|YOU ARE HERE: Home > DUI Laws > Wisconsin DUI Laws|
The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in Wisconsin is 0.08% per se
Wisconsin Drunk Driving Laws
(If you’ve been charged with Wisconsin OWI DUI, the law allows 10 days for your Wisconsin DUI OWI Lawyer to make a request for a Wisconsin Department of Transport (DOT) administrative hearing to save your driving license)
Wisconsin DUI is commonly referred to as OWI (operating while intoxicated / operating while impaired)
ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
DRIVERS WITH 3 OWI CONVICTIONS - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
It is a crime to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Wisconsin and implied consent laws are enforced.
Wisconsin is a state with a ten-year ‘washout period’ also known as a 'look back period'.
First OWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - CIVIL OFFENSE
The penalty for a first OWI - drunk driving conviction in Wisconsin:
INCREASED PENALTIES - BAC 0.15% or HIGHER
Second OWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR
The penalty for a second OWI - drunk driving conviction in Wisconsin:
Third OWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR
The penalty for a third OWI - drunk driving conviction in Wisconsin:
Fourth OWI - Drunk Driving Conviction
Misdemeanor (if last prior offense more than 5 years ago)
FELONY (if any prior offense within 5 years)
The penalty for a fourth OWI - drunk driving conviction in Wisconsin:
Fifth or sixth OWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - FELONY
The penalty for a fifth or sixth OWI - drunk driving conviction in Wisconsin:
Seventh, eighth or ninth OWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - FELONY
The penalty for a seventh, eighth or ninth OWI - drunk driving conviction in Wisconsin:
Tenth (or subsequent) OWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - FELONY
The penalty for a tenth (or subsequent) OWI - drunk driving conviction in Wisconsin:
It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Wisconsin and implied consent laws are enforced
Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in Wisconsin
In Wisconsin, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license will be suspended/revoked.
FIRST CHEMICAL TEST REFUSAL
Second CHEMICAL TEST REFUSAL
Third and subsequent CHEMICAL TEST REFUSAL
Wisconsin SR-22 auto insurance is usually required for a period of 3 years after a OWI - DUI - drunk driving - alcohol related driving conviction (except on a first conviction of OWI) and can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider. Some insurance companies will not even do an SR22 insurance filing. Get a FREE SR22 DUI auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for Wisconsin auto insurance in a matter of minutes.
Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of Wisconsin
The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of Wisconsin for private passenger vehicles is (25/50/10). This equates to the following liability coverage:
What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?
(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.
What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?
(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.
This RSS feed URL is deprecated
Wed, 19 Sep 2018 23:51:56 GMT
Tue, 25 Sep 2018 13:56:34 GMT
Wed, 12 Sep 2018 21:51:05 GMT
Sat, 22 Sep 2018 16:38:00 GMT