As of July 1st 2012, the legislation relating to DUI and alcohol related driving offenses in Kansas will change as the new DUI laws come into affect. There has been several changes made to the legislation, however the most substantial change relates to chemical test refusals.
There are now harsher penalties for people who refuse to submit to a test to determine the amount of alcohol they have in their systems. People convicted of refusing to submit to a test will now face longer periods of restricted driving priviliges once they have served any period of mandatory driving suspension.
Under the new law people who refuse a test will also have to wait longer before they can apply for an IID restricted hardship drivers license, under the old law it was possible to apply for a hardship drivers license after 45 days of the suspension period had been served, under the new laws people convicted of refusing to submit to a test will now not be eligible to apply for a hardship drivers license until after 90 days of the suspension period has been served.
A restricted hardship drivers license allows a person to only drive motor vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device and only for the purposes of travelling to and from work, school, an alcohol treatment program or to the ignition interlock provider for maintenance and downloading of data from the device.
Legislation relating to the impoundment or immobilization of motor vehicles has also been removed.
The new Kansas DUI legislation will be effective from July 1st 2012.