Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA BAC Calculator | DUI Forums Drink Driving in the UK Drink Driving in the UK
Cheap SR22 Insurance Quotes ENTER ZIP:
FREE LAWYER CONSULTATIONSR22 INSURANCE | DUI LAWYERS | DUI LAWS

Dont Drink and Drive!!

Breathalyzers for Sale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Vermont DUI Laws

Vermont DUI Lawyers - Drunk Driving Attorneys

Vermont
Vermont

Vermont DUI Forum | SR22 Insurance Requirements

The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in Vermont is 0.08% per se
(effective from July 1st 1991)

Cheap SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes for High Risk Drivers in Vermont

Vermont DUI Laws & BAC Limits | Vermont DUI Penalties

Vermont DUI SR22 Insurance

Vermont Drunk Driving Statistics

Useful Vermont DUI Links | Latest Vermont DUI News


DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in other States


Vermont Drunk Driving Laws

(If you’ve been charged with Vermont DUI, the law allows 7 days for your Vermont DUI Lawyer to make a request for a Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) administrative hearing to save your driving license)

Vermont is a member of the Interstate Drivers License Compact
An agreement between participating states to share information regarding certain types of convictions including DUI - DWI and related Drunk Driving offenses. If a resident of one state gets convicted of a drunk driving offense in another state, the driver's home state will be notified. The type of action that the driver's home state will take will vary from state to state.

Vermont DUI Laws and BAC limits

ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
In the State of Vermont it is crime for ANY driver to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.08% and above.

COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
It is a crime for commercial vehicle operators to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.04% or above.

SCHOOL BUS OPERATORS - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
It is a crime for persons operating a school bus to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.02% or above.

MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
It is a crime for persons under 21 years of age to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.02% or above.

NOTE: Under new Vermont legislation (Nick's Law) a persons legally permissible blood alcohol concentration for operating a motor vehicle may be lowered if convicted of multiple DUI related offenses.

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Vermont and implied consent laws are enforced.

!! CAUTION - Driving Ability Impaired !!

You can be prosecuted in Vermont without driving while you are over the legal prescribed bac limit.

Under Vermont law, it is unlawful to drive with a BAC limit above the per se laws OR to drive while impaired under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.

Under this law the prosecution must show that the driver was IMPAIRED by alcohol and/or drugs. The level of impairment is usually based on observations and evidence of driving ability (or rather inability), physical appearance, field sobriety tests and any other relevant evidence which can help prove a persons driving ability was indeed impaired. Different amounts of alcohol can affect people in different ways, what may impair one persons driving ability and make them feel drunk, might not necessarily impair another persons driving ability.

Observations from a law enforcement officer that may lead to being stopped and arrested include:

  • Making a turn too widely or narrowly
  • Using two lanes, straddling the center line
  • Almost hitting someone or something
  • Weaving or drifting from one side of the road to another
  • Driving too slowly and being overly cautious
  • Driving too close to vehicle in front
  • Driving ON the center lines
  • Erratic braking
  • Swerving to correct course of vehicle

You can be charged with an offence regardless of your BAC level, as long as impairment can be proved to the legal extent necessary.

A skilled drunk driving attorney can help you defend any charges against you

Vermont BAC Calculator

BLOOD ALCOHOL CONTENT CALCULATOR
Calculate your BAC using our calculator, know your legal drunk driving limits and stay safe!!
BAC - Blood Alcohol Content Calculator

Top of page

 

Penalties for DUI - Drunk Driving in Vermont

Permitting an intoxicated person to use a motor vehicle
Under new legislation it is now a crime for any person to permit a motor vehicle owned by him/her or under their control to be operated by another person if the person who owns or controls the vehicle has knowledge that the operator is:

1) Under the influence of intoxicating liquor; OR
2) Under the influence of any other drug or under the combined influence of alcohol and any other drug which renders the person incapable of driving safely.

Any person convicted of this offense is liable for a fine of no more than $1,000 or imprisoned for up to 6 months, or both.

If the death or serious bodily injury is caused to another person other than the operator of the vehicle then any person convicted of this offense will be liable for a fine of no more than $5,000 or imprisonment for up to 2 years, or both.

Vermont is a state with lifetime ‘washout period’ also known as a 'look back period', this means that a prior conviction is admissible your entire life.


