|YOU ARE HERE: Home > DUI Laws > West Virginia DUI Laws|
The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in West Virginia is 0.08% per se
West Virginia Drunk Driving Laws
(If you’ve been charged with West Virginia DUI, the law allows 10 days for your West Virginia DUI Lawyer to make a request for a West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) administrative hearing to save your driving license)
ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
It is a crime to refuse to submit to a chemical test in West Virginia and implied consent laws are enforced.
West Virginia BAC Calculator
West Virginia is a state with a ten-year ‘washout period’ also known as a 'look back period'.
NOTE: Out of State Convictions
First Dui DWI- Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR
The penalty for a first DUI DWI - drunk driving conviction in West Virginia:
Second DUI DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR
The penalty for a second DUI DWI - drunk driving conviction in West Virginia:
Third (and subsequent) DUI DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Felony
The penalty for a third DUI DWI - drunk driving conviction in West Virginia:
It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in West Virginia and implied consent laws are enforced.
Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in West Virginia
In West Virginia, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license will be suspended/revoked.
FIRST CHEMICAL TEST REFUSAL
SECOND Chemical test REFUSAL
Third (and subsequent) Chemical test REFUSAL
West Virginia SR-22 auto insurance is usually required for a period of 3 years after a DUI DWI - drunk driving - alcohol related driving conviction and can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider. Some insurance companies will not even do an SR22 insurance filing. Get a FREE DUI auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for West Virginia auto insurance in a matter of minutes.
Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of West Virginia
The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of West Virginia for private passenger vehicles is (20/40/10). This equates to the following liability coverage:
What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?
(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.
What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?
(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.
This RSS feed URL is deprecated
Mon, 28 May 2018 15:21:34 GMT
Wed, 30 May 2018 00:11:37 GMT
Sun, 27 May 2018 00:51:42 GMT
Tue, 29 May 2018 20:57:23 GMT