Alabama DUI Laws & Drunk Driving Penalties


Overview of the penalties upon conviction of DUI in Alabama

Alabama DUI Laws, BAC limits, fines, jail times, IID requirements, suspension/revocation periods and SR22 insurance requirements for first time and repeat offenders with multiple DUI's.

If you've been charged with DUI in Alabama, the law allows only 10 days for a Alabama DUI Lawyer to make a request with the Alabama Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division for a hearing to help save your drivers license.

What are the penalties for DUI in Alabama?

The penalties for driving under the influence in Alabama will depend upon the exact circumstances of each particular case and the number of previous offenses (if any) a person has.

AL DUI Penalties

Alabama is a state with a 5 year 'washout period' also known as a 'look back period'

1st DUI Offense / Conviction - Misdemeanor

The penalty upon conviction of a first DUI offense in Alabama:

Top of Page

2nd DUI Offense / Conviction - Misdemeanor

The penalty upon conviction of a second DUI offense in Alabama:

Top of Page

3rd DUI Offense / Conviction - Misdemeanor

The penalty upon conviction of a third DUI offense in Alabama:

Top of Page

4th (& subsequent) DUI Offense / Conviction - Class C Felony

The penalty upon conviction of a fourth or subsequent DUI offense in Alabama:

Top of Page


Implied Consent (Chemical Testing) Laws

Alabama Chemical Testing Laws

In Alabama any person driving a motor vehicle is deemed to have given their consent for chemical testing of their breath, blood or urine in order to determine the alcohol content within their blood if lawfully arrested for driving under the influence. It is an offense to refuse to submit or fail to complete a blood alcohol test when required to do so.

Chemical Test Refusal Penalties - Alabama

If a person refuses to submit to a chemical test in Alabama, evidence of the test refusal shall be admissible in any civil or criminal proceedings arising out of any acts alleged to have been committed while the person was driving or in actual physical control while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance.

First Chemical Test Refusal

Second (& subsequent) Chemical Test Refusal

Top of Page


What is the legal alcohol limit in Alabama

The maximum legal BAC (blood alcohol content) limits in Alabama for driving are as follows:

ADULT DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
In the State of Alabama it is an offense for adult drivers to drive any regular motor vehicle with 0.08% or more, by weight, of alcohol in his/her blood.

DRIVERS UNDER 21 - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
In the State of Alabama it is an offense for drivers under the age of 21 (minors) to drive any motor vehicle with 0.02% or more, by weight, of alcohol in his/her blood.

SCHOOL BUS / DAY CARE DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
In the State of Alabama it is an offense for school bus and day care drivers to drive with 0.02% or more, by weight, of alcohol in his/her blood.

COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
In the State of Alabama it is an offense for drivers who drive commercial vehicles to drive any commercial motor vehicle with 0.04% or more, by weight, of alcohol in his/her blood.

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Alabama and implied consent laws are enforced.

Cities in Alabama


Counties in Alabama


DUI Laws - Drinkdriving.org

DrinkDriving.org
Your DUI Law Information Resource
LOOKING FOR CHEAP SR22 INSURANCE? - Compare Rates Today



Breathalyzers for Sale
States/Abbreviations AK
AL
AR
AZ
CA
CO
CT
DE
FL
GA
HI
IA
ID
IL
IN
KS
KY
Alaska
Alabama
Arkansas
Arizona
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Iowa
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Kansas
Kentucky
LA
MA
MD
ME
MI
MN
MO
MS
MT
NC
ND
NE
NH
NJ
NM
NV
NY
Louisiana
Massachusetts
Maryland
Maine
Michigan
Minnesota
Missouri
Mississippi
Montana
North Carolina
North Dakota
Nebraska
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
Nevada
New York
OH
OK
OR
PA
RI
SC
SD
TN
TX
UT
VT
VA
WA
WI
WV
WY
DC
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington State
Wisconsin
West Virginia
Wyoming
Washington DC