Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA Drunk Driving - DUI in the USA BAC Calculator | DUI Forums Drink Driving in the UK Drink Driving in the UK
Cheap SR22 Insurance Quotes ENTER ZIP:
FREE LAWYER CONSULTATIONSR22 INSURANCE | DUI LAWYERS | DUI LAWS

Dont Drink and Drive!!

Breathalyzers for Sale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

North Dakota DUI Laws

North Dakota DUI Lawyers - Drunk Driving Attorneys

North Dakota
North Dakota

North Dakota DUI Forum | SR22 Insurance Requirements

The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in North Dakota is 0.08% per se
(effective from Aug 27th 2003)

Cheap SR22 Auto Insurance Quotes for High Risk Drivers in North Dakota

North Dakota DUI Laws & BAC Limits | North Dakota DUI Penalties

North Dakota DUI SR22 Insurance

North Dakota Drunk Driving Statistics

Useful North Dakota DUI Links | Latest North Dakota DUI News


DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in other States


North Dakota Drunk Driving Laws

(If you’ve been charged with North Dakota DUI, the law allows only 10 days for your North Dakota DUI Lawyer to make a request with the North Dakota (Department of Transportation) for a hearing to save your driving license)

North Dakota is a member of the Interstate Drivers License Compact
An agreement between participating states to share information regarding certain types of convictions including DUI - DWI and related Drunk Driving offenses. If a resident of one state gets convicted of a drunk driving offense in another state, the driver's home state will be notified. The type of action that the driver's home state will take will vary from state to state.

North Dakota DUI Laws and BAC limits

ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
In the State of North Dakota it is crime for ANY driver to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.08% and above.

COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04%
It is a crime for commercial vehicle operators to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.04% or above.

MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
It is a crime for persons under 21 years of age to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol content - concentration) of 0.02% or above.

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in North Dakota and implied consent laws are enforced.

!! CAUTION - Driving Ability Impaired !!

You can be prosecuted in North Dakota without driving while you are over the legal prescribed bac limit.

Under North Dakota law, it is unlawful to drive with a BAC limit above the per se laws OR to drive while impaired under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.

Under this law the prosecution must show that the driver was IMPAIRED by alcohol and/or drugs. The level of impairment is usually based on observations and evidence of driving ability (or rather inability), physical appearance, field sobriety tests and any other relevant evidence which can help prove a persons driving ability was indeed impaired. Different amounts of alcohol can affect people in different ways, what may impair one persons driving ability and make them feel drunk, might not necessarily impair another persons driving ability.

Observations from a law enforcement officer that may lead to being stopped and arrested include:

  • Making a turn too widely or narrowly
  • Using two lanes, straddling the center line
  • Almost hitting someone or something
  • Weaving or drifting from one side of the road to another
  • Driving too slowly and being overly cautious
  • Driving too close to vehicle in front
  • Driving ON the center lines
  • Erratic braking
  • Swerving to correct course of vehicle

You can be charged with an offence regardless of your BAC level, as long as impairment can be proved to the legal extent necessary.

A skilled drunk driving attorney can help you defend any charges against you

North Dakota BAC Calculator

BLOOD ALCOHOL CONTENT CALCULATOR
Calculate your BAC using our calculator, know your legal drunk driving limits and stay safe!!
BAC - Blood Alcohol Content Calculator

Top of page

 

Penalties for DUI - Drunk Driving in North Dakota

North Dakota is a state with a seven year ‘washout period’ also known as a 'look back period'.

NOTE: Out of State Convictions
Any conviction(s) of an offense under the law or ordinance of another state which is equivalent to North Dakota DUI and alcohol related driving offenses will be classed as previous convictions for sentencing purposes.


First DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - CLASS B MISDEMEANOR

A defendant charged with a first DUI offense may elect to participate in the twenty-four seven sobriety program in lieu of an administrative hearing if their drivers license is not subject to an unrelated suspension or revocation.

The penalty for a first DUI - drunk driving conviction in North Dakota:

  • Fine: minimum $500 fine
  • Drivers License Suspension: 91 days drivers license suspension (180 days if BAC 0.18% or more) [may be eligible for a temporary restricted work permit license after first 30 days of suspension (15 days if participating in the twenty-four seven sobriety program)]
  • Jail Time: at least 2 days imprisonment if BAC 0.16% or more (court may convert each day of the period of imprisonment imposed into 10 hours of community service)
  • alcohol addiction evaluation and treatment as required
  • North Dakota SR22 Insurance Requirement

AGGRAVATED DUI
If BAC was 0.16% or more at the time of the offense the offense will be classed as an aggravated DUI. The fine will increase to at least $750 and two days jail time must be served.