First Dui - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a first DUI - drunk driving conviction in Vermont:

  • Fined: up to $750 fine + Surcharge (see below)
  • Surcharge: $160 ($60 to department of health, $50 to the office of defender general, $50 to the DUI enforcement fund)
  • Jail: up to 2 years in jail
  • License Suspension: 90 days drivers license suspension (may be eligible for ignition interlock [RDL] restricted drivers license after first 30 days of suspension as set out below)
  • Ignition Interlock: 6 months ignition interlock [RDL] restricted drivers license
    [if RDL permanently revoked then full license re-instatement will not be considered until 1 year from date of suspension]
  • must attend and complete alcohol and driving education program before license will be re-instated
  • alcohol screening and treatment as required, if treatment required must be completed or substantial progress shown before license will be re-instated
  • Vermont SR22 insurance requirement

Second DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a second DUI - drunk driving conviction in Vermont:

  • Fine: up to $1,500 fine + Surcharge (see below)
  • Surcharge: $160 ($60 to department of health, $50 to the office of defender general, $50 to the DUI enforcement fund)
  • Jail: up to 2 years in jail
  • License Suspension: 18 months drivers license suspension (may be eligible for ignition interlock restricted license after first 90 days of suspension as set out below )
  • Ignition Interlock: 18 months ignition interlock [RDL] restricted drivers license
    [if RDL permanently revoked then full license re-instatement will not be considered until 2 years from date of suspension]
  • possible 200 hours community service
  • must attend and complete alcohol and driving education program before license will be re-instated
  • alcohol screening and treatment as required, if treatment required must be completed or substantial progress shown before license will be re-instated
  • possible immobilization of vehicle
  • Vermont SR22 insurance requirement

Third DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Felony

The penalty for a third (and subsequent) DUI - drunk driving conviction in Vermont:

  • Fine: up to $2,500 fine + Surcharge (see below)
  • Surcharge: $160 ($60 to department of health, $50 to the office of defender general, $50 to the DUI enforcement fund)
  • Jail: up to 5 years in jail
  • License Revocation: lifetime revocation of drivers license (may be eligible for ignition interlock restricted license after first 1 year of suspension as set out below )
  • Ignition Interlock: 3 years ignition interlock [RDL] restricted drivers license
    [if RDL permanently revoked then full license re-instatement will not be considered until 4 years from date of suspension and only if 3 years of total abstinence from alcohol and/or drugs can be proven]
  • possible 400 hours community service
  • must attend and complete alcohol and driving education program before license will be re-instated
  • alcohol screening and treatment as required, if treatment required must be completed or substantial progress shown before license will be re-instated
  • possible immobilization of vehicle
  • possible forfeiture of vehicle
  • Vermont SR22 insurance requirement

FOURTH (AND SUBSEQUENT) DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Felony

The penalty for a fourth (and subsequent) DUI - drunk driving conviction in Vermont:

  • Fine: up to $5,000 fine + Surcharge (see below)
  • Surcharge: $160 ($60 to department of health, $50 to the office of defender general, $50 to the DUI enforcement fund)
  • Jail: up to 10 years in jail
  • License Suspension: lifetime suspension of drivers license
  • possible 400 hours community service
  • alcohol screening and treatment as required
  • possible immobilization of vehicle
  • possible forfeiture of vehicle
  • Vermont SR22 insurance requirement

Top of page

 

 

Implied consent LAWS

Implied Consent Chemical Testing

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Vermont and implied consent laws are enforced.

Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in Vermont

In Vermont, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license will be suspended/revoked.

Administrative sanctions for refusal include a six-month license suspension on a first offense, 18 months for a second offense, and three years for a third or subsequent offense.

FIRST CHEMICAL TEST REFUSAL

  • License Suspension: 6 months drivers license suspension
  • must attend and complete alcohol and driving education program before license will be re-instated
  • alcohol screening and treatment as required, if treatment required must be completed or substantial progress shown before license will be re-instated
  • Vermont SR22 insurance requirement

SECOND Chemical test REFUSAL

  • License Suspension: 18 months drivers license suspension
  • must attend and complete alcohol and driving education program before license will be re-instated
  • alcohol screening and treatment as required, if treatment required must be completed or substantial progress shown before license will be re-instated
  • Vermont SR22 insurance requirement

Third Chemical test REFUSAL

  • License Suspension: lifetime drivers license suspension (may be eligible for full re-instatement if and after 3 years of total abstinence from alcohol and/or drugs can be shown)
  • must attend and complete alcohol and driving education program before license will be re-instated
  • alcohol screening and treatment as required, if treatment required must be completed or substantial progress shown before license will be re-instated
  • Vermont SR22 insurance requirement

FOURTH (and subsequent) Chemical test REFUSAL

Top of page

 

 

Vermont SR22 insurance (High Risk auto Insurance)

Compare Vermont SR22 Auto Insurance Rates and Save $$$'s
Vermont SR22 Insurance



Vermont SR22 Insurance Quote Line - Toll Free


list of auto insurance companies we search to find you the best rate

Vermont SR-22 auto insurance is usually required for a period of 3 years after a DUI - drunk driving - alcohol related driving conviction and can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider.  Some insurance companies will not even do an SR22 insurance filing. Get a FREE SR22 DUI auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for Vermont auto insurance in a matter of minutes.

Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of Vermont

The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of Vermont for private passenger vehicles is (25/50/10). This equates to the following liability coverage:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability (BIL) per person
  • $50,000 for two or more people in one accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) coverage

What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?

(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.

What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?

(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.

Top of page



Disclaimer: While every effort is made to keep all information up to date, the Vermont drunk driving laws change frequently and the information provided on this web site should not be construed as legal advice, nor is it necessarily complete. Drinkdriving.org shall not be held responsible for any actions a person may take as a result of information gathered from this web site. Consultation with a local Vermont DUI lawyer is recommended in all cases.

 

Useful Vermont DUI Links:

DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in Vermont

Vermont Drivers Manual

Vermont SR22 Insurance Requirement

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)

Vermont Department of Public Safety

Vermont Agency of Transportation

Vermont State Courts

Vermont Department of Insurance

Vermont DUI Lawyers

Vermont DUI discussion forum

Top of page

 

Latest Vermont DUI News

This RSS feed URL is deprecated
This RSS feed URL is deprecated, please update. New URLs can be found in the footers at https://news.google.com/news
Mon, 25 Jun 2018 06:42:23 GMT

Berkshire crash leaves one dead, driver suspected of DUI - BurlingtonFreePress.com


BurlingtonFreePress.com

Berkshire crash leaves one dead, driver suspected of DUI
BurlingtonFreePress.com
BERKSHIRE - An Enosburg Falls man, who was a passenger in a one-car crash Tuesday, has succumbed to his injuries, Vermont State Police said. The crash occurred shortly after midnight Tuesday on Water Tower Road, just south of Mineral Brook Road, ...
Franklin County crash kills passenger; driver charged with DUIWCAX

all 2 news articles »

Wed, 30 May 2018 13:41:44 GMT

Vermont State Police Log: Fisherman cited for DUI, third offense - Addison County Independent


Vermont State Police Log: Fisherman cited for DUI, third offense
Addison County Independent
ADDISON COUNTY ? Vermont State Police troopers came across Christopher Ardell, 48, of Northfield at a fishing access on Panton Road in Panton at around 8 p.m. on Saturday, June 9. While speaking with Ardell, troopers learned he had driven to this ...


Thu, 14 Jun 2018 16:29:33 GMT

Essex man stopped for DUI on Milton's I-89 - Milton Independent


Milton Independent

Essex man stopped for DUI on Milton's I-89
Milton Independent
Joshua J. Jones, 23, was charged with driving under the influence and careless and negligent operation after Vermont State Police pulled him over near mile marker 100 in Milton on Interstate 89 northbound on June 2, police said. Trooper Nathaniel ...


Wed, 06 Jun 2018 16:09:32 GMT

Speeding, Alleged DUI For Troy Man - Caledonian Record


Speeding, Alleged DUI For Troy Man
Caledonian Record
Christopher Beaulieu, 31, of Troy, was pulled over around 11 p.m. for allegedly traveling 24 miles over the speed limit on Vermont Route 101 in Troy. Thanks for Reading! You've reached a subscriber area. To continue reading please sign up and subscribe ...


Thu, 21 Jun 2018 23:31:01 GMT

Top of page

Vermont Cities
Barre
Bennington
Brattleboro
Burlington
Chester
Colchester
Essex Junction
Ludlow
Manchester
Manchester Center
Middlebury
Montpelier
Newport
Norwich
Poultney
Rutland
Saint Albans
Saint Johnsbury
Shelburne
South Burlington
South Royalton
Springfield
Stowe
Waitsfield
Waterbury
White River Junction
Windsor
Woodstock
Vermont Counties
Addison
Bennington
Caledonia
Chittenden
Essex
Franklin
Grand Isle
Lamoille
Orange
Orleans
Rutland
Washington
Windham
Windsor

Top of page

States/Abbreviations
AK Alaska LA Louisiana OH Ohio
AL Alabama MA Massachusetts OK Oklahoma
AR Arkansas MD Maryland OR Oregon
AZ Arizona ME Maine PA Pennsylvania
CA California MI Michigan RI Rhode Island
CO Colorado MN Minnesota SC South Carolina
CT Connecticut MO Missouri SD South Dakota
DE Delaware MS Mississippi TN Tennessee
FL Florida MT Montana TX Texas
GA Georgia NC North Carolina UT Utah
HI Hawaii ND North Dakota VT Vermont
IA Iowa NE Nebraska VA Virginia
ID Idaho NH New Hampshire WA Washington State
IL Illinois NJ New Jersey WI Wisconsin
IN Indiana NM New Mexico WV West Virginia
KS Kansas NV Nevada WY Wyoming
KY Kentucky NY New York DC Washington DC

USA DUI Home | DUI Forums | DUI Laws by State | Worldwide BAC Limits | Alcohol Breathalyzers
DUI SR22 Insurance | DUI Lawyers | DUI Drunk Driving in the News | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

©2018 Drinkdriving.org