Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA BAC Calculator | DUI Forums Drink Driving in the UK Drink Driving in the UK
Cheap SR22 Insurance Quotes ENTER ZIP:
FREE LAWYER CONSULTATIONSR22 INSURANCE | DUI LAWYERS | DUI LAWS

Dont Drink and Drive!!

Breathalyzers for Sale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Louisiana DWI DUI Laws

FREE  DUI Lawyer Consultation & Drunk Driving Attorney Case Evaluation in

Louisiana DUI Lawyers - Drunk Driving Attorneys

Louisiana
Louisiana

Louisiana DUI Forum | SR22 Insurance Requirements

The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in Louisiana is 0.08% per se
(effective from Sep 30th 2003)

Cheap SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes for High Risk Drivers in Louisiana

Louisiana DUI Laws & BAC Limits | Louisiana DUI Penalties

Louisiana DUI SR22 Insurance

Louisiana Drunk Driving Statistics

Useful Louisiana DUI Links | Latest Louisiana DUI News


DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in other States


Louisiana Drunk Driving Laws

(If you’ve been charged with Louisiana DUI, the law allows only 15 days for your Louisiana DUI Lawyer to make a request with the Louisiana Department of Public Safety for a hearing to save your driving license)

Louisiana is a member of the Interstate Drivers License Compact
An agreement between participating states to share information regarding certain types of convictions including DUI - DWI and related Drunk Driving offenses. If a resident of one state gets convicted of a drunk driving offense in another state, the driver's home state will be notified. The type of action that the driver's home state will take will vary from state to state.

Louisiana DUI DWI Laws and BAC limits

ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
In the State of Louisiana it is crime for ANY driver to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.08% and above.

COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
It is a crime for commercial vehicle operators to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.04% or above.

MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
It is a crime for persons under 21 years of age to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.02% or above.

It can be an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Louisiana and implied consent laws are enforced.

BLOOD ALCOHOL CONTENT CALCULATOR
Calculate your BAC using our calculator, know your legal drunk driving limits and stay safe!!
BAC - Blood Alcohol Content Calculator

Top of page

 

Penalties for DUI DWI - Drunk Driving in Louisiana

In Louisiana a five-year ‘washout period’ also known as a 'look back period'.

NOTE: OUT OF STATE CONVICTIONS
Under Louisiana state law, an alcohol related driving conviction in any other state, municipality or town which prohibits the operation of any motor vehicle while intoxicated, impaired or under the influence of alcohol shall constitute a prior conviction.

ENHANCED PENALTIES
Enhanced penalties which can result in increased minimum jail time, suspension/revocation periods, fines etc are implied in cases with aggravating factors such as:

1) Committing an offense with a BAC of 0.15 or higher
2) Committing an offense with a BAC of 0.20 or higher
3) Committing an offense while a minor 12 years of age or younger was in the vehicle


First DUI DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a first DUI DWI - drunk driving conviction in Louisiana:

  • Fine: $300 to $1,000 fine ($750 to $1,000 if BAC 0.20 or more)
  • Jail: 10 days to 6 months in jail
  • Driving License Suspension: 12 months (1 year) drivers license suspension (2 years if BAC 0.20 or more)
  • Restricted Drivers License: a restricted hardship driving license may be available immediately and an ignition interlock will be required for entire time of applicable suspension period or for at least 12 months if convicted with a high BAC of 0.20 or more
  • possible 32 hours community service
  • possible court approved substance abuse program
  • possible court improved driver improvement program
  • Louisiana SR22 insurance requirement

Second DUI DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a second DUI DWI - drunk driving conviction in Louisiana:

  • Fine: $750 to $1,000 fine
  • Jail: 30 days to 6 months in jail
  • Driving License Suspension: 24 months (2 years) drivers license suspension (4 years if BAC 0.20 or more)
  • Restricted Drivers License: a restricted hardship driving license may be available after 45 days and an ignition interlock will be required for entire time of applicable suspension period
  • possible 240 hours community service
  • possible court approved substance abuse program
  • possible court improved driver improvement program
  • (IID) ignition interlock restriction upon drivers license re-instatement
  • Louisiana SR22 insurance requirement

Third (and subsequent) DUI DWI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Felony

The penalty for a third DUI DWI - drunk driving conviction in Louisiana:

  • Fine: $2,000 fine
  • Jail: 1 to 5 year in jail (with or without hard labor)
    [home incarceration an option]
  • Driving License Suspension: 36 months (3 years) drivers license suspension
  • Restricted Drivers License: if enrolled on a DWI or sobriety program and in good standing with presiding judge will be eligible to apply for ignition interlock restricted hardship driving license after not less than 45 days of suspension period has been served
  • must complete substance abuse evaluation and treatment programs as required
  • possible court approved substance abuse program
  • possible court improved driver improvement program
  • possible seizure and sale of motor vehicle
  • (IID) ignition interlock restriction upon drivers license re-instatement
  • Louisiana SR22 insurance requirement

Implied consent LAWS

Implied Consent Chemical Testing

It can be an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Louisiana and implied consent laws are enforced.

Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in Louisiana

In Louisiana, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license may be suspended/revoked.


Chemical Test Refusal while not under arrest FOR DUI

Refusing to submit to a chemical test while NOT under arrest for DUI

Refusing a chemical test is an offense when a person IS NOT under arrest for DUI

AND


1) That person has refused to submit to such a test on two previous and separate occasions of such a violation; OR
2) A fatality has occurred in a crash; OR
3) A person has sustained serious bodily injury in a crash

Refusing to so submit to a chemical test under these circumstances while NOT under arrest for DUI will result in the following penalties:

  • Fine: $300 to $1,000 fine
  • Jail: 2 days to 6 months jail
  • possible 32 hours community service
  • possible court approved substance abuse program
  • possible court improved driver improvement program

Chemical Test Refusal while under arrest FOR DUI

Refusing to submit to a chemical test while under arrest for DUI

Refusing a chemical test is an offense when a person IS under arrest for DUI

AND

1) That person has refused to submit to such a test on two previous and separate occasions of such a violation;

Refusing to so submit to a chemical test under these circumstances while under arrest for DUI will result in the same penalties as those received for DUI.

An ignition interlock restricted hardship drivers license may be available immediately upon conviction of refusing a chemical test FOR THE FIRST REFUSAL OFFENCE ONLY.


Top of page

 

 

 

Louisiana SR22 insurance (High Risk Auto Insurance)

Compare Louisiana SR22 Auto Insurance Rates and Save $$$'s
Louisiana SR22 Insurance



Louisiana SR22 Insurance Quote Line - Toll Free


list of auto insurance companies we search to find you the best rate

Louisiana SR-22 auto insurance is usually required for a period of 3 years after a DUI - DWI - drunk driving - alcohol related driving conviction and can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider. Some insurance companies will not even do an SR22 insurance filing. Get a FREE DUI DWI auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for Louisiana auto insurance in a matter of minutes.

Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of Louisiana

The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of Louisiana for private passenger vehicles is (15/30/25). This equates to the following liability coverage:

  • $15,000 bodily injury liability (BIL) per person
  • $30,000 for two or more people in one accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability (PDL) coverage

What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?

(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.

What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?

(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.

Top of page

 



FREE DUI / DWI Case evaluation & by local Louisiana Lawyer

Talk to an Louisiana drunk driving attorney and get the facts and evidence of your case reviewed for free - free Louisiana DUI lawyer consultation
FREE Louisiana Case Evaluation by Local Louisiana DWI DUI Lawyer / Drunk Driving Attorney
FREE DUI Louisiana Lawyer Drunk Driving Attorney Consultation - CALL TOLL FREE

OR


Protect your rights! Talk to a local DUI lawyer

Louisiana DUI cases tend to move quickly through the system, and there may be important deadlines that affect your right to assert certain defenses or call witnesses. It’s important that you understand the process your Louisiana drunk driving case will follow and the important requirements and deadlines before you take any action—but you can’t afford to delay.

Talk to a local Louisiana Drunk Driving Attorney as soon as possible to gather important information such as:

• What penalties do you face if convicted of DUI in Louisiana?
• What are the indirect penalties, such as increased insurance rates and diminished job opportunities in Louisiana?
• Does Louisiana have a mandatory ignition interlock device law?
• Was your breathalyzer or blood alcohol content (BAC) test properly administered in accordance with Louisiana laws and procedures ?
• When and how can you get your driver’s license reinstated in Louisiana?

It’s easy to make mistakes under pressure, so make sure that you have the information you need to make good, educated decisions during this process. Contact a local Louisiana criminal defense attorney specializing in Louisiana drunk driving laws today.

Top of page

Disclaimer: While every effort is made to keep all information up to date, the Louisiana drunk driving laws change frequently and the information provided on this web site should not be construed as legal advice, nor is it necessarily complete. Drinkdriving.org shall not be held responsible for any actions a person may take as a result of information gathered from this web site. Consultation with a local Louisiana DUI lawyer is recommended in all cases.

 

Useful Louisiana DUI DWI Links:

DUI DWI - Drunk Driving Laws in Louisiana

Louisiana Drivers Manual

Louisiana SR22 Insurance Requirement

Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles

Louisiana Department of Transportation

Louisiana State Courts (Judicial Branch)

Louisiana Department of Insurance

Louisiana DUI Lawyers

Louisiana DUI discussion forum

Top of page

 

Latest Louisiana DUI DWI News

Sulphur man charged with 4th-offense DUI - KATC Lafayette News


Sulphur man charged with 4th-offense DUI
KATC Lafayette News
A Sulphur man is charged with his fourth DWI offense following a traffic stop this weekend. Calcasieu Parish sheriff's deputies say they pulled over 32-year-old Joseph Morris because of a traffic violation. Morris allegedly slurred his speech and could ...


