Monday , 21 May 2018
Breaking News
Home » Alabama » Alabama New DUI Laws Sep 1st 2012

Alabama New DUI Laws Sep 1st 2012

New Alabama DUI Laws in effect as of September 1st 2012

An act known as the “Mathew John Dahl DUI Prevention Act” will tighten punishments for first time and repeat DUI offenders in Alabama.

First time drunk drivers convicted of DUI with a BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of 0.15% or above or first time offenders that had a child under the age of 14 in the vehicle at the time of the offense or first time offenders that caused an injury to someone else at the time of the offense will now have to install and use an ignition interlock device for a period of 2 years upon drivers license issuance. First time offenders who refuse a chemical test to determine their BAC will also be subject to using an IID for a period of 2 years.

All repeat offenders will be required to install and use an ignition interlock device upon drivers license issuance regardless of their BAC.

All offenders who refuse a chemical test will also be required by law to install and use an ignition interlock device upon drivers license issuance.

Check Also

New Kansas DUI Laws as of July 1st 2012

As of July 1st 2012, the legislation relating to DUI and alcohol related driving offenses …