Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA BAC Calculator | DUI Forums Drink Driving in the UK Drink Driving in the UK
Cheap SR22 Insurance Quotes ENTER ZIP:
FREE LAWYER CONSULTATIONSR22 INSURANCE | DUI LAWYERS | DUI LAWS

Dont Drink and Drive!!

Breathalyzers for Sale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Washington DUI Laws

Washington DUI Lawyers - Drunk Driving Attorneys

Washington
Washington

Washington DUI Forum | SR22 Insurance Requirements

The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in Washington is 0.08% per se
(effective from Jan 1st 1999)

Cheap SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes for High Risk Drivers in Washington

Washington DUI Laws & BAC Limits | Washington DUI Penalties

Washington DUI SR22 Insurance

Washington Drunk Driving Statistics

Useful Washington DUI Links | Latest Washington DUI News


DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in other States


Washington Drunk Driving Laws

(If you’ve been charged with Washington DUI, the law allows 20 days for your Washington DUI Lawyer to make a request for a Washington Department of Licensing (DOL) administrative hearing to save your driving license)

Washington is a member of the Interstate Drivers License Compact
An agreement between participating states to share information regarding certain types of convictions including DUI - DWI and related Drunk Driving offenses. If a resident of one state gets convicted of a drunk driving offense in another state, the driver's home state will be notified. The type of action that the driver's home state will take will vary from state to state.

Washington DUI Laws and BAC limits

ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
In the State of Washington it is crime for ANY driver to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.08% and above.

COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
It is a crime for commercial vehicle operators to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.04% or above.

MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
It is a crime for persons under 21 years of age to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.02% or above.

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Washington and implied consent laws are enforced.

BLOOD ALCOHOL CONTENT CALCULATOR
Calculate your BAC using our calculator, know your legal drunk driving limits and stay safe!!
BAC - Blood Alcohol Content Calculator

Top of page

 

Penalties for DUI - Drunk Driving in Washington

Washington is a state with a seven year ‘washout period’ also known as a 'look back period'.

DEFERRED PROSECUTION

A person charged with certain misdemeanors and gross misdemeanors, including DUI, in district or municipal court may petition the court for a deferred prosecution in certain circumstances. A deferred prosecution program requires the person to, among other things, undergo treatment in a two-year program. The court will dismiss the charges three years after the completion of the treatment program.


First DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

Possible Deferred Prosecution

The penalty for a first DUI - drunk driving conviction in Washington:

  • Fine: $350 to $5,000 fine
  • Jail: 1 day to 1 year in jail (possible 15 days minimum home electronic monitoring in lieu of jail time)
  • Drivers License Suspension: minimum 90 days drivers license suspension (1 year revocation if BAC 0.15 or more)
  • Ignition Interlock: at least 1 year ignition interlock restriction (must install IID before license reinstatement)
  • alcohol evaluation and treatment as determined by the court
  • Washington SR22 insurance requirement

Second DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

Possible Deferred Prosecution

The penalty for a second DUI - drunk driving conviction in Washington:

  • Fine: $500 to $5,000 fine
  • Jail: 30 days to 1 year in jail AND 60 days of home electronic monitoring
  • Drivers License Revocation: 2 years drivers license revocation (900 days license revocation if BAC 0.15 or more)
  • Ignition Interlock: at least 5 years ignition interlock restriction (must install IID before license reinstatement)
  • alcohol evaluation and treatment as determined by the court
  • Washington SR22 insurance requirement

Third DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Misdemeanor

The penalty for a third DUI - drunk driving conviction in Washington:

  • Fine: $1,000 to $5,000 fine
  • Jail: 30 days to 1 year in jail AND 120 days of home electronic monitoring
  • Drivers License Revocation: 3 years drivers license revocation (4 years license revocation if BAC 0.15 or more)
  • Ignition Interlock: at least 10 years ignition interlock restriction (must install IID before license reinstatement)
  • alcohol evaluation and treatment as determined by the court
  • Washington SR22 insurance requirement

FELONY DUI

A conviction for DUI is a Class C Felony if the driver has:

  • (a) four or more DUI-related prior offenses within 10 years; or
    (b) any prior conviction of a DUI-related vehicular homicide or vehicular assault, or a comparable out-of-state conviction.
    (c) if the person has ever previously been convicted of felony DUI in Washington.

Penalties for felony DUI are governed by the Sentencing Reform Act, and the driver's presumptive sentence depends, in part, on his or her "offender score" (based on prior criminal history). A DUI offender with four prior misdemeanor DUI's will receive a presumptive sentence range of 22 to 29 months.

 

Implied consent LAWS

Implied Consent Chemical Testing

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Washington and implied consent laws are enforced.

Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in Washington

In Washington, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license will be suspended/revoked.

FIRST CHEMICAL TEST REFUSAL

SECOND Chemical test REFUSAL

SECOND (and subsequent) Chemical test REFUSAL

Top of page

 

 

Washington SR22 insurance (High Risk auto Insurance)

Compare Washington SR22 Auto Insurance Rates and Save $$$'s
Washington SR22 Insurance



Washington SR22 Insurance Quote Line - Toll Free


list of auto insurance companies we search to find you the best rate

Washington SR-22 auto insurance is required for a period of 3 years after a DUI - drunk driving - alcohol related driving conviction and can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider.  Some insurance companies will not even do an SR22 insurance filing. Get a FREE SR22 DUI auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for Washington auto insurance in a matter of minutes.

Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of Washington

The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of Washington for private passenger vehicles is (25/50/10). This equates to the following liability coverage:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability (BIL) per person
  • $50,000 for two or more people in one accident
  • $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) coverage

What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?

(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.

What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?

(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.