Second DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - CLASS B MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a second DUI - drunk driving conviction in North Dakota:

  • Fine: minimum $1,500 fine
  • Jail Time: at least 10 days imprisonment of which 48 hours must be served consecutively (court may convert each day of the period of imprisonment imposed into 10 hours of community service)
  • Drivers License Suspension: 365 days drivers license suspension if second DUI within 7 years (180 days if previous DUI was more than 7 years ago and 2 years if BAC 0.18% or more)
  • Ignition Interlock Restriction: possible ignition interlock restriction for a period of time that the court deems appropriate
  • alcohol addiction evaluation and treatment as required
  • at least 12 months participation in the twenty-four seven sobriety program
  • vehicle may be seized, forfeited and sold or otherwise disposed of
  • North Dakota SR22 Insurance Requirement

Third DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - CLASS A MISDEMEANOR

The penalty for a third DUI - drunk driving conviction in North Dakota:

  • Fine: minimum $2,000 fine
  • Jail Time: at least 120 days imprisonment (court may suspend all but sixty days on imprisonment if a person first completes an evaluation for alcohol and substance abuse treatment and rehabilitation program AND completes the 24-7 sobriety program)
  • Drivers License Suspension: 2 years drivers license suspension (3 years if BAC 0.18% or more)
  • Ignition Interlock Restriction: possible ignition interlock restriction for a period of time that the court deems appropriate
  • at least 1 years supervised probation and participation in the twenty-four seven sobriety program
  • alcohol addiction evaluation and treatment as required
  • vehicle may be seized, forfeited and sold or otherwise disposed of
  • North Dakota SR22 Insurance Requirement

Fourth (or subsequent) DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - CLASS C Felony

A fourth or subsequent offense will be a felony regardless of the length of time since previous offenses/convictions.

The penalty for a fourth DUI - drunk driving conviction in North Dakota:

  • Fine: minimum $2E,000 fine
  • Jail Time: at least 1 year and 1 day imprisonment (court may suspend all but 1 year imprisonment if a person first completes an evaluation for alcohol and substance abuse treatment and rehabilitation program)
  • Drivers License Suspension: 3 years drivers license suspension
  • Ignition Interlock Restriction: possible ignition interlock restriction for a period of time that the court deems appropriate
  • at least 2 years supervised probation and participation on the twenty-four seven sobriety program
  • alcohol addiction evaluation and treatment as required
  • vehicle may be seized, forfeited and sold or otherwise disposed of
  • North Dakota SR22 Insurance Requirement

Top of page

 

Implied consent LAWS

Implied Consent Chemical Testing

It is an offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in North Dakota and implied consent laws are enforced.

Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in North Dakota

In North Dakota, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license will be suspended/revoked and they will face the same penalties as DUI, only the license revocation periods will differ.

Refusal to submit to on-site screening tests is a crime and refusal will result in the same penalties as those imposed for a DUI in addition to a drivers license revocation for at least 180 days and up to 3 years.

First chemical test refusal

If a person has no previous DUI or test refusal convictions within the preceding 7 years the following penalties will apply:

Second chemical test refusal

If a person has one previous DUI or test refusal conviction within the preceding 7 years the following penalties will apply:

Third (OR subsequent) chemical test refusals

If a person has at least twice been previously convicted of DUI or test refusal within the preceding 7 years the following penalties will apply:

Top of page

 

 

North Dakota SR22 insurance (High Risk auto Insurance)

Compare North Dakota SR22 Auto Insurance Rates and Save $$$'s
North Dakota SR22 Insurance



North Dakota SR22 Insurance Quote Line - Toll Free


list of auto insurance companies we search to find you the best rate

North Dakota SR-22 auto insurance is usually required for a period of 1 year after a DUI - drunk driving - alcohol related driving conviction and can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider.  Some insurance companies will not even do an SR22 insurance filing. Get a FREE SR22 DUI auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for North Dakota auto insurance in a matter of minutes.

Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of North Dakota

The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of North Dakota for private passenger vehicles is:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability (BIL) per person
  • $50,000 for two or more people in one accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability (PDL) coverage
  • $25,000 per person ($50,000 per accident) uninsured motorist coverage
  • $25,000 per person ($50,000 per accident) underinsured motorist coverage
  • $30,000 no fault coverage

What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?

(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.

What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?

(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.

What is (PIP) Personal Injury Protection?

Personal injury protection (PIP) pays for any medical expenses, lost wages, and any replacement services when a driver is involved in an accident. These expenses are paid regardles of who is at fault.

What is Underinsured Motorist Coverage?

Underinsured motorist coverage helps to pay for any medical claims in addition to those covered by personal injury protection. This type of insurance coverage only pays out in the event that the other motorist is at fault and does not hold the necessary amount of insurance to cover all expenses.

What is Uninsured Motorist Coverage?

Uninsured motorist coverage pays for medical expenses after your PIP benefits have ended if the other driver is responsible for the accident and has no insurance coverage.

