Monday , 21 May 2018
Breaking News
Home » New DUI Drunk Driving Laws » New DWI Laws in New York, 2012

New DWI Laws in New York, 2012

A multi faceted initiative designed for repeat drunk drivers makes New York DWI laws some of the toughest in the nation

The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will now review an offenders lifetime driving record once they apply for a new drivers license after revocation.

Under old laws a driver convicted of DWI for a third or fourth time would receive a court ordered minimum 1 year drivers license revocation and an ignition interlock restriction of no less than 6 months upon drivers license renewal. Under new laws third and fourth  time offenders will still receive a court ordered minimum 1 year drivers license revocation however the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles will deny any application for a new drivers license for a period of 5 years after the revocation period (a total of 6 years without a drivers license for third and foruth time offenders) AND when a new drivers license is finally issued after these 6 years it will be issued with a problem driver restriction which restricts the places a person can drive and mandates that an ignition interlock device must also be used.

However, if a third or fourth time DWI offender has a serious driving offense on their driving records within the preceeding 25 years they will be classed as a persistently dangerous driver and any application for a new drivers license will be denied permanently (subject to compelling or extenuating circumstances). Permanent denial will also be applied to repeat offenders who are convicted of an alcohol related driving offense five times or more in their lifetime.

These are just some of the harsher penalties Governor Andrew M. Cuomo introduced. You can read more about the changes that affect multiple alcohol/drugged driving offenders on The New York States Department of Motor Vehicles web site here. Governor Cuomo said. “This comprehensive effort will make New York safer, by keeping these drivers off our roadways.”

Check Also

New Kansas DUI Laws as of July 1st 2012

As of July 1st 2012, the legislation relating to DUI and alcohol related driving offenses …