|YOU ARE HERE: Home > DUI Laws > Tennessee DUI Laws|
The maximum prescribed legal BAC limit in Tennessee is 0.08% per se
Tennessee Drunk Driving Laws
ALL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.08%
COMMERCIAL DRIVERS - BAC LIMIT = 0.04% - ZERO TOLERANCE
MINOR (under the age of 21) - BAC LIMIT = 0.02%
It is a crime to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Tennessee and implied consent laws are enforced.
Tennessee BAC Calculator
Tennessee is a state with a ten-year ‘washout period’ also known as a 'look back period'.
OUT OF STATE CONVICTIONS
All persons convicted of DUI must serve the difference between any jail time actually served and the maximum jail time that could be imposed for the relevant offence on probation.
First DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR
The penalty for a first DUI - drunk driving conviction in Tennessee:
Second DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - MISDEMEANOR
The penalty for a second DUI - drunk driving conviction in Tennessee:
Third DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Misdemeanor
The penalty for a third DUI - drunk driving conviction in Tennessee:
Fourth (and subsequent) DUI - Drunk Driving Conviction - Felony
The penalty for a fourth (and subsequent) DUI - drunk driving conviction in Tennessee:
It is not a criminal offense to refuse to submit to a chemical test in Tennessee although implied consent laws are enforced and a driver who refuses to submit to a test will have their drivers license revoked.
Penalties for refusing to submit to a chemical test in Tennessee
In Tennessee, if the accused refuses to take a chemical test of their blood, breath or urine, their drivers license will be suspended/revoked.
Police officers do not need consent to administer a test from anyone suspected of drunk driving who has prior DUI convictions or has a child under the age of 16 in the car
First chemical test refusal
Second (and subsequent) chemical test refusal
Chemical test refusal revocations may run consecutively to any other revocation period imposed.
If a driver refuses to submit to a chemical test after being involved in an accident where 1 or more persons were seriously injured their drivers license will be revoked for 2 years.
Tennessee SR-22 auto insurance can be required for a period of up to 5 years after a DUI - drunk driving - alcohol related driving conviction and can be very expensive if you go with the wrong provider. However if the SR22 is filed for a total of 3 years (36 months) within the 5 year period then the SR22 requirement can be cancelled providing it is not required for any other offense. If 5 years pass from the date of suspension before you reinstate your privileges, then the SR-22 would not be required.
Get a FREE SR22 DUI auto insurance quote and compare rates to find the best deal, simply enter your ZIP code above and you can be comparing prices for Tennessee auto insurance in a matter of minutes.
Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in the state of Tennessee
The minimum mandatory liability insurance coverage required in the state of Tennessee for private passenger vehicles is (25/50/15). This equates to the following liability coverage:
What is (BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance?
(BIL) Bodily Injury Liability insurance coverage will pay for serious and permanent injury or death to other people when a crash is caused by the insured. An auto insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits specified in an insurance policy and will provide legal representation for the insured in the event someone tries to sue them.
What is (PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance?
(PDL) Property Damage Liability insurance coverage pays for damages an insured driver or members of an insured drivers family cause (and are liable for) to other people's property in a crash involving a motor vehicle.
This RSS feed URL is deprecated
Mon, 24 Sep 2018 14:33:25 GMT
Thu, 30 Aug 2018 04:17:05 GMT
Wed, 26 Sep 2018 04:02:51 GMT
Fri, 07 Sep 2018 14:40:53 GMT