Top of page

 



Disclaimer: While every effort is made to keep all information up to date, the North Dakota drunk driving laws change frequently and the information provided on this web site should not be construed as legal advice, nor is it necessarily complete. Drinkdriving.org shall not be held responsible for any actions a person may take as a result of information gathered from this web site. Consultation with a local North Dakota DUI lawyer is recommended in all cases.

 

Useful North Dakota DUI Links:

DUI - Drunk Driving Laws in North Dakota

North Dakota Drivers Handbook

North Dakota SR22 Insurance Requirement

North Dakota DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles)

North Dakota Department of Transportation

North Dakota Department of Insurance

North Dakota Unified Courts

North Dakota DUI Lawyers

North Dakota DUI discussion forum

Top of page

 

Latest North Dakota DUI News

This RSS feed URL is deprecated
This RSS feed URL is deprecated, please update. New URLs can be found in the footers at https://news.google.com/news
Mon, 21 May 2018 12:45:33 GMT

Man arrested on fleeing, DUI charges - WDAY


WDAY

Man arrested on fleeing, DUI charges
WDAY
Joshua Wolters, 21, of Enderlin, N.D., was arrested on charges of DUI, driving under suspension, fleeing a police officer and reckless driving. There were no injuries to the officers or Wolters during the incident. The Patrol was assisted by the West ...
Enderlin man facing fleeing, DUI charges after chaseKFGO
Enderlin man arrested after high-speed chase hits 106 mphValley News Live

all 6 news articles »

Sat, 21 Apr 2018 22:23:57 GMT

South Dakota ranks high in DUI deaths - KELO AM-FM


KELO AM-FM

South Dakota ranks high in DUI deaths
KELO AM-FM
40 percent of all traffic fatalities in South Dakota involved alcohol-impaired drivers: And 62 percent of all DUI fatalities involved drivers whose blood alcohol level was near twice the legal limit. The data also revealed that 31.8 percent of all DUI ...


Fri, 11 May 2018 21:16:39 GMT

Former Fargo contractor sued for fraud, arrested on DUI charge - KFGO


KFGO

Former Fargo contractor sued for fraud, arrested on DUI charge
KFGO
In March, Rosene, who was owner of Studs to Rugs, was sued by the North Dakota Attorney General's Office on behalf of at least 9 customers who were were left with unfinished projects after they made advance payments to Rosene. He abruptly closed his ...


Mon, 14 May 2018 10:44:51 GMT

North Dakota named second deadliest state for DUIs - WDAY


WDAY

North Dakota named second deadliest state for DUIs
WDAY
One reason for this problem could be that North Dakota lacks ride share programs. But some say it's getting better. "There are strides being made in the state alone, with having driving availability ? for instance, Uber, the ride share programs, the ...


Wed, 09 May 2018 22:50:01 GMT

Top of page

North Dakota Cities
Bismarck
Bottineau
Cavalier
Devils Lake
Dickinson
Fargo
Grafton
Grand Forks
Jamestown
Mandan
Minot
Rugby
Valley City
Wahpeton
West Fargo
Williston
North Dakota Counties
Adams
Barnes
Benson
Billings
Bottineau
Bowman
Burke
Burleigh
Cass
Cavalier
Dickey
Divide
Dunn
Eddy
Emmons
Foster
Golden Valley
Grand Forks
Grant
Griggs
Hettinger
Kidder
LaMoure
Logan
McHenry
McIntosh
McKenzie
McLean
Mercer
Morton
Mountrail
Nelson
Oliver
Pembina
Pierce
Ramsey
Ransom
Renville
Richland
Rolette
Sargent
Sheridan
Sioux
Slope
Stark
Steele
Stutsman
Towner
Traill
Walsh
Ward
Wells
Williams

Top of page

States/Abbreviations
AK Alaska LA Louisiana OH Ohio
AL Alabama MA Massachusetts OK Oklahoma
AR Arkansas MD Maryland OR Oregon
AZ Arizona ME Maine PA Pennsylvania
CA California MI Michigan RI Rhode Island
CO Colorado MN Minnesota SC South Carolina
CT Connecticut MO Missouri SD South Dakota
DE Delaware MS Mississippi TN Tennessee
FL Florida MT Montana TX Texas
GA Georgia NC North Carolina UT Utah
HI Hawaii ND North Dakota VT Vermont
IA Iowa NE Nebraska VA Virginia
ID Idaho NH New Hampshire WA Washington State
IL Illinois NJ New Jersey WI Wisconsin
IN Indiana NM New Mexico WV West Virginia
KS Kansas NV Nevada WY Wyoming
KY Kentucky NY New York DC Washington DC

USA DUI Home | DUI Forums | DUI Laws by State | Worldwide BAC Limits | Drunk Driving Blog
Alcohol Breathalyzers | DUI SR22 Insurance | DUI Lawyers | DUI Drunk Driving in the News | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

©2018 Drinkdriving.org