Mon, 14 Apr 2014 23:25:39 GMT

Shreveport attorney charged in suspected DWI crash - KSLA-TV


Shreveport attorney charged in suspected DWI crash
KSLA-TV
Louisiana State Police say Hendrix pulled out in front of a mack truck, causing it to overturn. The driver of the tractor trailer, 56-year-old Arnold Fitzgerald of Tenaha, TX, was airlifted to University Health Shreveport with severe head injuries ...

and more »

Mon, 31 Mar 2014 13:58:30 GMT

Lightning coach: Malone's charges not distraction - WAFB.com


Lightning coach: Malone's charges not distraction
WAFB.com
WASHINGTON (AP) - Tampa Bay Lightning coach Jon Cooper doesn't think left wing Ryan Malone's DUI and cocaine possession charges will be a distraction to the postseason-bound team. "Ryan is probably a little embarrassed of what's gone on. He made ...

and more »

Sun, 13 Apr 2014 19:09:44 GMT

You Could Get a DUI From Spiked Ice Cream - Huffington Post


You Could Get a DUI From Spiked Ice Cream
Huffington Post
The latest alcohol-related crackdown by Louisiana lawmakers isn't aimed at New Orleans' famous drive-thru daiquiri joints--instead the regulation of selling boozy ice cream is in question, reports the Associated Press. The best part of the debate? The ...


Wed, 02 Apr 2014 21:21:38 GMT

Orleans sheriff's deputy arrested on DWI suspicion while driving squad car - The Times-Picayune


Orleans sheriff's deputy arrested on DWI suspicion while driving squad car
The Times-Picayune
passed out deputy. According to Fox 8, a passerby spotted a passed-out sheriff's deputy in his squad car at Louisiana and Earhart, the location and time where Orleans Sheriff's Deputy Corey Amacker was arrested on a DWI charge. (Courtesy WVUE | Fox 8 ...

and more »

Tue, 01 Apr 2014 01:31:47 GMT

Top of page

Louisiana Cities
Abbeville
Alexandria
Amite
Baker
Baton Rouge
Belle Chasse
Bogalusa
Bossier City
Chalmette
Covington
Crowley
Denham Springs
Deridder
Eunice
Franklin
Franklinton
Gonzales
Gretna
Hammond
Harvey
Houma
Jennings
Kenner
La Place
Lafayette
Lake Charles
Leesville
Mandeville
Marksville
Marrero
Metairie
Minden
Monroe
Morgan City
Natchitoches
New Iberia
New Orleans
New Roads
Opelousas
Plaquemine
Prairieville
Rayne
Rayville
Ruston
Shreveport
Slidell
Sulphur
Tallulah
Thibodaux
Ville Platte
West Monroe
Louisiana Counties
Acadia
Allen
Ascension
Assumption
Avoyelles
Beauregard
Bienville
Bossier
Caddo
Calcasieu
Caldwell
Cameron
Catahoula
Clairborne
Concordia
De Soto
East Baton Rouge
East Carroll
East Feliciana
Evangeline
Franklin
Grant
Iberia
Iberville
Jackson
Jefferson
Jefferson Davis
La Salle
Lafayette
Lafourche
Lincoln
Livingston
Madison
Morehouse
Natchitoches
Orleans
Ouachita
Plaquemines
Point Coupee
Rapides
Red River
Richland
Sabine
St Bernard
St Charles
St Helena
St James
St John The Baptist
St Landry
St Martin
St Mary
St Tammany
Tangipahoa
Tensas
Terrebonne
Union
Vermilion
Vernon
Washington
Webster
West Baton Rouge
West Carroll
West Feliciana
Winn

Top of page

States/Abbreviations
AK Alaska LA Louisiana OH Ohio
AL Alabama MA Massachusetts OK Oklahoma
AR Arkansas MD Maryland OR Oregon
AZ Arizona ME Maine PA Pennsylvania
CA California MI Michigan RI Rhode Island
CO Colorado MN Minnesota SC South Carolina
CT Connecticut MO Missouri SD South Dakota
DE Delaware MS Mississippi TN Tennessee
FL Florida MT Montana TX Texas
GA Georgia NC North Carolina UT Utah
HI Hawaii ND North Dakota VT Vermont
IA Iowa NE Nebraska VA Virginia
ID Idaho NH New Hampshire WA Washington State
IL Illinois NJ New Jersey WI Wisconsin
IN Indiana NM New Mexico WV West Virginia
KS Kansas NV Nevada WY Wyoming
KY Kentucky NY New York DC Washington DC

USA DUI Home | DUI Forums | DUI Laws by State | Worldwide BAC Limits | Drunk Driving Blog
Alcohol Breathalyzers | DUI SR22 Insurance | DUI Lawyers | DUI Drunk Driving in the News | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

©2014 Drinkdriving.org