Top of page



Disclaimer: While every effort is made to keep all information up to date, the Washington drunk driving laws change frequently and the information provided on this web site should not be construed as legal advice, nor is it necessarily complete. Drinkdriving.org shall not be held responsible for any actions a person may take as a result of information gathered from this web site. Consultation with a local Washington DUI lawyer is recommended in all cases.

 

Useful Washington DUI Links:

DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in Washington

Washington Drivers Manual

Washington SR22 Insurance Requirement

Washington Department of licensing (DOL)

Washington Department of Transportation

Washington State Courts

Washington Department of Insurance

Washington DUI Lawyers

Washington DUI discussion forum

Top of page

 

Latest Washington DUI News

This RSS feed URL is deprecated
This RSS feed URL is deprecated, please update. New URLs can be found in the footers at https://news.google.com/news
Mon, 25 Jun 2018 07:35:53 GMT

PD: DUI suspect car goes airborne, lands on cars at Surprise dealership - ABC15 Arizona


ABC15 Arizona

PD: DUI suspect car goes airborne, lands on cars at Surprise dealership
ABC15 Arizona
SURPRISE, AZ - A DUI suspect's car went airborne before landing on several vehicles at a car dealership in Surprise. Surprise police report that on June 11, 21-year-old Zachary David Washington allegedly went through a stop sign at 115th Avenue and ...


Mon, 18 Jun 2018 21:57:14 GMT

Baby Raccoons Rescued From DUI Crash - Patch.com


Patch.com

Baby Raccoons Rescued From DUI Crash
Patch.com
SHELTON, WA - Why was this woman driving drunk with two baby raccoons in her truck? We may never know. But we do know that the raccoons (the woman) are safe. The Mason County Sheriff's Office responded to this DUI crash Friday morning along ...
Driver arrested for suspicion of DUI after rollover accident; 2 baby raccoons savedQ13 FOX

all 2 news articles »

Sat, 09 Jun 2018 02:06:22 GMT

Washington House Budget Chair Pleads Guilty After DUI Arrest - OPB News


OPB News

Washington House Budget Chair Pleads Guilty After DUI Arrest
OPB News
In Washington, 0.08 constitutes driving under the influence. Since this was his first DUI arrest, Ormsby was allowed to plead guilty to the lesser charge of reckless driving. He paid a $1,100 fine and has been ordered to meet with victims of drunk driving.
Washington House Budget Chair Pleads Guilty To Reckless Driving ...KUOW News and Information
krem.com | Spokane lawmaker pleads guilty to reckless driving in ...KREM.com

all 4 news articles »

Thu, 31 May 2018 01:16:45 GMT

Man arrested on suspicion of DUI after off-road crash in Washington ... - KSL.com


KSL.com

Man arrested on suspicion of DUI after off-road crash in Washington ...
KSL.com
Deputies arrested a 51-year-old man on suspicion of driving under the influence after his off-highway vehicle rolled in Washington County Monday, seriously ...
Utah man suspected of DUI in off-highway vehicle crash that left son ...fox13now.com
Man booked for DUI after OHV crash injures 2 in Washington County ...Gephardt Daily

all 9 news articles »

Tue, 19 Jun 2018 18:50:15 GMT

Top of page

Washington Cities
Aberdeen
Arlington
Auburn
Bainbridge Island
Bellevue
Bellingham
Bothell
Bremerton
Camas
Centralia
Chehalis
Chelan
Clarkston
Colville
Coupeville
Edmonds
Ellensburg
Ephrata
Everett
Federal Way
Friday Harbor
Gig Harbor
Hoquiam
Issaquah
Kelso
Kenmore
Kennewick
Kent
Kirkland
Lacey
Lakewood
Longview
Lynnwood
Marysville
Mercer Island
Moses Lake
Mount Vernon
Oak Harbor
Olympia
Pasco
Port Angeles
Port Orchard
Port Townsend
Poulsbo
Pullman
Puyallup
Redmond
Renton
Richland
Seattle
Sequim
Shelton
Silverdale
Snohomish
Spokane
Sumner
Tacoma
University Place
Vancouver
Vashon
Walla Walla
Wenatchee
Woodinville
Yakima
Washington Counties
Adams
Asotin
Benton
Chelan
Clallam
Clark
Columbia
Cowlitz
Douglas
Ferry
Franklin
Garfield
Grant
Grays Harbor
Island
Jefferson
King
Kitsap
Kittitas
Klickitat
Lewis
Lincoln
Mason
Okanogan
Pacific
Pend Oreille
Pierce
San Juan
Skagit
Skamania
Snohomish
Spokane
Stevens
Thurston
Wahkiakum
Walla Walla
Whatcorn
Whitman
Yakima

Top of page

States/Abbreviations
AK Alaska LA Louisiana OH Ohio
AL Alabama MA Massachusetts OK Oklahoma
AR Arkansas MD Maryland OR Oregon
AZ Arizona ME Maine PA Pennsylvania
CA California MI Michigan RI Rhode Island
CO Colorado MN Minnesota SC South Carolina
CT Connecticut MO Missouri SD South Dakota
DE Delaware MS Mississippi TN Tennessee
FL Florida MT Montana TX Texas
GA Georgia NC North Carolina UT Utah
HI Hawaii ND North Dakota VT Vermont
IA Iowa NE Nebraska VA Virginia
ID Idaho NH New Hampshire WA Washington State
IL Illinois NJ New Jersey WI Wisconsin
IN Indiana NM New Mexico WV West Virginia
KS Kansas NV Nevada WY Wyoming
KY Kentucky NY New York DC Washington DC

USA DUI Home | DUI Forums | DUI Laws by State | Worldwide BAC Limits | Alcohol Breathalyzers
DUI SR22 Insurance | DUI Lawyers | DUI Drunk Driving in the News | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

©2018 Drinkdriving.org