|YOU ARE HERE: Home > DUI Laws > Iowa DUI Laws|
The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in Iowa is 0.08% per se
Iowa Drunk Driving Laws
(If you’ve been charged with Iowa OWI / DUI, the law allows 10 days for your Iowa DWI Lawyer to make a request for an Iowa Department of Transportation administrative hearing to save your driving license)
ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.01%
It is a crime to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Iowa and implied consent laws are enforced.
Iowa BAC Calculator
In Iowa drunk driving is known as OWI (operating a vehicle while intoxicated)
Iowa is a state with a twelve-year ‘washout period’ also known as a 'look back period'.
First OWI DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR
The penalty for a first OWI DWI - drunk driving conviction in Iowa:
Second OWI DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR
The penalty for a second OWI DWI - drunk driving conviction in Iowa:
Third (and Subsequent) OWI DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - felony
The penalty for a third and subsequent OWI DWI - drunk driving conviction in Iowa:
It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Iowa and implied consent laws are enforced.
Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in Iowa
In Iowa, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license will be suspended/revoked.
FIRST CHEMICAL TEST REFUSAL
SECOND (AND SUBSEQUENT) Chemical Test REFUSALS
Iowa SR-22 auto insurance is usually required for a period of 2 years after a OWI / DWI - drunk driving - alcohol related driving conviction and can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider. Some insurance companies will not even do an SR22 insurance filing. Get a FREE DUI auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for Iowa auto insurance in a matter of minutes.
A person under the age of 21 whose license was revoked because he/she tested .02 or more but less than .08 is not required to file an SR-22.
Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of Iowa
The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of Iowa for private passenger vehicles is (20/40/15). This equates to the following liability coverage:
What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?
(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.
What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?
(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.
This RSS feed URL is deprecated
Mon, 30 Oct 2017 12:13:44 GMT
Sun, 29 Oct 2017 20:07:46 GMT
Wed, 18 Oct 2017 21:28:48 GMT
Thu, 19 Oct 2017 22:50:30 GMT
USA DUI Home | DUI Forums | DUI Laws by State |
Worldwide BAC Limits | Drunk Driving Blog