Utah DUI Lawyer to make a request for a Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division (DLD) administrative hearing to save your driving license)

Utah is a member of the Interstate Drivers License Compact
An agreement between participating states to share information regarding certain types of convictions including DUI - DWI and related Drunk Driving offenses. If a resident of one state gets convicted of a drunk driving offense in another state, the driver's home state will be notified. The type of action that the driver's home state will take will vary from state to state.

Utah DUI Laws and BAC limits

ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
In the State of Utah it is crime for ANY driver to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.08% and above.

COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
It is a crime for commercial vehicle operators to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.04% or above.

MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.00% - ZERO TOLERANCE
It is a crime for persons under 21 years of age to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.00% or above. ZERO TOLERANCE.

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Utah and implied consent laws are enforced.

BLOOD ALCOHOL CONTENT CALCULATOR
Calculate your BAC using our calculator, know your legal drunk driving limits and stay safe!!
BAC - Blood Alcohol Content Calculator

Top of page

 

Penalties for DUI - Drunk Driving in Utah

Utah is a state with a ten-year ‘washout period’ also known as a 'look back period'.

In addition to any suspension/revocation period imposed, a court may further suspend/revoke a persons license who is convicted of DUI for an additional period of 90 days, 180 days, 1 year or 2 years if they are deemed to be safety hazards. This additional period of suspension will begin on the date that the person would otherwise have been eligible for re-instatement after the original suspension period.


First Dui - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a first DUI - drunk driving conviction in Utah:

  • Fine: minimum $700 fine + surcharge
  • Jail: not less than 48 consecutive hours in jail OR 48 hours compensatory service work program OR electronically monitored house arrest
  • License Suspension: 120 days drivers license suspension
  • Ignition Interlock: possible ignition interlock restriction required as a condition of probation for a time period determined by the courts (3 years if under 21 years old)
  • drug and/or alcohol assessment & screening and possible education or treatment as required
  • will become alcohol restricted driver for 2 years (driving with any measurable amount of alcohol in the system will be an offense)
  • Utah SR22 insurance requirement

Second DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a second DUI - drunk driving conviction in Utah:

  • Fine: minimum $800 fine + surcharge
  • Jail: not less than 240 consecutive hours in jail OR 240 hours compensatory service work program OR electronically monitored house arrest
  • License Revocation: 2 years drivers license revocation
  • Ignition Interlock: ignition interlock restriction required as a condition of probation for a time period determined by the courts (3 years if under 21 years old)
  • drug and/or alcohol assessment & screening and possible education or treatment as required
  • will become alcohol restricted driver for 10 years (driving with any measurable amount of alcohol in the system will be an offense)
  • Utah SR22 insurance requirement

Third (and subsequent) DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Felony

The penalty for a third (and subsequent) DUI - drunk driving conviction in Utah:

  • Fine: minimum $1,500 fine + surcharge
  • Jail: up to 5 years in jail
  • License Revocation: 2 years drivers license revocation
  • Ignition Interlock: ignition interlock restriction required as a condition of probation for a time period determined by the courts (3 years if under 21 years old)
  • drug and/or alcohol assessment & screening
  • mandatory 240 hours inpatient treatment and aftercare
  • will become alcohol restricted driver for 10 years (driving with any measurable amount of alcohol in the system will be an offense)
  • Utah SR22 insurance requirement

UTAH STATE COURTS DUI SENTENCING CALCULATOR


Top of page

 

 

Implied consent LAWS

Implied Consent Chemical Testing

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Utah and implied consent laws are enforced.

Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in Utah

In Utah, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license will be suspended/revoked.

FIRST CHEMICAL TEST REFUSAL

  • License Revocation: 18 months drivers license revocation
  • Ignition Interlock: 3 years ignition interlock restriction
  • will become alcohol restricted driver for 5 years (driving with any measurable amount of alcohol in the system will be an offense)
  • Utah SR22 insurance requirement

SECOND (AND SUBSEQUENT) Chemical Test REFUSALS

  • License Revocation: 36 months drivers license revocation
  • Ignition Interlock: 3 years ignition interlock restriction
  • will become alcohol restricted driver for 10 years (driving with any measurable amount of alcohol in the system will be an offense)
  • Utah SR22 insurance requirement

Top of page

 

 

Utah SR22 insurance (high Risk auto Insurance)

Compare Utah SR22 Auto Insurance Rates and Save $$$'s
Utah SR22 Insurance



Utah SR22 Insurance Quote Line - Toll Free


list of auto insurance companies we search to find you the best rate

Utah SR-22 auto insurance is usually required for a period of 3 years after a DUI - drunk driving conviction and can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider.  Some insurance companies will not even do an SR22 insurance filing. Get a FREE DUI auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for Utah auto insurance in a matter of minutes.

Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of Utah

The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of Utah for private passenger vehicles is:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability (BIL) per person
  • $65,000 for two or more people in one accident
  • $15,000 property damage liability (PDL) coverage

What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?

(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.

What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?

(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.

Top of page



Disclaimer: While every effort is made to keep all information up to date, the Utah drunk driving laws change frequently and the information provided on this web site should not be construed as legal advice, nor is it necessarily complete. Drinkdriving.org shall not be held responsible for any actions a person may take as a result of information gathered from this web site. Consultation with a local Utah DUI lawyer is recommended in all cases.

 

Useful Utah DUI Links:

DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in Utah

Utah Drivers Handbook

Utah SR22 Insurance Requirement

Utah Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV)

Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division (DLD)

Utah Department of Transportation

Utah State Courts

Utah Department of Insurance

Utah DUI Lawyers

Utah DUI discussion forum

Top of page

 

Latest Utah DUI News

This RSS feed URL is deprecated
This RSS feed URL is deprecated, please update. New URLs can be found in the footers at https://news.google.com/news
Wed, 26 Sep 2018 09:32:14 GMT

Utah Highway Patrol to conduct DUI blitz for 100 deadliest days - fox13now.com


fox13now.com

Utah Highway Patrol to conduct DUI blitz for 100 deadliest days
fox13now.com
SALT LAKE CITY - The Utah Highway Patrol will be conducting a DUI blitz for the 100 deadliest days. Troopers from the Utah Highway Patrol say they arrested a man last night for driving over a concrete barrier. This happened near 300 east and 450 south ...


Sat, 01 Sep 2018 13:29:35 GMT

Popular Utah TV personality arrested in DUI injury accident - Gephardt Daily


Gephardt Daily

Popular Utah TV personality arrested in DUI injury accident
Gephardt Daily
KAYSVILLE, Utah, Sept. 6, 2018 (Gephardt Daily) ? Popular Utah TV news personality Casey Scott has been arrested and charged with driving under the influence after being involved in an injury accident Monday in Davis County. Scott, 44, was ...
KSL on-air personality faces DUI charge after crashGood4Utah
KSL on-air personality charged with DUI after Kaysville crashSalt Lake Tribune
KSL-TV, radio personality charged in DUI crashKSL.com

all 5 news articles »

Fri, 07 Sep 2018 03:16:25 GMT

Suspected DUI driver causes chain-reaction crash on SR 201 in West Valley City - fox13now.com


fox13now.com

Suspected DUI driver causes chain-reaction crash on SR 201 in West Valley City
fox13now.com
WEST VALLEY CITY, Utah -- A driver was booked into jail Friday morning after investigators say he caused a chain-reaction crash in West Valley City. The crash happened just before one a.m. in the westbound lanes of State Road 201 at 6800 West.
UHP responds to multi-vehicle DUI crash on SR 201 in West Valley CityGephardt Daily

all 2 news articles »

Fri, 21 Sep 2018 13:33:00 GMT

Utah Highway Patrol launches DUI Blitz during Labor Day Weekend (5:30 pm) - Good4Utah


Good4Utah

Utah Highway Patrol launches DUI Blitz during Labor Day Weekend (5:30 pm)
Good4Utah
The Labor Day weekend brings the end to the "100 Deadliest Days". So far from Memorial Day 2018 to today, there have been 98 fatalities on Utah's roadways. Four of those fatalities occurred in the last 24 hours. With one of them likely due to alcohol ...


Sun, 02 Sep 2018 04:07:25 GMT

Top of page

Utah Cities
American Fork
Bountiful
Brigham City
Cedar City
Delta
Draper
Farmington
Kaysville
Layton
Logan
Midvale
Ogden
Orem
Park City
Provo
Richfield
Saint George
Salt Lake City
Sandy
South Jordan
Spanish Fork
Springville
Tooele
Vernal
Utah Counties
Beaver
Box Elder
Cache
Carbon
Daggett
Davis
Duchesne
Emery
Garfield
Grand
Iron
Juab
Kane
Millard
Morgan
Piute
Rich
Salt Lake
San Juan
Sanpete
Sevier
Summit
Tooele
Uintah
Utah
Wasatch
Washington
Wayne
Weber

Top of page

States/Abbreviations
AK Alaska LA Louisiana OH Ohio
AL Alabama MA Massachusetts OK Oklahoma
AR Arkansas MD Maryland OR Oregon
AZ Arizona ME Maine PA Pennsylvania
CA California MI Michigan RI Rhode Island
CO Colorado MN Minnesota SC South Carolina
CT Connecticut MO Missouri SD South Dakota
DE Delaware MS Mississippi TN Tennessee
FL Florida MT Montana TX Texas
GA Georgia NC North Carolina UT Utah
HI Hawaii ND North Dakota VT Vermont
IA Iowa NE Nebraska VA Virginia
ID Idaho NH New Hampshire WA Washington State
IL Illinois NJ New Jersey WI Wisconsin
IN Indiana NM New Mexico WV West Virginia
KS Kansas NV Nevada WY Wyoming
KY Kentucky NY New York DC Washington DC

USA DUI Home | DUI Forums | DUI Laws by State | Worldwide BAC Limits | Alcohol Breathalyzers
DUI SR22 Insurance | DUI Lawyers | DUI Drunk Driving in the News | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

©2018 Drinkdriving.org